All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

AKG P420

Test & Review

Today, I come back to one of the most coveted microphones from the AKG brand. I offer you a complete test of the essential AKG P420 condenser microphone. Apparently, it's a kind of professional studio microphone that delivers good vocal pickup. But what is it in reality? Let's discover together the characteristics and specificities of this wireless microphone with good value for money.

AKG P420 Full Review

🎤 by Kevin Jung

Summary of the Test 👇

A condenser microphone from AKG Acoustics

Like Neumann condenser microphones like the TLM 102 for example, the AKG P420 studio microphone is an entry-level condenser microphone. In fact, it is home studio recording equipment produced by AKG Acoustics, a brand recognized for its high-performance microphones. A sound manufacturing company under the supervision of a sound engineer, the company got its start in Austria.

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Currently, it works closely with the giant Samsung Electronics. This collaboration has notably made it possible to develop and condenser microphones In this sense, I fully expect the AKG P420 stereo microphone to be an external mic with high-quality, rigid capsules.

AKG P42, Home studio recording equipment.
Picture from worthpoint.com

The perfect mid-range from AKG

The P420 AKG lavalier microphone has broken away from the basic design of the brand's condenser microphones. Indeed, AKG Acoustics has imagined a new concept by wanting to offer more efficient recording equipment for studios.

Above all, the brand wants to offer you a new model of handheld microphone, with a large membrane and which adapts to all acoustic instruments. It wants to establish itself in the mid-range , without sacrificing the construction or manufacturing quality of its products.

Buying an AKG P420 microphone means enjoying a good quality directional, acoustic, cardioid and bidirectional microphone. In addition, this multi-polarization makes it suitable for musicians as well as beginners in studio recording.

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Moreover, by analyzing its price, its dynamic and omnidirectional description reveals a type of electrostatic microphone with many functionalities. Although a real sound professional may have some prejudices regarding the sound quality it provides.

In any case, this boom mic can pick up sounds and sound waves of all kinds and easily fits all budgets. You could still find other models of room microphone cheaper on the market. On this subject, please consult my comparisons on the Neumann, Rode NT1 stereo recording microphones .

The AKG P420 is a condenser microphone.
Picture from audiofanzine.com

AKG P420 Microphone Overview

In the search for studio equipment providing a correct response curve , you come across the AKG P420. Indeed, it is an ideal condenser microphone for capturing, condensing and mixing low and high frequency sounds.

The output level it offers responds well to the characteristics of condenser microphones . These are well suited for use with proximity effects in the studio . You get almost uniform treble or bass from all angles of static miking.

On the other hand, to amplify the dynamics, it is better to turn to micro dynamic models. A priori, a dynamic microphone is more suitable for recording and direct amplification on stage.

These versatile USB mic models are more adaptable to all sound environments and can better capture vibrations. They then transform them into an electrical signal with minimal background noise.

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

In front of an AKG P420 microphone, I benefit from a signal-to-noise ratio of 79 dB . I also notice slight noise frequencies of 15 dB from a higher sound level. These attributes underline the presence of a high-level recorder, amplifier and transformer, associated with its voice coil.

Thus, the sound pressure diagram obtained with or without headphones is more or less free from handling noise. In the end, I benefit from an efficient converter to power dynamics using an intuitive and functional audio interface.

Also, the fact that it is an analog vocal microphone with a magnetic field once again underlines its fragile, but precise performance. In a gooseneck, the percussion is reduced at best once you have taken care to plug in its USB cable and connector.

AKG P420: a versatile condenser microphone
Picture from audiofanzine.com

AKG P420: a versatile condenser microphone

In order to lower its production costs, AKG Acoustics has decided to center the production of AKG P420 microphones in China. The brand used Chinese manufacturing processes to be able to compete with economical omnidirectional microphone models.

However, it still intends to offer a range of professional microphones essential in the recording studio .

To meet both the needs of the market and the requirements of singers, AKG designs part of its parts and the P420 circuit in Vienna. The rest of the micro-USB instead goes to Chinese manufacturing factories affiliated with the brand.

In short, the company is proud to offer you a radio microphone providing good frequency response and available at an affordable price.

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Podcast and acoustic guitar enthusiasts especially appreciate it for its versatile multi-pattern design. Indeed, the sensitivity of the mic is easily adjustable by pressing its sound wave switch.

Connected to an adapter and an external power source (phantom power), the latter instantly captures the bandwidth.

To record the voice properly, it then uses the electrical current provided by your phantom power. To do this, you need to use an attenuator and a mixer. It will need on average a power of 48 Volts obtained using your sound card.

Regarding switches, the AKG P420 studio microphone comes with a -20 dB pad model. You also benefit from a pop filter and a bass cut filter.

This connection makes it possible to reduce the perception of background noise in SPL with the preamp. Also, the presence of a high-pass filter eliminates high pressure levels to obtain a certain regularity of sound sources.

A multi-polarity microphone.
Picture from musicash.it

Focus on the manufacturing quality of the AKG P420 stand microphone

I also want to draw your attention to the build quality of the AKG P420 condenser microphone. At first glance, I like that it comes with a good shock mount that is easy to connect to a mic stand. Its metal chassis cannot go unnoticed by me.

In some cases, you can get an shock mount as well as a carrying case.

Then, the AKG P420 USB microphone displays exemplary manufacturing quality and incomparable durability. So you won't have to worry about its stability as a microphone for singing in the studio .

It has a solid, compact construction, certainly a little heavy, but highly appreciable for ensuring voice recording. It attaches easily to a tripod and offers a high level of sound source capture.

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

And if I compare it with most mid-range microphones , it remains on a standard, less brilliant design. A priori, you benefit from a unique vintage ribbon lavalier microphone.

One last detail that I would like to clarify is a dual diaphragm microphone level . Indeed, a large magnet diaphragm offers a wider and more vibrant sound. Then another smaller diaphragm captures sound pressure better to give you a richer vocal mix.

The AKG P420, wireless lavalier microphone.
Picture from worthpoint.com

In addition, discover our complete guide to ribbon microphones for recording studios . This guide offers you the best professional ribbon microphones for your studio.

A multi-polarity microphone

Another feature I like about the AKG P420, it gives you multiple polarities in one electrostatic model. Indeed, this microphone features a directional, cardioid and bidirectional or figure-8 pattern design.

The cardioid polar pattern allows it to directly capture acoustic sounds in front of the microphones while suppressing side noise. You then obtain sounds with clearer impedance that are more appreciable when listening.

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

As a directional or omnidirectional microphone, it can also capture sounds from all possible directions. However, it will be necessary to consider the maximum bandwidth capture range. In this sense, it works perfectly as a room mic capable of recording any sound in a studio room.

This electrostatic directivity meets the needs of singers, acoustic configurations and ambient sounds.

Finally, the bi-directional or figure-8 polar pattern allows you to select vibrations at the front and rear of the AKG mic. So you can both use it to record amplifier sounds and natural amp reverbs behind.

AKG P420 is made for mixing studio recording.
Picture from pro.harman.com

The overall performance of the AKG P420 microphone

The AKG P420 condenser microphone can capture sounds up to 155 dB. Therefore, it can pick up sounds 10-20d louder than most condenser mics . You benefit from sounds that are warmer, more transparent and above all richer in detail.

I recommend it equally well to artists of grand piano, acoustic guitars, drums and percussion. You can also use it to mix the recording of your musical techniques .

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Moreover, with a frequency response of 20 Hz to 20 kHz, it perfectly covers the entire spectrum of acoustic instruments. However, the list does not include bass drums, double basses and violas.

Particularly suited to voice-over artists , the AKG P420 microphone goes far beyond expectations in the studio. Just like Neumann mics , it easily meets the needs of podcatsers, vloggers, radio hosts and gamers.

Ideal for sound recording
Picture from amazon.com

Technical characteristics of the AKG P420 microphone

  • Type: condenser microphone
  • Polar pattern: omnidirectional, cardioid, directional
  • Sensitivity: 28 mV/Pa
  • Frequency response: 20 Hz – 20 kHz
  • Impedance: 200 ohms
  • Max SPL: 155 dB

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

  • Signal/Noise Ratio: 79 dB
  • Attenuator: 0 dB, -20 dB
  • Switchable bass cut: 300 Hz
  • Dimensions: 165 x 54 mm
  • Weight: 530g
  • Black color
Our Overall Opinion

Overall Sound Quality

4,0 /5
4/5

Value for money

4,8 /5
4.8/5

Global mark

4,5 /5
4.5/5

Our opinion on the AKG P420 microphone

The AKG P420 microphone is a professional analog microphone with good value for money. Directional, omnidirectional and cardioid, it fits with most acoustic instruments to record vocals. It can therefore easily capture all types of sounds during studio recording.  

AKG P420 Demo

Special Offer at AKG Acoustics 🔥

9069456_800.jpg
AKG P420

PRICE COMPARISON 👇

❤️ Discover other Condenser Microphone Tests:

French

Tous les Microphones aux Meilleurs Prix 🎙

AKG P420 Test & Avis

Aujourd’hui, je reviens sur l’un des microphones les plus convoités de la marque AKG. Je vous propose un test complet de l’incontournable microphone à condensateur AKG P420. Apparemment, il s’agit d’une sorte de micro pour studio pro et qui délivre une bonne prise de voix. Mais qu’en est-il en réalité ? Découvrons ensemble les caractéristiques et les spécificités de ce microphone sans fil au bon rapport qualité/prix.

AKG P420 Test Complet

🎤 de Kevin Jung

Sommaire du Test 👇

Un microphone à condensateur d’AKG Acoustics

Au même titre que les micros à condensateur Neumann comme TLM 102 par exemple, le micro studio AKG P420 est un micro statique d’entrée de gamme. En fait, il s’agit d’un matériel d’enregistrement pour home-studio produit par AKG Acoustics, une marque reconnue pour ses micros performants. Une société de fabrication des sons sous la surveillance d’un ingénieur du son, l’entreprise fait ses débuts en Autriche.

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Actuellement, elle travaille en étroite collaboration avec le géant Samsung Electronics. Cette collaboration, elle, a notamment permis de développer des solutions plus intuitives de microphones dynamiques et à condensateur. En ce sens, je m’attends bien à ce que le microphone stéréo AKG P420 soit un micro externe doté de capsules rigides et de haute qualité.

AKG P42, Matériel d’enregistrement pour home-studio.
Image de worthpoint.com

Le parfait milieu de gamme d’AKG

Le micro-cravate P420 AKG s’est détaché de la conception basique des micros statiques de la marque. En effet, AKG Acoustics a imaginé un concept nouveau en voulant proposer un équipement d’enregistrement plus efficace pour les studios.

La marque veut surtout vous offrir un nouveau modèle de micro à la main, à large membrane et qui s’adapte à tous les instruments acoustiques. Elle veut s’imposer dans le milieu de gamme, sans pour autant sacrifier la construction ou la qualité de fabrication de ses produits.

Acheter un micro P420 d’AKG revient à profiter d’un micro directionnel, acoustique, cardioïde et bidirectionnel de bonne qualité. De plus, cette multi polarisation fait en sorte qu’il convienne tout aussi bien aux musiciens qu’aux débutants en enregistrement en studio.

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

D’ailleurs, en analysant son prix, sa description dynamique et omnidirectionnelle laisse paraître un type de micro électrostatique aux nombreuses fonctionnalités. Bien qu’un réel professionnel du son peut avoir quelques préjugés concernant la qualité sonore qu’il procure.

Dans tous les cas, ce micro à perche peut capter les sons et ondes sonores de toute sorte et convient aisément à tous les budgets. Vous pourriez quand même trouver d’autres modèles de micro d’ambiance moins cher sur le marché. À ce sujet, veuillez consulter mes comparatifs sur les micros d’enregistrements stéréo Neumann, Rode NT1 USB et Blue Yéti.

L'AKG P420 est un microphone à condensateur.
Image de audiofanzine.com

Aperçu du microphone AKG P420

Dans la recherche d’un matériel de studio procurant une courbe de réponse correcte, vous tombez bien sur l’AKG P420. En effet, il s’agit d’un idéal micro à condensateur permettant de capter, condenser et mixer des sons de basses et de hautes fréquences.

Le niveau de sortie qu’il propose répond bien aux caractéristiques des microphones à condensateur. Ces derniers conviennent bien à une utilisation avec effet de proximité en studio. Vous obtenez des aigus ou des basses presque uniformes sous tous les angles de prise de son statique.

Par contre, pour amplifier la dynamique, il vaut mieux se tourner vers les modèles de micro dynamique. A priori, un microphone dynamique convient plus aux enregistrements et amplifications directes sur scène.

Ces modèles de micro USB polyvalent s’adaptent plus à tous les environnements sonores et peuvent mieux capturer les vibrations. Ils les transforment ensuite en signal électrique avec le minimum de bruit de fond.

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Devant un micro AKG P420, je profite d’un rapport signal/bruit de 79 dB. Je constate également de légères fréquences de bruit de 15 dB d’un niveau de sonorisation supérieur. Ces attributs soulignent la présence d’un enregistreur, amplificateur et transformateur de haut niveau, associés à sa bobine mobile.

Ainsi, le diagramme de pressions acoustiques obtenu avec ou sans casque audio est plus ou moins exempt de bruits de manipulation. Au final, je bénéficie d’un convertisseur efficace pour alimenter la dynamique à l’aide d’une interface audio intuitive et fonctionnelle.

Aussi, le fait qu’il s’agit d’un micro chant analogique et à champ magnétique souligne une fois de plus ses performances fragiles, mais précises. En col-de-cygne, les percussions se voient réduites au mieux une fois que vous avez pris soin de brancher son câble USB et son connecteur.

AKG P420 : un microphone à condensateur polyvalent
Image de audiofanzine.com

AKG P420 : un microphone à condensateur polyvalent

Afin de baisser ses coûts de production, AKG Acoustics a décidé de centrer la production des micros AKG P420en Chine. La marque s’est servie des procédés de fabrication chinoise pour pouvoir concurrencer les modèles économiques de microphone omnidirectionnel.

Néanmoins, elle a toujours comme intention de proposer une gamme de micros pros indispensable en studio d’enregistrement.

Pour répondre à la fois aux besoins du marché et aux exigences des chanteurs, AKG conçoit une partie de ses pièces et du circuit du P420 à Vienne. Le reste du micro-USB passe plutôt dans les usines de fabrications chinoises affiliées à la marque.

En somme, l’entreprise est fière de vous offrir un micro de la radio procurant une bonne réponse en fréquence et disponible à prix abordable.

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Les amateurs du podcast et de la guitare acoustique l’apprécient surtout pour sa conception polyvalente en multi-pattern. En effet, la sensibilité du micro est facilement réglable en appuyant sur son interrupteur d’onde sonore.

Relié à un adaptateur et à une source d’alimentation externe (alimentation phantom), ce dernier capture instantanément la bande passante.

Pour enregistrer la voix convenablement, il utilise ensuite le courant électrique que fournit votre alimentation fantôme. Pour ce faire, vous devez utiliser un atténuateur et une table de mixage. Il lui faudra en moyenne une puissance de 48 Volts obtenue à l’aide de votre carte-son.

Concernant les commutateurs, le microphone de studio AKG P420 vous est livré avec un modèle pad -20 dB. Vous bénéficiez également d’un filtre anti pop et d’un filtre coupe-bass.

Cette connectique permet notamment de réduire la perception des bruits de fond en SPL avec le préampli. Aussi, la présence d’un filtre passe-haut élimine les niveaux de pression élevés pour obtenir une certaine régularité des sources sonores.

Un microphone à multi polarité.
Image de musicash.it

Zoom sur la qualité de fabrication du micro sur pied AKG P420

Je veux également attirer votre attention sur la qualité de fabrication du microphone à condensateur AKG P420. De prime abord, j’apprécie le fait qu’il soit livré avec une bonne suspension antichoc facile à connecter à un pied de micro. Son châssis métallique ne peut aussi passer inaperçu à mes yeux.

Dans certains cas, vous pouvez obtenir un support antichoc supplémentaire ainsi qu’une mallette de transport.

Ensuite, le microphone USB AKG P420 affiche une qualité de fabrication exemplaire et une durabilité incomparable. Vous n’aurez donc pas à vous inquiéter sur sa stabilité en tant que micro pour chanter en studio.

Il présente une construction solide, compacte, certes un peu lourde, mais hautement appréciable pour assurer un enregistrement de la voix. Il s’accroche en toute simplicité à un trépied et propose un niveau de captation de source sonore élevé.

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Et si je le compare avec la plupart des micros de milieu de gamme, il reste sur une conception standard, moins brillante. A priori, vous bénéficiez d’un microphone cravate à ruban vintage unique en son genre.

Un dernier détail que je tiens à préciser, il s’agit d’un niveau de micro à doubles diaphragmes. En effet, un grand diaphragme à aimant offre un son plus large et plus vibrant. Puis un autre diaphragme plus petit capte mieux la pression acoustique pour vous offrir un mixage vocal plus riche.

L'AKG P420,micro-cravate sans fil.
Image de worthpoint.com

Par ailleurs, découvrez aussi notre guide complet sur les microphones à ruban pour studio d’enregistrement. Ce guide vous propose les meilleurs micros à ruban professionnel pour votre studio.

Un microphone à multi polarité

Une autre caractéristique que j’apprécie chez l’AKG P420, il vous propose plusieurs polarités dans un seul modèle électrostatique. En effet, ce micro-cravate sans fil affiche une conception à motif directionnel, cardioïde et bidirectionnel ou figure-8.

La directivité cardioïde lui permet de capter directement des sons acoustiques devant les micros tout en supprimant les bruits de côté. Vous obtenez alors des sons à impédance plus nette et plus appréciable à l’écoute.

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

En tant que microphone directionnel ou omnidirectionnel, il peut aussi capturer des sons dans toutes les directions possibles. Il faudra toutefois considérer la portée maximale de captation de la bande passante. En ce sens, il fonctionne parfaitement comme un micro d’ambiance capable d’enregistrer tout son dans une pièce de studio.

Cette directivité électrostatique répond aux besoins des chanteurs, des configurations acoustiques et des sons ambiants.

Enfin, la directivité bidirectionnelle ou en figure-8 permet de sélectionner des vibrations à l’avant et à l’arrière du micro AKG. Vous pouvez donc à la fois l’utiliser pour enregistrer des sons d’amplificateur et des réverbérations naturelles de l’ampli en arrière.

AKG P420 est fait pour mixer l’enregistrement studio.
Image de pro.harman.com

Les performances globales du micro AKG P420

Le microphone à condensateur AKG P420 peut capturer des sons allant jusqu’à 155 dB. Par conséquent, il peut capter des sons de 10 à 20 d de plus que la plupart des micros à condensateur. Vous bénéficiez de sons plus chauds, plus transparents et surtout plus riches en détail.

Je le recommande tout aussi ben aux artistes du piano à queue, des guitares acoustiques, de la batterie que des percussions. Vous pouvez également l’utiliser pour mixer l’enregistrement de vos techniques musicales.

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

D’ailleurs, avec une réponse en fréquence de 20 Hz à 20 kHz, il couvre parfaitement l’ensemble des spectres d’instruments acoustiques. Cependant, la liste n’inclut pas les grosses caisses de batterie, les contrebasses et les altos.

Particulièrement adapté aux artistes de voix-off, le micro P420 d’AKG va bien au-delà des attentes en studio. Tout comme les micros Neumann, il répond aisément aux besoins des podcatsers, des vloggeurs, des animateurs à la radio et des gamers.

Idéal pour la prise de son
Image de amazon.com

Caractéristiques techniques du microphone AKG P420

  • Type : microphone à condensateur
  • Diagramme polaire : omnidirectionnel, cardioïde, directionnel
  • Sensibilité : 28 mV/Pa
  • Réponse en fréquence : 20 Hz – 20 kHz
  • Impédance : 200 ohms
  • SPL max : 155 dB

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

  • Rapport Signal/Bruit : 79 dB
  • Atténuateur : 0 dB, -20 dB
  • Coupe-bass commutable : 300 Hz
  • Dimensions : 165 x 54 mm
  • Poids : 530 g
  • Couleur : noir
Notre Avis Global

Qualité Sonore Globale

4,0 /5
4/5

Rapport Qualité / Prix

4,8 /5
4.8/5

Note Globale

4,5 /5
4.5/5

Notre avis sur le microphone AKG P420

Le microphone AKG P420 est un micro pro analogique au bon rapport qualité/prix. Directionnel, omnidirectionnel et cardioïde, il s’adapte avec la plupart des instruments acoustiques pour enregistrer la voix. Il peut donc capturer aisément tout type de sons dans le cadre d’un enregistrement en studio. 

Démo de l’AKG P420

Offre Spéciale chez AKG Acoustics 🔥

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

❤️ Découvrez d'autres Tests de Microphone à Condensateur :