All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

AKG C3000

Test & Review

Do you want to acquire a versatile mic model microphone in your home studio or professional studio? A high-quality, high-performance microphone? Why not opt ​​for the AKG C3000? It is a condenser microphone with a large diaphragm which has dual directivity, including cardioid and hypercardioid. Its good sound quality as well as its versatility makes this microphone very renowned. Discover in this guide our complete test of the C3000 from the AKG brand.

AKG C3000 microphone test and review

🎤 by Kevin Jung

Summary of the Test 👇

If you're looking for a high-quality microphone to equip your professional recording studio or home studio, try the AKG C3000. This condenser microphone is renowned for its good sound quality and versatility. You want to know more ? Here is the complete test of the C3000 microphone from the AKG brand.

Focus on the AKG brand

AKG is a renowned brand in the world of audio. Professional studio, home studio, radio station, spectral room… Microphones and headsets from this Austrian manufacturer can be found everywhere. Along with Telefunken and Neumann, AKG is among the best microphone brands in the world. A little history of the AKG brand before discovering the C3000 test.

It all began in Austria, more precisely in Vienna in 1947: Rudolf Goerike and Ernst Pless decided to create the AKG company. The company distinguished itself for the first time with the DYN series microphones . Handcrafted, these microphones were quickly adopted by professionals at the time. These were notably used in concert halls and radio stations.

Two years after the creation of the AKG brand, in 1949, the company began producing headphones . At the beginning of the 1950s, she began designing several series of microphones. Some of the most successful ones include the D12 cardioid microphone, the C12 tube condenser microphone and the D36 dynamic microphone.

At the end of the 1950s, AKG began to become known. Its products are now exported to Europe and almost everywhere in the world.

AKG C3000
Picture from Kytary.fr

Over the years, the AKG brand has continued to impress audio engineers. Moreover, legendary artists such as Frank Sinatra, Falco and Roger Whittaker have delivered memorable performances with legendary microphones adorned with the AKG logo . Furthermore, products from this brand were used during the 1980 Moscow Olympic Games.

Suffice it to say that AKG is a reliable microphone brand that has proven itself.

Among the best models from this Australian brand, here are some examples:

The list is still long. But in this article, let's focus on the latter model. Let's discover its construction quality, its different options, its areas of application and its sound quality. We will also give you our opinion on the AKG C3000 at the end of the test.

AKG-C3000-purchase

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

AKG C3000 Microphone Overview

The AKG C3000 is an electret condenser microphone. This type of microphone differs from so-called “true condenser” microphones in that it does not require a bias voltage. In fact, on its back plate, it has a magnetic layer.

The AKG C3000 comes in a stunning aluminum case . Its finish is just a real feast for the eyes.

This microphone benefits from an entirely metal housing. This protects it from extraneous noise when used simultaneously with other microphones or near a transmitter.

Since this model belongs to the condenser microphone family , an external power supply is therefore required to turn it on. The manufacturer recommends, among other things, the use of 9 to 52 V phantom power .

The AKG C3000 is a microphone that benefits from low self-noise ( 14 dBA ). Added to this is a very low risk of overload.

AKG C3000 Microphone
Picture from Talkbass.com

The AKG C3000 comes with a thread adapter . Additionally, you will also have a microphone clip that will allow you to attach and connect it to a stand. Note that the clip delivered with the microphone is very easy to assemble. Furthermore, this device benefits from a solid design .

So you can hang this microphone upside down without risking it falling. And the icing on the cake: an elastic suspension in the shape of a spider is also included in the box. This is a device that will help you get rid of unwanted vibrations . Enough to optimize the quality of your recordings in your professional studio or your home studio.

If you are used to traveling regularly, you will certainly like the C3000. In fact, it weighs only 320 g and is easy to transport .

The polar patterns of the AKG C3000 microphone

The large diaphragm of this condenser mic is similar to that of the AKG C414 microphone . The only difference: a small diaphragm capsule is located behind this main diaphragm. This notably allows it to provide a cardioid and hypercardioid response .

So, you can change the sensitivity of the microphone depending on the type of source you want to record. By opting for cardioid polar pattern , you make this microphone sensitive only to sounds in front of it. Sounds from the side will be greatly reduced. On the other hand, this kind of polar pattern completely rejects sound sources coming from behind.

AKG-C3000-purchase

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

If you want the mic to slightly pick up sounds coming from the rear, simply activate its hypercardioid polar pattern . This is none other than a variation of the cardioid directivity. However, it offers a narrower capture zone towards the front. Furthermore, it offers more sensitivity to sources coming from the rear.

To switch from one directionality to another, simply use the recessed switch on the side of the microphone.

The C3000: its attenuation pad – 10 dB and its low-cut filter

The AKG C3000 is equipped with an attenuator pad . This device is located in particular on the left side of the microphone. This allows you to increase the overload limit by 10 dB . With this feature, you can use this studio microphone to record close to loud sound sources without distortion issues .

Besides the attenuation switch, you will also have a high pass filter . The latter allows you to cut low frequencies .

Areas of application for the AKG C3000

The C3000 is a versatile microphone model. It can be used both on stage and in the studio.

This is a cardioid microphone . Thus, it is ideal for recording the voice of a podcaster or singer. If you plan to use this microphone for singing , it will perform very well.

AKG C3000 package
Picture from Basschat.co.uk

This type of directivity also makes this mic suitable for musical instrument jacks. Among other things, it can be used to capture the sounds of an acoustic guitar . Furthermore, you can also use it when playing the piano.

The AKG C3000 microphones can also be used as overhead microphones to capture the picture of your drums .

If you want to record stereo sound in XY, using a pair of AKG C3000s would be an excellent choice.

If you are going to use this microphone to implement the Mid-Side technique , you will need a bi-directional microphone. Most ribbon microphones offer this type of directivity, to name only the Beyerdynamic M130 and the Royer Labs R-122 MkII.

If you use a monitor on stage, consider activating the hypercardioid polar pattern for a better live experience.

Unlike the AKG C414 XLS microphone , the C3000 offers neither a figure-8 polar pattern nor an omnidirectional polar pattern. This implies that it is not designed to capture the ambiance of a room.

That said, if you're looking for a mic for recording a choir, go for mics that can pick up sounds equally from all directions. I am of course talking to you about omnidirectional microphones . Please nevertheless favor models designed by reliable brands such as Telefunken, Sennheiser, SE Electronics, Beyerdynamic, Neumann, Warm Audio, Blue or even AKG.

To give you ideas, here are some examples of microphones offering omnidirectional directivity: Telefunken U47, Warm Audio WA-47F, Blue Yeti X. The latter being a USB microphone which will undoubtedly delight streamers and gamers.

AKG-C3000-purchase

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Focus on the sound quality of the AKG C3000

Whatever the sound source in front of the AKG C3000, it always offers clear and precise sound reproduction . What's more, this studio microphone provides a lot of detail, especially in the treble.

The C3000 has a built-in pop filter . Thanks to this device, it remarkably eliminates plosives.

It can withstand sound pressure levels of up to 150 dB . Which makes this microphone a model suitable for recording very loud sounds such as drums for example. Moreover, in this context, it produces a remarkable sound.

Just like AKG's C414 XLS, the C3000 has a linear frequency response between 20 and 20,000 Hz . Which makes it suitable for multiple uses.

Featuring extremely low noise floor and a high overload limit, this mic boasts a dynamic range of 136 dB (A-weighted). To effectively reduce handling noise, consider placing this microphone on the spider suspension that comes with it in its case.

Unsurprisingly, the C3000 is sensitive to proximity effect. Indeed, this is a common characteristic of condenser microphones. This means that the closer the source is to the mic, the more bass will be emphasized.

You can, however, reduce the sensitivity of the microphone to the proximity effect if you are not a fan of it. To do this, simply use low frequency reduction switch The filter slope and cutoff frequency are 6 dB/octave and 500 Hz, .

Guitar recording with the AKG C3000 microphone
Picture from Youtube.com

Technical characteristics of the AKG C3000

  • Microphone type: condenser microphone
  • Polar patterns: cardioid, hypercardioid
  • Frequency response: 20 Hz to 20 kHz
  • Sensitivity at 1000 Hz: 20 mV/Pa (-32 dBV )
  • Attenuation pad: – 10 dB
  • Low cut filter: Yes
  • Maximum sound pressure level (SPL): 150 dB
  • Electrical impedance: 200 ohms
  • Recommended load impedance: 1000 ohms
  • Signal-to-noise ratio: 80 dB
  • Power requirements: 9-52V
  • Dimensions: 53 x 162 mm
  • Weight: 320g
  • Accessories included: elastic suspension, microphone clip, thread adapter
AKG C3000 packaging
Picture from Akg.com
AKG-C3000-purchase
Our Overall Opinion

Overall Sound Quality

4,8 /5
4.8/5

Value for money

4,6 /5
4.6/5

Global mark

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Our opinion on the AKG C3000 microphone

If you are a fan of the AKG brand, adding the C3000 to your collection will probably not displease you.

When it comes to professional microphone construction quality, the AKG brand is a real benchmark. This model is the perfect example. It's impossible not to fall under the spell of this elegantly styled model with its beautiful metal finish.

If you're looking for a microphone for studio recording, the AKG C3000 is a safe bet. In terms of sound quality, it is very close to the famous C414.

It is a cardioid microphone par excellence. As such, it effectively rejects sound sources coming from the rear. The C3000 is therefore not the suitable model for recording the atmosphere of a room. On the other hand, it delivers exceptional performance when you use it to record vocals. Whether on male or female voices, I am completely satisfied with the performance of this microphone.

It is not easy to find a microphone that provides such sound quality in this price range. The C3000 is an affordable microphone that offers a level of sound performance close to high-end models.

In terms of accessories, everything is there to record sounds in the best conditions. Among other things, the shock mount is very practical for protecting the microphone from ground vibrations.

Here is a quick summary of the strong points of the AKG C3000 microphone:

  • Clear sound reproduction
  • Detailed treble
  • Good ability to withstand high levels of pressure
  • Adaptation to many contexts and applications
  • Great performance both live and in the studio
  • Spider suspension delivered with the microphone

In short, given its exceptional sound character and its good value for money, I recommend the AKG C3000 microphone. This is the ideal alternative to the AKG C414 XLII if you want to get a large diaphragm microphone without breaking the bank.

AKG C3000 Demo

Special Offer at AKG 🔥

AKG-C3000-purchase

PRICE COMPARISON 👇

❤️ Discover other Condenser Microphone Tests:

French

Tous les Microphones aux Meilleurs Prix 🎙

AKG C3000

Test & Avis

Voulez-vous acquérir dans votre home studio ou studio professionnel un microphone à modèle de micro polyvalent ? Un microphone performant de haute qualité ? Pourquoi ne pas opter pour le AKG C3000 ? C’est un micro à condensateur avec un grand diaphragme qui dote d’une double directivité, dont la cardioïde et l’hypercardioïde. Sa bonne qualité sonore ainsi que sa polyvalence rend ce microphone très réputé. Découvrez sur ce guide notre test complet du C3000 de la marque AKG.

Test et avis du microphone AKG C3000

🎤 de Kevin Jung

Sommaire du Test 👇

Si vous recherchez un microphone de haute qualité pour équiper votre studio d’enregistrement professionnel ou votre home studio, essayez le AKG C3000. Ce microphone à condensateur est réputé pour sa bonne qualité sonore et sa polyvalence. Vous voulez en savoir plus ? Voici le test complet du microphone C3000 de la marque AKG.

Focus sur la marque AKG

AKG est une marque de renom dans le monde de l’audio. Studio professionnel, home studio, station de radio, salle de spectrale… On retrouve les microphones et les casques de ce fabricant autrichien partout. Avec Telefunken et Neumann, AKG figure parmi les meilleures marques de microphones au monde. Petit historique de la marque AKG avant de découvrir le test du C3000.

Tout commence en Autriche, plus précisément à Vienne en 1947 : Rudolf Goerike et Ernst Pless décident de créer l’entreprise AKG. L’entreprise s’illustre pour la première fois avec les microphones de la série DYN. Fabriqués à la main, ces micros ont été très rapidement adoptés par les professionnels à l’époque. Ceux-ci équipaient notamment les salles de concert et les stations de radio.

Deux ans après la création de la marque AKG, soit en 1949, l’entreprise commence à produire des casques audio. Au début des années 50, elle se lance dans la conception de plusieurs séries de microphones. Parmi ceux qui ont connu le plus de succès, citons entre autres le microphone cardioïde D12, le micro statique à tube C12 et le micro dynamique D36.

À la fin des années 50, AKG commence à se faire connaître. Ses produits sont désormais exportés en Europe et un peu partout dans le monde.

AKG C3000
Image de Kytary.fr

Au fil des années, la marque AKG n’a cessé d’impressionner les ingénieurs du son. D’ailleurs, les artistes légendaires tels que Frank Sinatra, Falco ou encore Roger Whittaker ont livré des prestations mémorables avec les microphones mythiques ornés du logo AKG. Par ailleurs, les produits de cette marque ont été utilisés lors des Jeux olympiques de Moscou en 1980.

Autant vous dire qu’AKG est une marque de microphone fiable qui a fait ses preuves.

Parmi les meilleurs modèles de cette marque australienne, en voici quelques exemples :

  • AKG Lyra
  • AKG P220
  • Micro AKG C414
  • AKG C314
  • AKG P420
  • Micro AKG C214
  • AKG P170
  • Le modèle C1000S
  • et le microphone AKG C3000

La liste est encore longue. Mais dans cet article, focalisons-nous sur ce dernier modèle. Découvrons sa qualité de construction, ses différentes options, ses domaines d’applications et sa qualité sonore. Nous vous donnerons également notre avis sur le C3000 de AKG à la fin du test.

AKG-C3000-achat

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Aperçu du microphone AKG C3000

L’AKG C3000 est un microphone à condensateur électret. Ce genre de micro se distingue des microphones dits « à vrai condensateur » par le fait qu’il ne requiert pas une tension de polarisation. En effet, sur sa plaque arrière, il dispose d’une couche magnétique.

L’AKG C3000 est livré dans une superbe mallette en aluminium. Sa finition est juste un vrai régal pour les yeux.

Ce micro bénéficie d’un boîtier entièrement en métal. Ce qui le protège des bruits parasites lorsqu’il est utilisé simultanément avec d’autres microphones ou à proximité d’un émetteur.

Étant donné que ce modèle appartient à la famille des microphones à condensateur, une alimentation externe est donc requise pour le mettre en marche. Le fabricant recommande entre autres l’utilisation d’une alimentation fantôme de 9 à 52 V.

Le C3000 de AKG est un micro qui bénéficie d’un faible bruit propre (14 dBA). À cela s’ajoute un risque de surcharge très faible.

Microphone AKG C3000
Image de Talkbass.com

L’AKG C3000 est accompagné d’un adaptateur de filetage. En outre, vous aurez également un clip de microphone qui vous permettra de le fixer et le connecter à un support. À noter que le clip livré avec le microphone se montre très facile à monter. Par ailleurs, ce dispositif bénéficie d’une conception solide.

Ainsi, vous pouvez suspendre ce micro à l’envers sans risquer de le faire tomber. Et cerise sur le gâteau : une suspension élastique en forme d’araignée est également incluse dans la boîte. Il s’agit d’un dispositif qui vous aidera à vous débarrasser des vibrations indésirables. De quoi optimiser la qualité de vos enregistrements dans votre studio professionnel ou votre home studio.

Si vous avez l’habitude de vous déplacer régulièrement, adopter le C3000 vous plaira certainement. En effet, il ne pèse que 320 g et se montre facile à transporter.

Les directivités du micro AKG C3000

Le grand diaphragme de ce micro à condensateur est similaire à celui du microphone AKG C414. La seule différence : une capsule à petit diaphragme se situe derrière ce diaphragme principal. Cela lui permet notamment de fournir une réponse cardioïde et hypercardioïde.

Ainsi, vous pouvez changer la sensibilité du micro selon le type de source que vous souhaitez enregistrer. En optant pour la directivité cardioïde, vous rendez ce micro sensible uniquement aux sons en face de lui. Les sons sur le côté seront fortement réduits. En revanche, ce genre de motif polaire rejette complètement les sources sonores qui proviennent de l’arrière.

AKG-C3000-achat

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Si vous souhaitez que le micro capte légèrement les sons venant de l’arrière, il vous suffit d’activer sa directivité hypercardioïde. Ce n’est autre qu’une variante de la directivité cardioïde. Seulement, elle propose une zone de captation plus étroite vers l’avant. Par ailleurs, elle offre plus de sensibilité aux sources venant de l’arrière.

Pour basculer d’une directivité à l’autre, il vous suffit de vous servir de l’interrupteur encastré se trouvant sur le côté du micro.

Le C3000 : son pad d’atténuation – 10 dB et son filtre coupe-bas

Le AKG C3000 est équipé d’un pad atténuateur. Ce dispositif se situe notamment sur le côté gauche du micro. Celui-ci vous permet d’augmenter la limite de surcharge de 10 dB. Grâce à cette fonctionnalité, vous pouvez utiliser ce microphone de studio pour enregistrer à proximité de fortes sources sonores sans problème de distorsion.

Outre le commutateur d’atténuation, vous aurez également un filtre passe-haut. Ce dernier vous permet notamment de couper les basses fréquences.

Les domaines d’applications de l’AKG C3000

Le C3000 est un modèle de micro polyvalent. Il s’utilise à la fois sur scène et en studio.

Il s’agit d’un microphone cardioïde. Ainsi, il convient parfaitement à l’enregistrement de la voix d’un podcasteur ou d’un chanteur. Si vous comptez utiliser ce micro pour chanter, il se montrera très performant.

AKG C3000 package
Image de Basschat.co.uk

Ce type de directivité rend également ce micro adapté aux prises d’instruments de musique. Entre autres, il peut être utilisé pour capter les sons d’une guitare acoustique. Par ailleurs, vous pouvez également vous en servir lors de vos prises de piano.

Les micros AKG C3000 peuvent également être utilisés comme micros overhead afin de capter l’image stéréo de votre batterie.

Si vous souhaitez réaliser une prise de son stéréo en XY, utiliser une paire d’AKG C3000 serait un excellent choix.

Si vous comptez utiliser ce microphone pour mettre en place la technique Mid-Side, vous aurez besoin d’un microphone bidirectionnel. La plupart des micros à ruban proposent ce type de directivité pour n’en citer que le Beyerdynamic M130 et le Royer Labs R-122 MkII.

Si vous utilisez un retour sur scène, pensez à activer la directivité hypercardioïde pour une meilleure expérience en live.

Contrairement au micro AKG C414 XLS, le C3000 ne propose ni une directivité en figure en 8 ni une directivité omnidirectionnelle. Cela implique qu’il n’est pas conçu pour capturer l’ambiance d’une salle.

Cela dit, si vous recherchez un micro pour enregistrer une chorale, optez pour les micros capables de capter les sons de manière égale dans toutes les directions. Je vous parle bien sûr des microphones omnidirectionnels. Veuillez néanmoins privilégier les modèles conçus par les marques fiables telles Telefunken, Sennheiser, SE Electronics, Beyerdynamic, Neumann, Warm Audio, Blue ou encore AKG.

Pour vous donner des idées, voici quelques exemples de microphones proposant une directivité omnidirectionnelle : Telefunken U47, Warm Audio WA-47F, Blue Yeti X. Ce dernier étant un micro USB qui fera sans aucun doute le bonheur des streameurs et des gameurs.

AKG-C3000-achat

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Zoom sur la qualité sonore du AKG C3000

Quelle que soit la source sonore en face de l’AKG C3000, il propose toujours une restitution sonore claire et précise. Qui plus est, ce micro studio fournit beaucoup de détails notamment dans les aigus.

Le C3000 est doté d’un filtre anti-pop intégré. Grâce à ce dispositif, il élimine remarquablement les plosives.

Il peut supporter les niveaux de pression acoustique allant jusqu’à 150 dB. Ce qui en fait de ce micro un modèle adapté aux prises de son très fort comme celui d’une batterie par exemple. D’ailleurs, dans ce contexte, il produit un son remarquable.

Tout comme le C414 XLS d’AKG, le C3000 dispose d’une réponse en fréquence linéaire entre 20 et 20 000 Hz. Ce qui le rend adapté à de multiples usages.

Doté d’un bruit de fond extrêmement faible et d’une limite de surcharge élevée, ce micro affiche une gamme dynamique de 136 dB (pondéré A). Pour réduire efficacement les bruits de manipulation, pensez à placer ce micro sur la suspension araignée qui l’accompagne dans sa mallette.

Sans surprise, le C3000 est sensible à l’effet de proximité. En effet, c’est une caractéristique commune aux micros statiques. Cela signifie que plus la source est proche du micro, plus les graves seront accentuées.

Vous pouvez toutefois réduire la sensibilité du micro à l’effet de proximité si vous n’en êtes pas fan. Pour ce faire, il vous suffit d’utiliser le commutateur de réduction des basses fréquences. La pente de filtre et la fréquence de coupure sont respectivement de 6 dB/octave et 500 Hz.

Enregistrement guitare avec le micro AKG C3000
Image de Youtube.com

Les caractéristiques techniques du AKG C3000

  • Type de micro : microphone à condensateur
  • Directivités : cardioïde, hypercardioïde
  • Réponse en fréquence : 20 Hz à 20 kHz
  • Sensibilité à 1000 Hz : 20 mV/Pa (-32 dBV)
  • Pad d’atténuation : – 10 dB
  • Filtre coupe-bas : Oui
  • Niveau de pression sonore (SPL) maximal : 150 dB
  • Impédance électrique : 200 ohms
  • Impédance de charge recommandée : 1000 ohms
  • Rapport signal-bruit : 80 dB
  • Alimentation requise : alimentation fantôme de 9 à 52 V
  • Dimensions : 53 x 162 mm
  • Poids : 320 g
  • Accessoires inclus : suspension élastique, clip de microphone, adaptateur de filetage
AKG C3000 packaging
Image de Akg.com
AKG-C3000-achat
Notre Avis Global

Qualité Sonore Globale

4,8 /5
4.8/5

Rapport Qualité / Prix

4,6 /5
4.6/5

Note Globale

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Notre avis sur le microphone AKG C3000

Si vous êtes adeptes de la marque AKG, ajouter le C3000 à votre collection ne vous déplaira sans doute pas.

En matière de qualité de construction de micro pro, la marque AKG est une vraie référence. Ce modèle en est le parfait exemple. Impossible de ne pas tomber sous le charme de ce modèle au style élégant avec sa belle finition en métal.

Si vous recherchez un microphone pour un enregistrement en studio, le AKG C3000 est une valeur sûre. En termes de qualité sonore, il se rapproche beaucoup du fameux C414.

C’est un microphone cardioïde par excellence. À ce titre, il rejette efficacement les sources sonores en provenance de l’arrière. Le C3000 n’est donc pas le modèle adapté pour enregistrer l’ambiance d’une pièce. En revanche, il délivre une prestation exceptionnelle lorsque vous l’utilisez pour enregistrer la voix. Que ce soit sur les voix masculines ou féminines, je suis complètement satisfait du rendu de ce micro.

Il n’est pas évident de trouver un microphone qui fournit une telle qualité de son dans cette gamme de prix. Le C3000 est un micro abordable qui propose un niveau de performance sonore proche des modèles haut de gamme.

Au niveau des accessoires, tout y est pour enregistrer des sons dans les meilleures conditions. Entre autres, le support antichoc est très pratique pour mettre le micro à l’abri des vibrations du sol.

Voici un petit récapitulatif des points forts du microphone AKG C3000 :

  • Restitution sonore claire
  • Aigus détaillés
  • Bonne capacité à encaisser les niveaux de pression élevés
  • Adaptation à de nombreux contextes et applications
  • Belle performance en live comme en studio
  • Suspension araignée livrée avec le micro

Bref, compte tenu de son caractère sonore exceptionnel et de son bon rapport qualité-prix, je vous recommande le microphone AKG C3000. C’est l’alternative idéale au AKG C414 XLII si vous souhaitez vous procurer un microphone à large diaphragme sans vous ruiner.

Démo AKG C3000

Offre Spéciale chez AKG 🔥

AKG-C3000-achat

COMPARATIF PRIX 👇

❤️ Découvrez d'autres Tests de Microphone à Condensateur :

French