All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

Audio-Technica AT4040

Test & Review

In the search for an excellent condenser microphone for home studio, I came across the Audio-Technica AT4040. A real gem in the eyes of many podcasters, YouTubers, singers, beginners and amateurs of the acoustic guitar, it offers a good vocal pick-up. This type of microphone is especially popular for its great versatility and its ability to capture different sound and acoustic sources. But what is it really? What is this microphone worth for singing and as studio equipment for making sound recordings? Discover my complete comparison about it.

Audio-Technica AT4040 Full Review

🎤 by Kevin Jung

Summary of the Test 👇

Audio-Technica AT4040 Condenser Microphone Overview

The Audio-Technica AT4040 is attractive for its developed features, a point in common with the different ranges of equipment in the AT series.

Indeed, condenser microphones are attractive for their careful design and the sound quality they offer. As a professional microphone, I can only advise you to buy an AT brand microphone.

The AT4040: Condenser microphone from Audio-Technica.
Picture from guitarfella.com

The Audio-Technica AT4040 has the honor of being one of Audio-Technica's condenser microphones. Indeed, designed with a rigid diaphragm, cutting-edge technical elements and a cardioid directional directivity, it meets the needs of a voice recording studio microphone .

Thus, the sound it provides lives up to all expectations. It notably offers high-level sound wave transformation using an external 48-volt phantom power supply.

highly versatile condenser microphone , the Audio-Technica AT4040 is aimed at a wide audience and is included in the brand's mid-range condenser microphone category.

Audio Technica AT4040 Purchase
Audio-Technica AT4040

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

However, this lavalier microphone remains basically an essential element for recording voice and ensuring good capture of acoustic signals for professional purposes .

I particularly recommend it to streamers, singers and gamers looking for an original and authentic studio microphone .

In fact, the Audio-Technica AT4040 has the honor of being the most affordable omnidirectional microphone A priori, the Japanese manufacturer mainly wanted to offer an external microphone ideal for capturing sounds and easily accessible.

However, compared to other dynamic microphones and condenser microphones on the market, its price remains quite expensive. For my part, I find that it remains good value for money.

 Audio-Technica AT4040: An omnidirectional microphone
Picture from picclick.co.uk

Construction of the AT4040 Condenser Microphone

One of the features I particularly like about the AT series mics, they feature a solid and rigid design. In fact, the dynamic description in front of a microphone is pretty much the same.

I benefit from a USB microphone with little handling noise with well-protected capsules. Also, the converter, the switch, the connectors and the various associated with its diaphragm remain in place.

the Audio-Technica AT4040 brings it closer to other boom microphone models
Picture from static-thomann.de

In the case of the Audio-Technica AT4040 USB condenser microphone , I benefit from a close design to the brand's other boom microphone models. Indeed, in front of the AT40 microphones, I notice above all a body made of black nickel-plated brass supported by an imposing metal mesh grille.

This acoustic mesh improves the response curve obtained with a double layer at its front and a capsule at its rear. An outstanding ambient microphone, the Audio-Technica AT4040 will probably appeal to you for the same reasons.

Audio Technica AT4040 Purchase
Audio-Technica AT4040

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

The microphone of the Audio-Technica AT4040 radio is made up of more than 60% of this metal directional microphone cage. A priori, the size of its magnet housing reduces internal reflections linked to any kind of background noise. This element therefore acts as an attenuator of the acoustic sounds picked up when you plug in your headphones.

In the end, the whole thing gives the impression of an original stereo microphone with an optimized vocal ribbon capable of providing a quality electrical signal. Probably in case you drop your Audio-Technica AT4040 accidentally, the wireless microphone will remain intact.

The brand is very proud of the microphone sensitivity reduced at best with the shockproof design of its dynamic microphone.

Sensitive microphone
Picture from mon-micro.com

Focus on its different constituent elements

The AT4040 directional microphone displays the Audio-Technica brand , abbreviated AT, on its front. In fact, all dynamic, static and condenser microphones from the Japanese brand feature this symbol. At its rear is a pair of plastic design slide switch transformers.

A priori, the left switch activates the high-pass filter for pressure levels of around 80 Hz. The second switch serves as a pre-attenuator and 10 dB preamp.

You are also entitled to an anti-pop filter to better capture and mix more balanced static sounds . Subsequently, amplifying the dynamics with its audio interface remains basically quite simple to achieve to obtain excellent bandwidth quality .

The AT4040's microphone is condensed by an XLR output connector.
Picture of bigcommerce.com

The microphone input of the Audio-Technica AT4040 is condensed by an XLR output connector directly integrated inside a rod which is located at its base. The serial number of the recording equipment is notably hidden inside it.

Apparently, the wireless lavalier microphone seems more or less sensitive to background noise at the output level. To correct any slightly attenuated acoustic pressure, the audio interface accommodates a shock suspension included without having to pay additional costs.

Furthermore, whether at high frequencies or low frequencies, you get a good frequency response thanks to this addition.

In addition, you can also consult our complete test guide and review on the Aston Origin pro microphone . In this guide you can discover the sound quality of this microphone, its robustness, the comparison of the Aston Origin with the Rode NT1 A microphone, its advantages, and the reviews of this condenser microphone.

Audio Technica AT4040 Purchase
Audio-Technica AT4040

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Optimized stand mounting

And when it comes to mounting on a microphone stand, your condenser microphone with omnidirectional phantom power remains a little complex to understand. In fact, it will be necessary to adjust an elastic band to the sound source recorder so that it can properly capture the sound vibrations.

efficient studio recording equipment on a platter .

Once the microphone amplifier and speaker are installed, I get an essential mobile recording studio . Furthermore, since it is a micro-USB, I can easily use it in any voice-over context.

Ideal for efficient studio recording
Picture from mmorpg.com

Audio-Technica AT4040, a large diaphragm microphone

Like the Neumann U87 condenser microphone, the Audio-Technica AT4040 is also appreciated for its large diagram and diaphragm design compared to other AT vocal microphone models. This type of microphone makes it possible to better condense different sound sources in order to obtain a more precise sound pressure and a more intense stereo amplifier.

A priori, the sounds produced are sharper and clearer compared to those captured with most microphones on the market. Comparing it to the Neumann, Yeti, Blue Yeti and Rode NT USB microphones, I can see a big difference between the results obtained.

In short, I obtain a significantly improved frequency response in cardioid polar pattern. The microphone level of the Audio-Technica AT4040 allows you to hear better quality sounds with the minimum of percussion .

Audio Technica AT4040 Purchase
Audio-Technica AT4040

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

The sound recording is closer to that obtained using expensive studio equipment. And yet, this Audio-Technica microphone is an excellent value for money.

Also, compared to AT microphones, the proximity effect it provides remains excellent . This feature allows it to provide unparalleled vocal and mixing quality. In practice, by listening to your recordings using headphones, you will clearly hear higher quality sounds ringing in your ears.

Concerning the signal/noise ratio of the analog cardio microphone , its SLM is estimated at 12 dB. This apparently allows manipulation noise to be offset from sounds captured in stereo. Additionally, its cardioid polar pattern only once again enhances its abilities to reduce low and high sound interference.

And to power the dynamics, I just have to connect it to a USB cable. In all respects, I advise you to connect it to a phantom power source in order to obtain better results that are less fragile when listening .

The Audio-Technica AT4040: Analog cardio microphone
Picture from mmorpg.com

Accessories offered with the AT4040 microphone

The Audio-Technica AT4040 handheld microphone is offered to me with several additional accessories. I particularly benefit from a set with a spider which serves as a tripod support , a case and a dust cover .

The AT4040's plastic case is designed with foam padding and easily attaches to its spider and pop filter. I particularly appreciate the presence of a black fabric cover used to protect the equipment from dust.

Audio Technica AT4040 Purchase
Audio-Technica AT4040

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

So, I can easily hang it like any dynamic microphone in my home studio, without any dust sticking to its walls.

Zoom on the spider, its role is to hold the AT4040 securely in place using a rubber band. However, I deplore the absence of an additional lock to reinforce its security in the inverted position of your acoustic instruments.

Note : Also discover our complete test and opinion on the Sennheiser MK4 . This article offers you all the advantages of this microphone and its characteristics. If you are an artist, this is the best mic for you.

Audio-Technica AT4040: pros and cons

Most :

Audio Technica AT4040 Purchase
Audio-Technica AT4040

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

  • High performance studio microphone with advanced functions
  • Remarkably sleek design with hard metal shell
  • More pronounced and clear sound recording using its large diaphragm
  • Good quality support
  • Well-worked proximity effect to meet all needs
  • resistant and professional materials
  • Handling noises reduced as best as possible, regardless of the characteristics of the acoustic environment
  • Integrated shock mount
  • 80 Hz high pass filter and 10 dB pad.

The lessers :

  • A little expensive price compared to microphones on the market
  • Requires the addition of an external power supply (phantom)
Audio-Technica AT4040 is a perfect professional microphone for home studio.
Picture from mmorpg.com

The technical characteristics of the Audio-Technica AT4040

  • Type: DC bias condenser microphone
  • Directivity: cardioid
  • Low frequency attenuation: 80 Hz – 12 dB
  • Impedance: 100 Ohms
  • Frequency response: 20 Hz – 20 kHz
  • Mic input sound level: 145 – 155 dB SPL
  • Output connector: Integrated 3-pin XLR
  • Phantom power required: 48 Volts
  • Weight: 360 grams
  • Color: deep black
Our Overall Opinion

Overall Sound Quality

4,0 /5
4/5

Value for money

4,8 /5
4.8/5

Global mark

4,5 /5
4.5/5

Our opinion on the Audio-Technica AT4040 microphone

The Audio-Technica AT 4040 condenser microphone is a perfect professional home studio microphone. It provides good quality neutral sounds in cardioid polar pattern and is suitable for any acoustic environment. It picks up high-pitched noises as well as a low-frequency sound wave. With a large diaphragm, it has nothing to envy of microphones from other brands such as Neumann, Rode NT and Yeti.

Audio-Technica AT4040 Demo

Special Offer at Audio-Technica 🔥

Audio-Technica AT4040

PRICE COMPARISON 👇

❤️ Discover other Condenser Microphone Tests:

Tous les Microphones aux Meilleurs Prix 🎙

Audio-Technica AT4040 Test & Avis

Dans la recherche d’un excellent microphone à condensateur pour home-studio, je suis bien tombé sur l’Audio-Technica AT4040. Véritable bijou aux yeux de nombreux podcasters, youtubeurs, chanteurs, débutants et amateurs et de la guitare acoustique, il propose une bonne prise de voix. Ce type de micro plait surtout pour sa grande polyvalence et ses capacités à capter différentes sources sonores et acoustiques. Mais qu’en est-il réellement ? Que vaut ce micro pour chanter et en tant que matériel de studio pour réaliser des enregistrements sonores ? Découvrez mon comparatif complet à son sujet.

Audio-Technica AT4040 Test Complet

🎤 de Kevin Jung

Sommaire du Test 👇

Aperçu du micro statique Audio-Technica AT4040

L’Audio-Technica AT4040 séduit pour ses fonctionnalités développées, un point commun avec les différentes gammes d’équipement de la série AT.

En effet, les microphones à condensateurs AT séduisent pour leur conception soignée et la qualité sonore qu’ils offrent. Comme micro pro, je ne peux que vous conseiller d’acheter un micro de la marque AT.

L’AT4040 : Microphone à condensateur d’Audio-Technica.
Image de guitarfella.com

L’Audio-Technica AT4040 a l’honneur de faire partie des micros à condensateurs d’Audio-Technica. En effet, conçu avec une membrane rigide, des éléments techniques de pointe et une directivité directionnelle cardioïde, il répond aux besoins d’un micro studio d’enregistrement de la voix.

Ainsi, la sonorisation qu’il procure est bien à la hauteur de toute attente. Il propose notamment une transformation des ondes sonores de haut niveau par le biais d’une alimentation externe phantom de 48 volts.

Micro à condensateur d’une grande polyvalence, l’Audio-Technica AT4040 s’adresse à un public large et figure dans la catégorie des microphones à condensateur de milieu de gamme de la marque.

Audio Technica AT4040 Achat
Audio-Technica AT4040

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Néanmoins, ce micro-cravate reste à la base un élément indispensable pour enregistrer la voix et pour assurer une bonne captation des signaux acoustiques pour des fins professionnelles.

Je le recommande particulièrement aux streamers, aux chanteurs et aux gamers à la recherche d’un microphone de studio original et authentique.

En fait, l’Audio-Technica AT4040 a l’honneur d’être le microphone omnidirectionnel le plus abordable de la série AT40. A priori, le constructeur japonais voulait surtout proposer un micro externe idéal pour capter les sons et facilement accessible.

Toutefois, comparé aux autres microphones dynamiques et micros statiques du marché, son prix reste assez cher. De mon côté, je trouve qu’il garde un bon rapport qualité-prix.

 Audio-Technica AT4040 : Un microphone omnidirectionnel
Image de picclick.co.uk

Construction du microphone à condensateur AT4040

Une des caractéristiques que j’aime particulièrement avec les micros de la série AT, ils présentent une conception solide et rigide. En fait, la description dynamique devant un micro est à peu près la même.

Je bénéficie d’un microphone USB avec peu de bruits de manipulation avec des capsules bien protégées. Aussi, le convertisseur, l’interrupteur, la connectique et les différents associés à son diaphragme restent bien en place.

l’Audio-Technica AT4040 rapproche des autres modèles micro perche
Image de static-thomann.de

Dans le cas de l’USB micro condensateur Audio-Technica AT4040, je profite bien d’une conception rapprochée des autres modèles de micro perche de la marque. En effet, devant les micros AT40, je constate surtout un corps fait de laiton nickelé noir soutenu par une grille métallique imposante en treillis.

Ce treillis acoustique améliore la courbe de réponse obtenue avec une double couche à son avant et une capsule à son arrière. Un micro d’ambiance hors pair, l’Audio-Technica AT4040 vous séduira probablement pour les mêmes raisons.

Audio Technica AT4040 Achat
Audio-Technica AT4040

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Le micro de la radio Audio-Technica AT4040 se constitue à plus de 60 % de cette cage métallique de micro directionnel. A priori, la taille de son boîtier à aimant réduit les réflexions internes liées à toute sorte de bruit de fond. Cet élément agit donc comme un atténuateur des sons acoustiques captés au moment de brancher votre casque audio.

Au final, l’ensemble donne l’impression d’un microphone stéréo original à ruban vocal optimisé capable de procurer un signal électrique de qualité. Probablement dans le cas où vous faites tomber votre Audio-Technica AT4040 accidentellement, le microphone sans fil restera intact.

La marque est bien fière de la sensibilité du micro réduite au mieux avec la conception antichoc de son micro dynamique.

Microphone sensible
Image de mon-micro.com

Zoom sur ses différents éléments constitutifs

Le microphone directionnel AT4040 affiche en avant le logo de la marque Audio-Technica, abrégé AT sur sa face avant. En fait, tous les microphones dynamiques, statiques et à condensateurs de la marque japonaise accueillent ce symbole. À son arrière se trouve une paire de transformateurs interrupteurs à glissière de conception en plastique.

A priori, l’interrupteur gauche active le filtre passe-haut des niveaux de pression de l’ordre de 80 Hz. Le second interrupteur sert de pré-atténuateur et de préampli de 10 dB.

Vous avez également droit à un filtre anti pop pour mieux capter et mixer des sons statiques plus équilibrés. Par la suite, amplifier la dynamique avec son interface audio reste à la base assez simple à réaliser pour obtenir une excellente qualité de bande passante.

Micro de l’AT4040 se condense par un connecteur de sortie XLR.
Image de bigcommerce.com

L’entrée micro de l’Audio-Technica AT4040 se condense par un connecteur de sortie XLR directement intégré à l’intérieur d’une tige qui se trouve à sa base. Le numéro de série du matériel d’enregistrement se trouve notamment dissimuler à son intérieur.

Apparemment, le micro-cravate sans fil paraît plus ou moins sensible aux bruits de fond au niveau de sortie. Pour corriger les éventuelles pressions acoustiques légèrement atténuées, l’interface audio accueille une suspension de choc incluse sans devoir payer des frais en plus.

Par ailleurs, que ce soit en hautes fréquences ou en basses fréquences, vous obtenez une bonne réponse en fréquence grâce à cet ajout.

Par ailleurs, vous pouvez aussi consulter notre guide de test complet et avis sur le micro pro Aston Origin. Vous pouvez découvrir sur ce guide la qualité sonore de ce micro, sa robustesse, la comparaison de l’Aston Origin avec le micro rode NT1 A, ses avantages, et les avis de ce micro à condensateur.

Audio Technica AT4040 Achat
Audio-Technica AT4040

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Un montage sur pied optimisé

Et en ce qui concerne le montage sur pied de micro, votre micro électrostatique à alimentation fantôme omnidirectionnelle reste un peu complexe à appréhender. En effet, il faudra ajuster une bande élastique à l’enregistreur de source sonore pour qu’il puisse bien capturer les vibrations sonores.

Cette bande SPL s’ajuste aisément à ses capsules et vous offre sur un plateau un matériel pour enregistrement en studio efficace.

Une fois le microphone amplificateur et haut-parleur installé, j’obtiens un indispensable studio d’enregistrement mobile. Par ailleurs, étant donné qu’il s’agit d’un micro-USB, je peux facilement l’utiliser dans n’importe quel contexte de voix-off.

Idéal pour l'enregistrement en studio efficace
Image de mmorpg.com

Audio-Technica AT4040, un microphone à grand diaphragme

De même que le micro à condensateur Neumann U87, l’AT4040 d’Audio-Technica s’apprécie également pour sa conception à grand diagramme et diaphragme comparé aux autres modèles de micro chant AT. Cette sorte de micro permet de mieux condenser différentes sources sonores afin d’obtenir une pression acoustique plus précise et un ampli stéréo plus intense.

A priori, les sons produits sont plus nets et plus clairs comparés à ceux captés avec la plupart des microphones du marché. En le comparant aux microphones Neumann, Yéti, Blue Yeti et Rode NT USB, je constate largement une grande différence entre les résultats obtenus.

En somme, j’obtiens une réponse en fréquence nettement améliorée en directivité cardioïde. Le niveau micro de l’Audio-Technica AT4040 permet ainsi d’entendre des sons de meilleure qualité avec le minimum de percussions.

Audio Technica AT4040 Achat
Audio-Technica AT4040

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

La prise de son se rapproche davantage de celle obtenue à l’aide des équipements de studio hors de prix. Et pourtant, ce microphone d’Audio-Technica s’acquiert à un excellent rapport qualité-prix.

Aussi, devant les micros AT, l’effet de proximité qu’il procure reste excellent. Cette caractéristique le permet de fournir une qualité de voix et de mixage hors pair. En pratique, en écoutant vos enregistrements à l’aide d’un casque audio, vous entendez clairement des sons de meilleure qualité résonner à vos oreilles.

Concernant le rapport signal/bruit du microphone cardio analogique, son SLM s’estime à 12 dB. Ceci permet apparemment de décaler les bruits de manipulation des sons capturés en stéréo. De plus, sa directivité cardioïde ne fait qu’une fois de plus renforcer ses capacités à réduire les interférences sonores basses et aiguës.

Et pour alimenter la dynamique, je n’ai qu’à le connecter à un câble USB. En tout point, je vous conseille de le connecter à une source d’alimentation phantom afin d’obtenir de meilleures rendues moins fragiles à l’écoute.

L’AT4040 d’Audio-Technica : Microphone cardio analogique
Image de mmorpg.com

Les accessoires offerts avec le microphone AT4040

Le micro à la main Audio-Technica AT4040 m’est offert avec plusieurs accessoires en plus. Je profite notamment d’un ensemble avec araignée qui me sert de support pour trépied, d’un étui et d’une cache anti-poussière.

L’étui en plastique de l’AT4040 est conçu avec un rembourrage en mousse et qui se rattache facilement à son araignée et filtre anti-pop. J’apprécie particulièrement la présence d’une housse en tissu noir servant à protéger l’équipement des poussières.

Audio Technica AT4040 Achat
Audio-Technica AT4040

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Ainsi, je peux facilement le suspendre comme n’importe quel microphone dynamique dans mon home-studio, sans qu’aucune poussière ne vienne se coller sur ses parois.

Zoom sur l’araignée, elle a pour rôle de maintenir l’AT4040 bien en place à l’aide d’un élastique en caoutchouc. Je déplore toutefois l’absence d’un verrou supplémentaire pour renforcer sa sécurité en position inversée de vos instruments acoustiques.

Note : Découvrez aussi notre test complet et avis sur le micro Sennheiser MK4. Cet article vous propose tous les avantages de ce micro et ses caractéristiques. Si vous êtes un artiste, c’est le meilleur micro pour vous.

Audio-Technica AT4040 : avantages et inconvénients

Les plus :

Audio Technica AT4040 Achat
Audio-Technica AT4040

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

  • Micro studio très performant et aux fonctions poussées
  • Design remarquablement soigné à coque métallique rigide
  • Prises de son plus prononcées et claires à l’aide de son grand diaphragme
  • Support de bonne qualité
  • Effet de proximité bien travaillé afin de répondre à tous les besoins
  • Matériaux solides, résistants et professionnels
  • Bruits de manipulation réduits au mieux, peu importe les caractéristiques de l’environnement acoustique
  • Support antichoc intégré
  • Filtre passe-haut de 80 Hz et pad de 10 dB.

Les moins :

  • Prix un peu cher par rapport aux microphones sur le marché
  • Requiers l’ajout d’une alimentation externe (phantom)
Audio-Technica AT4040 est un parfait micro pro pour home-studio.
Image de mmorpg.com

Les caractéristiques techniques de l’Audio-Technica AT4040

  • Type : microphone à condensateur à polarisation CC
  • Directivité : cardioïde
  • Atténuation de basses fréquences : 80 Hz – 12 dB
  • Impédance : 100 Ohms
  • Réponse en fréquence : 20 Hz – 20 kHz
  • Niveau sonore de l’entrée micro : 145 – 155 dB SPL
  • Connecteur de sortie : XLR à 3 broches intègres
  • Alimentation fantôme exigée : 48 Volts
  • Poids : 360 grammes
  • Couleur : noir profond
Notre Avis Global

Qualité Sonore Globale

4,0 /5
4/5

Rapport Qualité / Prix

4,8 /5
4.8/5

Note Globale

4,5 /5
4.5/5

Notre avis sur le microphone Audio-Technica AT4040

Le microphone à condensateur Audio-Technica AT 4040 est un parfait micro pro pour home-studio. Il fournit des sons neutres de bonne qualité en directivité cardioïde et convient à n’importe quel environnement acoustique. Il capte tout aussi bien les bruits aigus qu’une onde sonore à basse fréquence. À large membrane, il n’a rien à envier aux microphones des autres marques telles que Neumann, Rode NT et Yéti.

Démo de l’Audio-Technica AT4040

Offre Spéciale chez Audio-Technica 🔥

Audio Technica AT4040 Achat
Audio-Technica AT4040

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

❤️ Découvrez d'autres Tests de Microphone à Condensateur :