All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

Studio Microphone

The Buying Guide for your recording studio microphone.

Studio Microphones

What is a Studio Microphone? 🧐

As an aspiring musician, you have undoubtedly aspired to high ambitions. The closed circle of your acquaintances and your family is a way to train yourself. But, you surely see yourself recording your compositions and promoting it from concerts.

To make this dream come true, you first plan to acquire your music equipment. However, you get lost very quickly. You realize that the market offers a multitude of microphone choices. Some microphones are much more effective than others depending on the chosen use.

You don't strum an acoustic guitar like an electric guitar, and it's exactly the same with microphones. They are one of the essential tools in the studio and of course in the home studio. In this article, we will take a look at the different types of microphones to guide you in your choices.

The Microphone, an essential part 🛠

In practice, a studio microphone is a tool that allows you to record sound. It is based on the principle of transduction. In other words, a sound source will cause an acoustic wave to activate a mechanical system. The latter will in turn create an electrical signal.

The studio microphone will transform an acoustic vibration into an electrical signal. The electrical signal produced will then depend on the intensity of the acoustic vibration.

The Microphone, a Sound Creation tool 🦻

To make it easier to understand, let's take the case of a cameraman. Its camera will be the equivalent of a studio microphone for the musician. This is the tool that will allow him to transcribe his environment into picture .

At the same time, the microphone is the essential tool for translating the sounds of a musical instrument or a voice. The quality of a video depends on the functions that the camera can offer. There are also different types of cameras, suitable for different shots. With microphones, it's exactly the same thing. There are so many mics for different sound sources and situations.

The Characteristics of a Microphone ✅

Regardless of the type of studio microphone and their uses, they share a set of characteristics. When you plan to buy a microphone, its characteristics can be taken into account.

Polar pattern:

The directivity of a studio microphone corresponds to its sensitivity depending on the direction of sound they are coming from. For sound recording, there is no ideal directivity. The shape must be chosen according to the type of application.

  • Omnidirectional directivity: this is the simplest form. The microphone sensitivity remains the same in all directions.
  • Unidirectional directivity: this time, the studio microphone only captures the sound source placed in front of it. In this case, we distinguish between cardioid, supercardioid and hypercardioid directivity.
  • Bidirectional directivity: commonly called directivity with a figure of 8, it captures sound coming from the front and back equally well. However, with this type of polar pattern, the microphone does not pick up sounds coming from the sides.

The bandwidth or response curve:

It constitutes the ability of a studio microphone to capture and reproduce frequencies. The frequency range of the microphone must be as linear and wide as possible. However, as with some mics, a well-placed bump can improve sound quality.

The sensibility :

It corresponds to the electrical level provided by the microphone according to the acoustic pressure received by the membrane. The higher the sensitivity, the more favorable the useful signal ratio between ambient noise.

The Diaphragm:

The size of the diaphragm plays an important role in the frequency response of the microphone. The larger the membrane, the more it will capture low frequencies.

The maximum pressure level:

This is the maximum sound pressure value that the microphone is capable of capturing and reproducing without distortion. When this level is reached on a regular basis, it can damage the capsule and the membrane.

Power:

Generally, dynamic microphones do not need a power supply. Ribbon microphones and condenser microphones need phantom power (which Neumann pioneered).

In other words, it is a technology that allows the studio microphone to be powered with an electric current via a cable. Currently, most audio interfaces and mixing desks incorporate this type of power supply which is set to provide a voltage of +48 Volts.

The Different Types of Microphones 🙌

There are a whole multitude of microphones on the market. And each studio microphone has its own specificity. We can then say that a studio microphone corresponds to a specific sound source. However, it is possible to categorize microphones into three families:

  • Dynamic microphones
  • Condenser microphones
  • USB microphones,
  • Ribbon microphones.

Dynamic microphones

These are the most common microphones. They can be found on stages as well as in different recording studios. The main components of a dynamic microphone are: a capsule, a diaphragm, a voice coil and a magnet.

The Dynamic Microphone 🎤

In short, the sound source will cause a sound wave. This will be captured by the studio microphone capsule. Behind this capsule is a membrane which will vibrate and move to the rhythm of the sound waves. Its vibrations will cause the coil to move. And the latter will disrupt the magnetic field, thus generating an electrical signal.

What are its characteristics ?

Dynamic microphones have a reputation for being very robust. This applies in both the “physical” sense and the “use” sense. Indeed, during your manipulations, if you accidentally drop it, there will not be too much negative impact on it. The same goes for sound recording.

They can be subjected to very high levels of sound volume ( decibels SPL ) without showing damage. They are suitable in this scenario. However, this type of studio microphone offers much less precise sound quality than its counterparts, especially in the treble range.

Given the heavy weight of the coil, at high frequencies, the sound pressure is lower. The coil will then move less, which will produce less electricity.

What applications were they designed for?

Dynamic microphones are generally intended to be stage mics. Their resistance is particularly suited to live performance. But a dynamic mic can record any instrument.

To improve sound quality, we generally recommend using a pop filter or a windshield. As a vocal microphone or for studio recording, the dynamic microphone offers good value for money.

Our selection of dynamic microphones:

As a studio microphone, dynamic microphones produce impeccable audio quality. Among our selection we find:

  • Shure SM57 , the timeless one: it has established itself as a basic microphone whether on stage or in the studio. Very sturdy, it is designed to withstand just about anything.
  • Shure SM7B : the most famous studio microphone in the world.
  • Shure SM58 : the legendary stage studio microphone.

The Static Microphone 🎤

A static or condenser microphone is essential recording equipment for a professional studio. It can be an omnidirectional microphone just as it can have other types of directivity.

How does a condenser microphone work?

To function, this type of microphone will use a capacitor. It consists of a membrane, a fixed electrode, a battery. To charge both ends of the capacitor requires an electric current. The latter will be supplied by phantom power, itself supplied by an external sound card.

What are its characteristics ?

The condenser microphone is very sensitive and has excellent sound reproduction. Unlike dynamic microphones, it does not have a coil. The moving part which will produce the electricity is therefore much lighter. They are very precise, but much more fragile than a dynamic microphone. They are also less resistant to high sound pressures.

What applications were they designed for?

They are the ultimate studio microphones. Engineers appreciate it for the sound reproduction faithful to the recorded instrument. It is also used to capture voice and acoustic instrument sounds.

On the market, we can identify two types of condenser microphones:

  • those with a large membrane, more common and more complete;
  • those which have a small membrane, much more effective in reproducing the high notes.

Our selection of condenser microphones:

Our current selection of condenser microphones with unmissable value for money:

 
It is also possible to build your own condenser microphone with a good quality construction guide and of course the right components, in this area, one site offers a set of condenser microphone kits ready to use or to build yourself We invite you to take a look at the site www.micandmod.com

The Ribbon Microphone 🎤

Ribbon microphones are the most fragile. This is technology that has been around for years. As a membrane, we find a very thin metal ribbon folded like an accordion.

How does a ribbon microphone work?

Here again, it is a question of vibration and variation of magnetic field. In fact, a metal ribbon is placed within the magnetic field of the magnet. It also acts as a membrane and will then move according to the sound waves. It is the movement of the ribbon which will cause a variation in the magnetic field which, in turn, will produce an electric current.

The signal level obtained will be very low, hence the use of an external power supply: a very good quality preamp.

What are its characteristics ?

The ribbon microphone produces exceptional sound. It combines the best in it, because it is also a dynamic microphone. It can therefore be used to record loud instruments, as well as acoustic instruments.

Another particularity of ribbon microphones is its ability to reproduce a warm sound. However, it is a big investment. Indeed, in addition to its price (very high compared to its competitors), you have to invest in an amplifier.

What applications were they designed for?

It is a versatile studio microphone that produces a highly sought-after sound. The icing on the cake is that the sound produced by this type of microphone has a warm, vintage feel. It captures the highs in a very smooth way. Generally we have a bidirectional microphone which produces wonders on acoustic guitars, in overheads, on guitar amps.

Our selection of ribbon microphones:

For your recordings, here is our selection of the best ribbon microphones:

The USB Microphone, a new era 🎤

USB microphones constitute a family of microphones in their own right. They developed with the rise of computing and allow digital recording. The general principle of operation of a USB microphone is the same as that of a conventional microphone. In fact, it captures sound and translates it into an electrical signal. It also allows voice audio broadcasting or recording.

The big difference is in connectivity. It's an external microphone. Normally, microphones are connected via XLR. We no longer need a phantom power supply. This type of studio microphone uses a USB cable (USB port) which will be directly linked to a laptop, desktop and iPad.

USB microphones are compatible with Windows and Mac OS operating systems and with any audio interface. Some models require the use of a sound card, others already integrate it. Very easy to use, it's plug and play. With a USB microphone, you don't have to worry about drivers when installing it. Once connected, the microphone will install a driver by itself.

The device will be automatically recognized by your laptop. For added versatility, some models feature a stereo headphone input (one jack). Allowing you to have immediate feedback on the quality of your recording. It can be used to record voice, to communicate via video call or audio call, and also for music.

Our selection of USB microphones:

For a unique experience, we offer the following USB microphones:

General Recommendations 🖐

To ensure that your studio microphone gives you great sound, it is recommended that you follow some basic instructions.

  • Before a performance or recording, you should do sound tests with your studio microphone. The goal is to check everything related to the sound system.
  • As much as possible, it is important to limit manipulation of the microphone. To avoid handling noise, you can use a microphone with shock absorber, a tripod or a microphone stand.
  • We recommend choosing the polar diagram carefully in order to control all background noise.

Conclusion ❤️

Do you want to set up your own studio? Choosing a studio microphone remains one of the most important questions. Apart from a mixing desk and a computer, the microphone remains an essential recording studio equipment. If you are a beginner, our site offers different microphone tests. These tests can guide you in choosing the studio microphone that will help you capture exceptional sounds. You will be able to highlight extraordinary talents and let the magic happen.  

French

Studio Microphone

Le Guide d'achat de votre microphone de studio d'enregistrement.

Studio Microphones

C'est quoi un Microphone Studio ? 🧐

En tant que musicien ou musicienne en herbe, vous avez sans aucun doute aspiré à de hautes ambitions. Le cercle fermé de vos connaissances et de votre famille constitue un moyen de vous entrainer. Mais, vous vous voyez sûrement enregistrer vos compositions et le promouvoir à partir des concerts.

Pour concrétiser ce rêve, vous comptez dans un premier temps acquérir votre matériel de musique. Cependant, vous vous perdez très vite. Vous vous rendez compte que le marché offre toute une multitude de choix de microphones. Certains micros sont beaucoup plus efficaces que d’autres en fonction de l’utilisation choisie.

On ne gratte pas une guitare acoustique comme une guitare électrique, et c’est exactement la même chose avec les microphones. Ils font partie des outils essentiels en studio et bien sûr en home studio. Dans cet article, nous allons faire le tour des différents types de micros pour vous orienter dans vos choix.

Le Micro une pièce indispensable 🛠

Dans la pratique, un microphone studio est un outil qui va permettre d’enregistrer un son. Il se repose sur le principe de la transduction. Autrement dit, une source sonore va provoquer une onde acoustique pour mettre en action un système mécanique. Ce dernier va à son tour créer un signal électrique.

Le microphone studio transformera une vibration acoustique en un signal électrique. Le signal électrique produit sera alors en fonction de l’intensité de la vibration acoustique.

Le Microphone, outil de Création Sonore 🦻

Pour faciliter la compréhension, prenons le cas d’un caméraman. Sa caméra sera l’équivalent d’un microphone studio pour le musicien. C’est l’outil qui va lui permettre de retranscrire son environnement en image.

En parallèle, le micro est l’outil indispensable pour traduire les sons d’un instrument de musique ou d’une voix. La qualité d’une vidéo dépend des fonctions que peut offrir la caméra. Il y a également différents types de caméras, adaptés pour différentes prises. Avec les microphones, c’est exactement la même chose. Il existe autant de micros pour différentes sources sonores et situations.

Les Caractéristiques d’un Microphone ✅

Quels que soient le type de microphone studio et leurs utilisations, ils partagent un ensemble de caractéristiques. Lorsque vous comptez acheter un micro, ses caractéristiques peuvent être prises en compte.

La directivité :

La directivité d’un microphone studio correspond à sa sensibilité en fonction de la direction sonore dont ils proviennent. Pour une prise de son, il n’y a pas de directivité idéale. La forme doit être choisie en fonction du type d’application.

  • La directivité omnidirectionnelle : c’est la forme la plus simple. La sensibilité du micro reste le même dans toutes les directions.
  • La directivité unidirectionnelle : cette fois-ci, le microphone studio ne capte que la source sonore placée devant lui. Dans ce cas, on distingue la directivité cardioïde, supercardioïde et hypercardioïde.
  • La directivité bidirectionnelle : communément appelée directivité avec une figure en 8, elle capte aussi bien le son provenant de l’avant et de l’arrière. Cependant, avec ce type de directivité, le micro ne capte pas les sons qui proviennent des côtés.

La bande passante ou courbe de réponse :

Elle constitue la capacité d’un microphone studio à capter et à restituer les fréquences. La gamme de fréquence du microphone se doit d’être la plus linéaire et large possible. Cependant, comme dans le cas de certains micros, une bosse bien placée peut améliorer la qualité du son.

La sensibilité :

Elle correspond au niveau électrique fourni par le micro en fonction de la pression acoustique que reçoit la membrane. Plus la sensibilité est importante, plus le rapport signal utile entre le bruit ambiant est favorable.

La membrane :

La taille de la membrane joue un rôle important au niveau de la réponse en fréquence du micro. Plus la membrane est large, plus elle captera les basses fréquences.

Le niveau de pression maximum :

Il s’agit de la valeur maximale de pression acoustique que le micro est capable de capter et de reproduire sans subir une distorsion. Lorsque ce niveau est atteint de manière régulière, cela peut endommager la capsule et la membrane.

L’alimentation :

Généralement, les microphones dynamiques n’ont pas besoin d’une alimentation. Les microphones à ruban et les microphones à condensateur ont besoin de l’alimentation fantôme (dont Neumann a été le précurseur).

Autrement dit, c’est une technologie qui permet d’alimenter le microphone studio avec un courant électrique via un câble. Actuellement, la plupart des interfaces audio et tables de mixage intègrent ce type d’alimentation qui est réglé pour fournir une tension de +48 Volts.

Les Différents Types de Microphones 🙌

Il existe toute une multitude de microphones sur le marché. Et chaque microphone studio a sa propre spécificité. On peut alors dire qu’un microphone studio correspond à une source sonore précise. Il est pourtant possible de catégoriser les microphones en trois familles :

  • Microphones dynamiques
  • Microphones statiques
  • Microphones USB,
  • Microphones à ruban.

Microphones dynamiques

Ce sont les micros les plus courants. On les trouve sur scènes comme dans les différents studios d’enregistrement. Les principaux composants d’un microphone dynamique sont : une capsule, une membrane, une bobine mobile et un aimant.

Le Microphone Dynamique 🎤

Pour faire court, la source sonore va provoquer une onde sonore. Celle-ci sera captée par la capsule du microphone studio. Derrière cette capsule se situe une membrane qui va vibrer et se déplacer au rythme des ondes sonores. Ses vibrations vont faire déplacer la bobine. Et cette dernière va perturber le champ magnétique engendrant ainsi un signal électrique.

Quelles sont ses caractéristiques ?

Les microphones dynamiques ont la réputation d’être très robustes. Cela s’applique dans le sens « physique » et dans le sens « utilisation ». En effet, durant vos manipulations, si par mégarde vous le laissez tomber, il n’y aura pas trop d’impact négatif sur lui. Il en est de même lors de prises de son.

Ils peuvent être soumis à de très hauts niveaux de volume sonore (décibels SPL) sans présenter des dommages. Ils sont adaptés dans ce cas de figure. Cependant, ce type de microphone studio offre une qualité sonore beaucoup moins précise que ses homologues surtout dans les aigus.

Étant donné le poids important de la bobine, dans les hautes fréquences, la pression sonore est moindre. La bobine se déplacera alors moins, ce qui produira moins d’électricité.

Pour quelles applications ont-ils été conçus ?

Les microphones dynamiques se destinent généralement à être des micros de scène. Leur résistance s’adapte particulièrement au live. Mais un micro dynamique peut enregistrer n’importe quel instrument.

Pour améliorer la qualité sonore, on conseille généralement d’utiliser un filtre anti pop ou d’une bonnette. En tant que micro chant ou pour un enregistrement en studio, le microphone dynamique affiche un bon rapport qualité prix.

Notre sélection de microphones dynamiques :

En tant que microphone de studio, les microphones dynamiques produisent une qualité audio irréprochable. Parmi notre sélection on retrouve :

  • Shure SM57, l’indémodable : il s’est imposé comme micro de base que ce soit sur scène ou en studio. Très robuste, il est conçu pour résister à peu près tout.
  • Shure SM7B : le microphone studio le plus connu dans le monde.
  • Shure SM58 : le microphone studio de scène légendaire.

Le Microphone Statique 🎤

Un microphone statique ou à condensateur est un équipement d’enregistrement incontournable pour un studio professionnel. Il peut être un micro omnidirectionnel tout comme il peut présenter d’autres types de directivités.

Comment fonctionne un microphone à condensateur ?

Pour fonctionner, ce type de micro va utiliser un condensateur. Il est constitué d’une membrane, une électrode fixe, une batterie. Pour charger les deux extrémités du condensateur, il faut un courant électrique. Ce dernier va être fourni par une alimentation fantôme, lui-même fournit par une carte son externe.

Quelles sont ses caractéristiques ?

Le micro à condensateur est très sensible et il possède une excellente restitution sonore. Contrairement aux microphones dynamiques, il n’a pas de bobine. La partie mobile qui va produire l’électricité est donc beaucoup plus légère. Ils sont très précis, mais beaucoup plus fragiles qu’un micro dynamique. Ils sont aussi moins résistants face aux pressions sonores élevées.

Pour quelles applications ont-ils été conçus ?

Ils constituent des micros de studio par excellence. Les ingénieurs l’apprécient pour la restitution sonore fidèle à l’instrument enregistré. Il sert également à capturer la voix et les sons des instruments acoustiques.

Sur le marché, on peut identifier deux types de micros à condensateur :

  • ceux qui ont une membrane large, plus courants et plus complets ;
  • ceux qui ont une petite membrane, beaucoup plus efficaces pour restituer les aiguës.

Notre sélection de microphones à condensateur :

Notre sélection du moment en microphone à condensateur d’un rapport qualité/prix incontournable :

  • Neumann TLM 102, la référence en entrée de gamme chez le géant Neumann.
  • Le micro studio Neumann TLM 103 : pour celles et ceux qui veulent le top du top pour leur home-studio (le microphone studio utilisé par Billie Eilish).
  • Le micro AKG C214 : un excellent microphone studio pour l’enregistrement Pro des voix et instruments acoustiques.
  • Le microphone Rode NT1A : on ne le présente plus, tant il est réputé en Home-Studio aujourd’hui. C’est le 1er microphone studio à posséder dans son arsenal.

Le Microphone à Ruban 🎤

Les microphones à ruban sont les plus fragiles. C’est une technologie qui date depuis des années. En guise de membrane, on retrouve un ruban en métal très fin plié en accordéon. Une fois le micro à la

Comment fonctionne un microphone à ruban ?

Là encore, il est question de vibration et de variation de champ magnétique. En effet, un ruban métallique est placé au sein du champ magnétique de l’aimant. Il fait aussi office de membrane et va alors se déplacer au gré des ondes sonores. C’est le mouvement du ruban qui va entrainer une variation du champ magnétique qui, à son tour, produira un courant électrique.

Le niveau de signal obtenu sera très faible d’où l’utilisation d’une alimentation externe : un préampli de très bonne qualité.

Quelles sont ses caractéristiques ?

Le microphone à ruban produit un son exceptionnel. Il combine le meilleur en lui, car il est lui aussi un microphone dynamique. Il peut donc être utilisé pour enregistrer des instruments puissants, ainsi que des instruments acoustiques.

Une autre particularité des microphones à ruban est sa capacité à restituer un son chaud. Cependant, il constitue un gros investissement. En effet, en plus de son prix (très élevé par rapport à ses concurrents), il faut investir dans un ampli.

Pour quelles applications ont-ils été conçus ?

C’est un microphone studio polyvalent qui produit un son très recherché. Cerise sur le gâteau, le son produit par ce type de micro a un petit côté vintage et chaud. Il capte les aiguës d’une manière très douce. Généralement on a un micro bidirectionnel qui produit des merveilles sur des guitares acoustiques, en overhead, sur les amplis de guitare.

Notre sélection de microphones à ruban :

Pour vos enregistrements, voici notre sélection des meilleurs microphones à ruban :

Le Microphone USB, une nouvelle ère 🎤

Les microphones USB constituent à elles seules une famille de micro à part entière. Ils se sont développés avec l’essor de l’informatique et permettent un enregistrement numérique. Le principe général du fonctionnement d’un microphone USB est le même que celui d’un micro classique. En effet, il capte le son et le traduit en signal électrique. Il permet également de faire une diffusion audio vocale ou un enregistrement.

La grosse différence se situe au niveau de la connectivité. C’est un micro externe. En temps normal, les microphones se branchent en XLR. On n’a plus besoin d’une alimentation phantom. Ce type de microphone studio utilise un câble USB (port USB) qui sera directement lié à un ordinateur portable, desktop et iPad.

Les microphones USB sont compatibles avec les systèmes d’exploitation Windows et Mac OS et avec n’importe quelle interface audio. Certains modèles demandent l’utilisation d’une carte son, d’autres l’intègrent déjà. Très facile d’utilisation, c’est un plug and play. Avec un microphone USB, vous n’avez pas à vous soucier des drivers lors de son installation. Une fois connecté, le micro va installer un driver de par lui-même.

Le périphérique sera reconnu automatiquement par votre laptop. Pour plus de polyvalence, certains modèles sont dotés d’une entrée casque stéréo (une prise jack). Vous permettant ainsi d’avoir un retour immédiat sur la qualité de votre enregistrement. Il peut être utilisé pour enregistrer la voix, pour communiquer en vidéo call ou audio call, et également pour la musique.

Notre sélection de microphones USB :

Pour une expérience inédite, nous vous proposons les micros USB suivants :

Recommandations Générales 🖐

Pour que votre microphone studio vous offre un son exceptionnel, il est recommandé de suivre certaines instructions de base.

  • Avant un spectacle ou un enregistrement, vous devriez faire des tests de son avec votre microphone studio. Le but est de vérifier tout ce qui se rapporte à la sonorisation.
  • Autant que possible, il est important de limiter la manipulation du micro. Pour éviter les bruits de manipulation, on peut utiliser un micro doté d’antichoc, un trépied ou un pied de micro.
  • Nous recommandons de bien choisir le diagramme polaire afin de maîtriser tout ce qui est bruit de fond.

Conclusion ❤️

Vous voulez monter votre propre studio ? Le choix d’un microphone studio reste une des questions les plus importantes. À part une table de mixage et un ordinateur, le micro reste un matériel de studio d’enregistrement indispensable. Si vous êtes débutant, notre site propose différents tests micro. Ces tests pourront vous orienter dans le choix du microphone studio qui vous aidera à capturer des sons exceptionnels. Vous pourrez ainsi mettre en valeur les talents hors du commun et laisser la magie opérer.