All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

Condenser Microphone

Comparison and Test
Studio Condenser Microphone

Discover all the condenser microphone tests for recording studios. Condenser microphones include condenser transistor microphones (with phantom power) and tube microphones. The most prestigious brands are Neumann, AKG, Blue Microphones, Rode, Brauner, Telefunken, Audio-Technica and Manley.

Please note: condenser microphones are the most used for recording vocals and acoustic instruments for studio recording, but they are also the most sensitive.

❤️ Discover our Condenser Microphone Tests 👇

Universal Audio SC-1 microphone test and review

Universal Audio SC-1

See the test
Test and review on the Neumann TLM 107 microphone

Neumann TLM 107

See the test
Test and review on the SE Electronics SE8 microphone

SE Electronics SE8

See the test
Rode M3 microphone test and review

Rode M3

See the test
SE Electronics T2 microphone test and review

SE Electronics T2

See the test
Rode K2 microphone test and review

Rode K2

See the test
Avantone CV-12 microphone test and review

Avantone CV-12

See the test
MXL 990 microphone test and review

MXL990

See the test
Sony C-80 microphone test and review

Sony C80

See the test
Test and review of the SE Electronics sE2200a II microphone

SE Electronics sE2200a II

See the test
Townsend Labs Sphere L22 microphone test and review

Townsend Labs Sphere L22

See the test
MXL 770 microphone test and review

MXL 770

See the test
AKG C3000 microphone test and review

AKG C3000

See the test
Shure SM81 test and review

Shure SM81

See the test
Test and review of the Lewitt LCT 440 PURE microphone

Lewitt LCT 440 PURE

See the test
Telefunken TF-47 test and review

Telefunken TF-47

See the test
test and review of the Neumann M149

Neumann M149

See the test
test and review of the Warm Audio WA-47F

Warm Audio WA-47F

See the test
test and review of the Neumann TLM49

Neumann TLM 49

See the test
Neumann M147 test and review

Neumann M147

See the test
Rode NTG3 test and review

Rode NTG3

See the test
Microphone-AKG-p220

AKG P220

See the test
Sony-C100

Sony C100

See the test
T.Bone-SC-400

t.bone SC 400

See the test
Neumann U47 FET

Neumann U47 FET

See the test
Blue Microphones Snowball Review

Blue Microphones Snowball

See the test
Telefunken U47 Test Review

Telefunken U47

See the test
Sontronics STC-20 Pack Review and Test

Sontronics STC-20 Pack

See the test
Lauten Audio Atlantis FC-387 Test Review

Lauten Audio Atlantis FC-387

See the test
Presonus M7 Review

Presonus M7

See the test
Austrian Audio OC18

Austrian Audio OC18

See the test
Warm Audio WA-8000

Warm Audio WA-8000

See the test
Superlux S502

Superlux S502

See the test
Blue Bluebird SL

Blue Bluebird SL

See the test
Rode NTG1 Test & Review

Rode NTG1

See the test
Sennheiser MKH 416 P48 Test and review

Sennheiser MKH 416

See the test
Manley Reference Cardioid Complete Test

Manley Reference Cardioid

See the test
Slate Digital ML-1 Full Review

Slate Digital ML-1

See the test
Warm Audio WA-47jr Full Review

Warm Audio WA-47jr

See the test
Neumann TLM 193 Complete Test

Neumann TLM 193

See the test
Neumann TLM67 Full Review

Neumann TLM 67

See the test
Audio-Technica AT4033A Full Review

Audio-Technica AT4033A

See the test
Warm Audio WA-87 Full Review

Warm Audio WA-87

See the test
Blue Spark SL Full Test

Blue Spark SL

See the test
AKG C314 Full Review

AKG C314

See the test
AKG P420 Full Review

AKG P420

See the test
Rode NT1000 Full Review

Rode NT1000

See the test
Sennheiser MK4 Full Review

Sennheiser MK4

See the test
Audio-Technica AT4040 Full Review

Audio-Technica AT4040

See the test
Audio-Technica AT 2050 Full Review

Audio-Technica AT2050

See the test
Audio-Technica AT 2035 Full Review

Audio-Technica AT2035

See the test
Rode NT2-A Full Review

Rode NT2-A

See the test
AKG C414 XLS Full Review

AKG C414 XLS

See the test
Audio-Technica AT2020 Full Review

Audio-Technica AT2020

See the test
Aston Origin Full Test

Aston Origin

See the test
Neumann TLM 102 Review

Neumann TLM 102

See the test
Aston Spirit Microphone Review

Aston Spirit

See the test
blue baby bottle sl test

Blue Baby Bottle SL

See the test
AKG C214 Review

AKG C214

See the test
AKG C414 XLII Review

AKG C414 XLII

See the test
Rode Procaster

Rode Procaster

See the test
Rode NT1

Rode NT1

See the test
Neumann Tlm 103 Complete Test

Neumann TLM 103

See the test
Neumann U67

Neumann U67

See the test
Rode Nt1a Full Test Scaled

Rode NT1-A

See the test
Neumann Km184 Review

Neumann KM184

See the test
Neumann U87 Ai Test

Neumann U87 Ai

See the test

What is a Condenser Microphone? 🧐

The condenser microphone is also called a condenser microphone. They are much more fragile than dynamic microphones. However, they offer much more appreciated sound quality. Do you want to invest in this type of microphone? So, find out all the useful information about the condenser microphone.

The Working Principle of a Condenser Microphone 🛠

Unlike a dynamic microphone, the condenser microphone or electrostatic microphone does not involve a moving coil device. A thin, extremely light disc forms the diaphragm of the condenser microphone. It is cut either from Titanium metal, from an aluminum alloy, or from mylar. In other cases, we also notice the use of a polyester made conductive thanks to a specific treatment.

This membrane is floating and constitutes one of the plates of a capacitor. It is placed at a distance of 20 microns from the fixed rear frame. It is these two plates which form the entire armature of the capacitor. The air between the plates will act as a dielectric. The distance between the two frames is variable. It is the variations in pressure caused by the sound source which will cause this distance to vary. It will be translated into an electrical signal.

This type of microphone requires external power to function properly. A 48 volt phantom power supply will fulfill this role. An audio cable will then carry the current generated.

It is important to note that this does not interfere with the transmission and use of the audio signal. In fact, the power supply will polarize the capacitor plates using a direct voltage of 48 Volts to charge. The mobile diaphragm is then subjected to the action of an acoustic wave.

The distance between the plates will also vary. The capacitance of the capacitor will change unlike the charge of the capacitor which will remain constant. The guarantee of high sensitivity is the distance between the diaphragm and the fixed armature. It must be the minimum possible. For an exceptional result, the membrane must not only be light, but also as taut as possible.

The Main Characteristics of Condenser Microphones ✅

Condenser microphones have very high sensitivity. Indeed, the sensitivity is between 2 and 10 mV/Pa or a sensitivity level of -54 and 40 dB. Thanks to its design, it also has an excellent frequency response curve.

This type of microphone is delicate and very sensitive to humidity. Additionally, it requires a power supply (Phantom) to produce the capacitor bias voltage. It should also be noted that as a condenser or electrostatic microphone, a condenser microphone tends to attract dust.

One of the advantages of the micro is the fact that it can be made in very small dimensions. This is why the majority of lavalier microphones are condenser microphones. In addition, they are not very sensitive to shocks and external magnetic fields. Its polar characteristics represent one of its greatest advantages since they approach the ideal curves.

Using Condenser Microphones 👍

These microphones are used for sound recording requiring a specific room. This is why they are primarily intended for studio use. They can be used for voice capture, acoustic, string, wind and brass instruments. The sound quality that the mic produces is exceptional.

Not only is the sound so fine, but it also manages to render all the nuances of their tone. Indeed, this is particularly due to its high sensitivity and its flat and extended frequency response curve.

On the other hand, it is strongly recommended not to use it to record percussion instruments with one exception: cymbals. In this case, it can be used for a so-called Overhead socket. In addition, it is also not recommended to use it outdoors without protecting the membrane with an anti-wind device or a windshield.

The different Types of Condenser Microphones 🎤

Mainly, we can distinguish two types of condenser microphones on the market:

  • A condenser microphone, which requires the use of an external power supply;
  • An electret condenser microphone, which is a recent innovation.

The Externally Polarized Condenser Microphone:

We will speak of a classic condenser microphone, because to operate it will require 48 volt phantom power.

An Electret Condenser Microphone:

An electret is a dielectric material in which permanent polarization is achieved. Using an electret in a condenser microphone or condenser microphone allows the external bias source (phantom power) to be abandoned. For this, two configurations are possible:

  • Either the electret is deposited on the fixed electrode,
  • Either it is deposited on the metal membrane.

Commonly known as a wireless mic, its behavior is similar to that of the classic condenser microphone. Electret microphones, however, require continuous power to operate. And since they do not require external power, this technology is used for many applications.

We can cite, for example, lavalier microphones, or microphones for mobile telephony. It is also found in microphones combined with headphones attached to the end of a boom. This same technology is also applied to stage microphones attached to the head. In other words, this technology makes it possible to have small, very effective microphones.

The best electret condenser microphones are known for their exceptional quality ratio. They deliver stunning sound quality and are very frequently used for broadcasting. They are also used for recordings and sound reinforcement.

Thanks to its small membrane, the microphone barely picks up handling, background and mechanical noise. Note that in the majority of cases, this type of microphone has a cardioid or hyper-cardioid polar pattern.

It also has two additional advantages over other microphones: their lightness and their size. Indeed, they can be very small. In addition, its characteristics are particularly suitable for a wireless microphone, and miniature microphones of all kinds.

Misconceptions about Condenser Microphones 👏

  • Condenser microphones are much more fragile than dynamic microphones: ❌ not necessarily.

Currently, we can see several types of microphones specially designed for studio use. Just because a microphone is intended for the studio does not necessarily mean it is fragile. It all depends on the design and choice of building materials. Some good quality microphones (from the Neumann or Shure brand for example) are resistant to frequent and repetitive handling.

  • Condenser microphones always need phantom power: ✅ partially true.

When your microphone is not producing sound, it may need external power. However, there is something called the electret condenser microphone. This type of microphone uses either phantom power or a battery. It often acts as a wireless microphone.

  • Condenser microphones are very sensitive to feedback: ❌ not necessarily true.

It's all about choosing the right mic for the right application. For example, using a condenser microphone for remote recording will result in low frequency feedback. In this case, we will speak of a poor application of the microphone unless using a low pass/high pass.

  • Condenser microphones cannot handle high sound pressures: ❌ False

Condenser microphones can generally handle very high sound pressures. The real question that must be asked is the capacity of the preamp used.

  • Using a condenser microphone is much more expensive than using a dynamic microphone: ✅ sometimes true

It all depends on your goal. Certainly, dynamic microphones are less expensive. There are also some very efficient ones. But in the end, what about the quality of your production? You must always keep in mind that each microphone corresponds to a specific application.

Feedback on the use of Condenser Microphones 🤙

Microphones are part of our daily lives. The current market offers us several types of microphones, including the condenser microphone or static microphone. It is a versatile studio microphone that offers exceptional sound reproduction.

Condenser microphones offer very good audio quality. It is a professional microphone that can be equipped with several types of directivity. Some have a fixed cardioid polar pattern . For added versatility, other microphones incorporate a switchable option that can go from cardioid to bidirectional or even omnidirectional.

In general, the sound produced by a condenser microphone is very popular because of the proximity effect. It's a warm, natural sound. This is mainly due to its linear frequency response. To add a touch of originality, manufacturers add a small, well-designed bump in a specific location. The goal is to control the treble and obtain much warmer bass, for example.

Condenser microphones are compatible with almost all audio interfaces and mixing boards. They can be used as microsinging with the addition of a windshield, or an anti-pop filter. They are mainly used to protect the microphone and to control plosives. Engineers also use them for sound recording of various instruments such as an acoustic guitar, a piano, a clarinet, percussion, etc.

One of the popular features of condenser microphones is their high sensitivity. This is a result of the microphone design. If you can hear birds chirping during your recordings, so can the microphone. This is one of the reasons why it is mainly used in a room that has undergone acoustic treatment.

But this sensitivity can also highlight all the noises of the mouth and lips. All vibrations will be taken into account and will be captured by the microphone. To overcome this, you can use a pop filter, use a microphone stand or a microphone boom.

It is an essential recording equipment for studio recording. If you meet a sound engineer, ask them if they have a condenser microphone. The answer will definitely be a yes. If you go to a professional recording studio, they will also have a condenser microphone in their possession. All this to tell you that any self-respecting professional knows the value of the condenser microphone.

Our selection of Condenser Microphones ❤️

If you want to buy a condenser microphone, here is our unofficial selection of the best microphones on the market:

French

Tous les Microphones aux Meilleurs Prix 🎙

Microphone Condensateur Comparatif et Test

Microphone Condensateur Studio

Découvrez tous les tests de microphone à condensateur pour les studios d'enregistrement. Les microphones à condensateur regroupent les microphones statiques à transistor (avec alimentation fantôme) et les microphones à lampe. Les marques les plus prestigieuses sont Neumann, AKG, Blue Microphones, Rode, Brauner, Telefunken, Audio-Technica et Manley.

À savoir : les microphones à condensateur sont les plus utilisés dans la prise voix et instruments acoustiques pour l'enregistrement en studio, mais ils sont aussi les plus sensibles.

C'est quoi un Microphone à Condensateur ? 🧐

Le microphone à condensateur est aussi appelé un microphone électrostatique. Ils sont beaucoup plus fragiles que les microphones dynamiques. Cependant, ils offrent une qualité sonore beaucoup plus appréciée. Vous souhaitez investir dans ce type de micro ? Alors, découvrez toutes les informations utiles sur le microphone à condensateur.

Le Principe de fonctionnement d’un Microphone à Condensateur 🛠

À la différence d’un micro dynamique, le microphone à condensateur ou microphone électrostatique ne met pas en jeu un dispositif de bobine mobile. Un mince disque extrêmement léger forme la membrane du micro à condensateur. Il est taillé soit dans du métal en Titane, soit dans un alliage d’aluminium, soit du mylar. Dans d’autres cas, on remarque également l’utilisation d’un polyester rendu conducteur grâce à un traitement spécifique.

Cette membrane est flottante et elle constitue l’une des armatures d’un condensateur. Elle se place à une distance de 20 microns par rapport à l’armature arrière fixe. Ce sont ces deux plaques qui forment l’ensemble de l’armature du condensateur. L’air entre les plaques fera office de diélectrique. La distance entre les deux armatures est variable. Ce sont les variations de pression provoquée par la source sonore qui vont faire varier cette distance. Elle se traduira en signal électrique.

Ce type de microphone a besoin d’une alimentation externe pour fonctionner correctement. C’est une alimentation fantôme de 48 volts qui va tenir ce rôle. Un câble audio portera alors le courant généré.

Il est important de noter que cela ne perturbe en rien la transmission et l’exploitation du signal audio. En effet, l’alimentation va polariser les plaques du condensateur à l’aide d’une tension continue de 48 Volts pour se charger. Le diaphragme mobile est alors soumis à l’action d’une onde acoustique.

La distance entre les plaques connaîtra aussi une variation. La capacité du condensateur va changer contrairement à la charge du condensateur qui restera constante. Le garant d’une grande sensibilité est la distance entre le diaphragme et l’armature fixe. Elle doit être le minimum possible. Pour un résultat exceptionnel, la membrane doit être non seulement légère, mais également le plus tendu possible.

Les Caractéristiques principales des Micros Statiques ✅

Les micros à condensateur sont dotés d’une très grande sensibilité. Effectivement, la sensibilité est comprise entre 2 et 10 mV/Pa ou un niveau de sensibilité de -54 et 40 dB. Grâce à sa conception, elle présente également une excellente courbe de réponse en fréquence.

Ce type de micro est délicat et très sensible à l’humidité. En outre, il nécessite une alimentation (Phantom) pour produire la tension de polarisation du condensateur. On doit aussi préciser qu’en tant que microphone à condensateur ou électrostatique, un micro statique a tendance à attirer les poussières.

L’un des avantages du micro est le fait qu’il peut être réalisé en très petites dimensions. C’est la raison pour laquelle la majorité des micros-cravates sont des microphones à condensateur. De plus, ils sont peu sensibles aux chocs et aux champs magnétiques externes. Ses caractéristiques polaires représentent un de ses plus grands avantages puisqu’ils se rapprochent des courbes idéales.

L’utilisation des Microphones à Condensateur 👍

Ces micros sont utilisés pour les prises de son demandant une salle spécifique. C’est la raison pour laquelle ils sont principalement destinés à une utilisation en studio. On peut les solliciter pour la capture de la voix, les instruments acoustiques, à cordes, à vents et les cuivre. La qualité sonore que le micro produit est exceptionnelle.

Non seulement le son est d’une telle finesse, mais encore il parvient à rendre toutes les nuances de leur timbre. En effet, c’est particulièrement dû à sa grande sensibilité et à sa courbe de réponse en fréquence plate et étendue.

En revanche, il est fortement déconseillé de l’utiliser pour enregistrer des instruments à percussion à une exception près : les cymbales. Dans ce cas, on peut l’utiliser pour une prise dite Overhead. En outre, il est également déconseillé de l’utiliser à l’extérieur sans protéger la membrane avec un dispositif anti vent ou une bonnette.

Les différents Types de Microphones à Condensateur 🎤

Principalement, on peut distinguer deux types de microphones à condensateur sur le marché :

  • Un microphone à condensateur, qui requiert l’usage d’une alimentation externe ;
  • Un microphone à condensateur électret, qui constitue une innovation récente.

Le Microphone à Condensateur polarisé à l’externe :

On parlera de microphone à condensateur classique, car pour fonctionner il fera appel à une alimentation fantôme de 48 volts.

Un Microphone à Condensateur électret :

Un électret est un matériau diélectrique dans lequel on réalise une polarisation permanente. L’utilisation d’un électret dans un microphone à condensateur ou microphone électrostatique permet d’abandonner la source de polarisation externe (alimentation fantôme). Pour cela, deux configurations sont possibles :

  • Soit l’électret est déposé sur l’électrode fixe,
  • Soit il est déposé sur la membrane métallique.

Communément connu sous le nom de micro sans fil, son comportement est semblable à celui du microphone à condensateur classique. Les microphones électret requièrent toutefois une alimentation continue pour fonctionner. Et comme ils ne nécessitent pas d’alimentation externe, cette technologie est utilisée pour de nombreuses applications.

On peut citer par exemple les micros-cravates, ou bien les microphones pour la téléphonie mobile. On le retrouve également dans les microphones combinés à un casque d’écoute fixé à l’extrémité d’une tige. C’est aussi cette même technologie qui est appliquée aux microphones de scène fixés à la tête. Autrement dit, cette technologie permet d’avoir de petits micros très efficaces.

Les meilleurs microphones à condensateur électret sont connus pour leur rapport qualité exceptionnel. Ils délivrent une qualité sonore époustouflante et sont très fréquemment utilisés pour la diffusion. Ils sont aussi utilisés pour des enregistrements et les renforcements sonores.

Grâce à sa petite membrane, le microphone ne capte quasiment pas les bruits de manipulation, de fond et mécaniques. Notons que dans la majorité des cas, ce type de microphone se dote d’une directivité cardioïde ou hyper cardioïde.

Il possède également deux avantages supplémentaires par rapport aux autres microphones : leur légèreté et leur taille. En effet, ils peuvent être très petits. De plus, ses caractéristiques conviennent particulièrement pour un microphone sans fil, et les microphones miniatures de tout genre.

Les fausses idées reçues sur les Microphones à Condensateur 👏

  • Les microphones condensateurs sont beaucoup plus fragiles que les microphones dynamiques : pas forcément.

Actuellement, on peut voir plusieurs types de microphones spécialement conçus pour une utilisation en studio. Ce n’est pas parce qu’un microphone est destiné au studio qu’il est forcément fragile. Tout dépend de la conception et du choix des matériaux de construction. Certains microphones de bonne qualité (de la marque Neumann ou Shure par exemple) résistent aux manipulations fréquentes et répétitives.

  • Les microphones à condensateurs ont toujours besoin d’une alimentation fantôme : partiellement vrai.

Lorsque votre microphone ne produit pas de son, c’est qu’il se peut qu’il ait besoin d’une alimentation externe. Cependant, il y a ce qu’on appelle le microphone à condensateur à électret. Ce type de microphone utilise soit une alimentation phantom soit une pile. Il fait souvent office de microphone sans fil.

  • Les microphones à condensateur sont très sensibles aux larsens : pas nécessairement vrai.

Il s’agit de choisir le bon micro pour la bonne application. Par exemple, utiliser un microphone à condensateur pour un enregistrement à distance entrainera un larsen à basse fréquence. Dans ce cas de figure, on parlera d’une mauvaise application du micro à moins d’utiliser un passe-bas/passe-haut.

  • Les microphones à condensateur ne peuvent pas gérer des pressions acoustiques élevées : Faux

Les microphones à condensateurs peuvent généralement gérer des pressions acoustiques très élevées. La véritable question que l’on doit se poser se porte sur la capacité du préampli utilisé.

  • Utiliser un microphone à condensateur revient beaucoup plus chère qu’utiliser un microphone dynamique : parfois vrai

Tout dépend de votre objectif. Certes, les microphones dynamiques reviennent moins chers. Il y en a aussi de très performants. Mais au final, qu’en est-il de la qualité de votre production ? Il faut toujours garder en tête qu’à chaque microphone correspond une application spécifique.

Un retour d’expérience sur l’utilisation des Microphones à Condensateur 🤙

Les microphones font partie de notre vie quotidienne. Le marché actuel nous propose plusieurs types de microphones, dont le microphone à condensateur ou microphone statique. C’est un micro studio polyvalent qui offre une restitution sonore exceptionnelle.

Les microphones à condensateur offrent une très bonne qualité audio. C’est un micro professionnel qui peut être doté de plusieurs types de directivité. Certains ont une directivité cardioïde fixe. Pour plus de polyvalence, d’autres microphones intègrent une option commutable pouvant aller de la cardioïde au bidirectionnel ou même omnidirectionnel.

En général, le son produit par un microphone à condensateur est très apprécié à cause de l’effet de proximité. C’est un son chaud et naturel. Cela s’explique principalement par sa réponse en fréquence linéaire. Pour apporter une touche d’originalité, les constructeurs ajoutent une petite bosse bien étudiée à un endroit précis. Le but étant de maîtriser les aiguës et d’obtenir des basses beaucoup plus chaudes par exemple.

Les microphones à condensateurs sont compatibles avec presque toutes les interfaces audio et tables de mixage. Ils peuvent être utilisés comme microchant avec une addition de bonnette, ou d’un filtre anti pop. Ils servent principalement à protéger le micro et à maîtriser les plosives. Les ingénieurs les sollicitent aussi pour une prise de son de divers instruments comme une guitare acoustique, un piano, une clarinette, les percussions…

L’une des caractéristiques très appréciées des microphones à condensateur est leur grande sensibilité. C’est le résultat de la conception du microphone. Si lors de vos enregistrements, vous pouvez entendre le gazouillement des oiseaux, le microphone le peut aussi. C’est l’une des raisons pour laquelle on l’utilise principalement dans une salle ayant subi un traitement acoustique.

Mais cette sensibilité peut mettre également en exergue tous les bruits de la bouche et des lèvres. Toutes les vibrations seront prises en compte et seront capturées par le micro. Pour y pallier, vous pouvez utiliser un filtre pop, utiliser un pied de micro ou une perche micro.

C’est un matériel d’enregistrement indispensable pour un enregistrement en studio. Si vous rencontrez un ingénieur du son, demandez-lui s’il a en sa possession un microphone à condensateur. La réponse sera un oui à coup sûr. Si vous allez dans un studio d’enregistrement professionnel, il aura également en sa possession un microphone à condensateur. Tout ça pour vous dire que tout professionnel qui se respecte connait la valeur du microphone à condensateur.

Notre sélection de Microphones à Condensateur ❤️

Si vous voulez acheter un micro à condensateur, voici notre sélection non officielle des meilleurs micros présents sur le marché :