All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

Blue Microphones Snowball

Test & Review

Are you a podcaster, streamer, or gamer looking for the best microphone for your activity? Opt for the Blue Microphone Snowball USB microphone. It is a condenser microphone with cardioid polar pattern. Discover in this guide the complete test of this USB microphone model, as well as our opinion and some sound samples captured by the microphone.

Blue Microphones Snowball Review

🎤 by Kevin Jung

Summary of the Test 👇

Do you want to get a microphone for videoconferencing , creating podcasts , recording voices or musical instruments ? Why not opt ​​for the Blue Microphones Snowball? A and very easy to use microphone . And that's not all ! Find out everything you should know before buying the Snowball microphone: its design, its features, its technical performance, its sound quality... And finally, our opinion.

Blue Microphones Snowball USB
Picture from Bluemic.com

Blue Microphones Snowball Overview

The Blue Microphones Snowball is a condenser microphone . It is a fully “ Plug and Play ” USB model like the Blue Yeti USB microphone. To use a microphone of this type, there is nothing rocket science.

You will not need to install any third-party drivers or software. To make it work, simply plug the cable that comes in the box into an available USB port on your PC or MAC.

Blue Microphones Snowball review
Blue Microphones Snowball

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

In terms of design, the Blue Snowball has nothing to envy of ordinary condenser microphones. Indeed, as its name suggests, this microphone is shaped like a snowball. Its vintage look takes us back to the 60s.

The microphone is attached to a height-adjustable table tripod. This metal device allows you to position it according to your preferences. Note also that the three-legged support is equipped with non-slip rubbers to stabilize the microphone. You will thus be able to make your recordings in the best conditions.

Just like other models from the Blue Microphones brand, the Snowball benefits from a beautiful finish. The front is decorated with a metal logo (“Blue”) above which a red LED light is placed. The latter allows you to check whether the microphone is plugged in or not.

But its major asset is on its back side. There is a USB port, but not only that. There is also a button allowing you to change the sensitivity of the microphone according to your needs. This is a device that makes the microphone practical for multiple uses.

Blue Microphones Snowball for streamers and gamers
Picture from bax-shop.fr

Also discover : Test and review of the Sontronics STC-20 Pack microphone . This guide gives you the complete overview of this condenser microphone, along with its sound quality and technical specifications.

The Blue Microphones Snowball and its 3 directivity settings

In addition to its unique design, the Blue Snowball also stands out for its versatility. Unlike a classic condenser microphone which offers only one directivity, this model offers three.

You can in fact switch at any time between 3 operating modes:

  • 1st Position : cardioid directivity
  • 2nd Position : cardioid directivity with an attenuator less than 10 dB
  • 3rd Position: omnidirectional directivity .
Blue Microphones Snowball review
Blue Microphones Snowball

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Focus on these 3 options

Cardioid mode only captures sounds in front of the microphone. This first option is therefore the most interesting for studio recording.

As for the second option, it is a variation of the cardioid . But this time, the capsule is equipped with an attenuator less than 10 dB. This helps reduce loud sounds .

And the third option lets you switch to omnidirectional mode . The latter makes the Blue Snowball sensitive to sounds within a 360 °C . This is ideal for a conference call or for singing or talking with others.

Blue Microphones Snowball review
Picture from Amazon.fr

Blue Microphones Snowball: a model designed for multiple applications

Gamer, streamer, podcast columnist, YouTuber, musician or singer, you will certainly find what you are looking for by opting for this 3 in 1 model (also discover our guide on the best gaming, streaming and podcasting microphone).

Indeed, this model is designed to record voice (singing, podcast, voice-over) thanks to its unidirectional cardioid mode . It can also be adapted to recordings of powerful sound sources (guitars, drums, loud vocals, etc.). To do this, simply select the cardioid mode attenuated by less than 10 dB.

You can also use this microphone for group rehearsals by choosing omnidirectional mode. The latter gives you the possibility of capturing sounds all around the microphone . This is a big advantage that you cannot have with the Snowball iCE . Indeed, this other version of Snowball only has a cardioid capsule.

In short, if you are looking for a versatile microphone that is suitable for multiple uses , I highly recommend the Blue Microphones Snowball.

Blue Microphones Snowball review
Blue Microphones Snowball

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Apogee Mic Plus microphone review guide . This is a cardioid condenser USB microphone. Discover the complete details in this guide, as well as our opinion on this studio microphone.

Focus on the sound quality of the Blue Microphones Snowball

There is no doubt that sound quality is a criterion of capital importance when choosing a microphone. It is clear that we always want the best possible quality, whether for gaming, podcasting or even recording. So what about the Blue Snowball?

Well, you should know that like all Blue microphone models, including the Blue Bluebird SL, Blue Yeti and Blue Spark SL, the quality is matched with the Snowball. Whether outdoors or in a home studio, it provides excellent sound quality .

The frequency response, that is to say the frequency interval that it is capable of capturing, is between 40 Hz and 18,000 Hz .

Blue Microphones Snowball gamer
Picture from Studio-microphone.com

Obviously, it won't produce the same sound as a professional studio microphone costing 20 times more. But he's getting close. The sound is clear , natural with little background noise . It picks up bass well and performs reasonably even without a pop filter. What's more, you don't necessarily need to stand too close to the mic to get good sound quality.

In short, as you will have understood, there is not much to complain about with the Snowball in terms of sound quality.

What is the Blue Microphones Snowball best suited for? Definitely, for podcasts and streaming. It is in these contexts that this USB microphone performs best.

Blue Microphones Snowball review
Blue Microphones Snowball

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

The technical characteristics of the Blue Microphones Snowball

  • Type: Condenser microphone with digital USB output
  • Polar patterns: cardioid, -10 dB attenuated cardioid, omnidirectional
  • Frequency response: 40 Hz – 18 kHz
  • Sampling frequency/resolution: 44.1 kHz/16 bit
  • Power supply type: 48 V
  • Dimensions: 325 mm (circumference)
  • Weight: 460g
Blue Microphones Snowball USB gaming
Picture from Bluemic.com
Blue Microphones Snowball review
Our Overall Opinion

Overall Sound Quality

4,5 /5
4.5/5

Value for money

4,9 /5
4.9/5

Global mark

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Our opinion on the Blue Microphones Snowball microphone

Versatile, practical and affordable. These 3 words seem most appropriate to me to describe the Blue Microphones Snowball. Of course, this model is far from perfect. But it is rare to find an inexpensive microphone on the market with all these qualities.

In addition to being easy to install and use, I particularly like this microphone because of its retro design. Its tripod is quite sturdy and adjustable, which is not the case with the Snowball iCE. Added to this is the small LED which lights up when the microphone is connected to a computer.

As for the sound quality, again, I am won over by the rendering of this microphone. And what about its 3 directivity settings? This is a feature that I find very practical and above all economical.

In fact, by equipping yourself with the Blue Snowball, you no longer have to buy an omnidirectional microphone to record the atmosphere in a room. You can easily change the sensitivity of the microphone using a simple button.

Note, however, that the sound quality is significantly better in cardioid mode compared to omnidirectional mode. This model would therefore be ideal for solo recording.

And to top it all off, the Blue Microphones Snowball offers great value for money. I can only recommend it.

Blue Microphones Snowball review
Blue Microphones Snowball

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Blue Microphones Snowball Demo

Special offer at Blue Microphones 🔥

Blue Microphones Snowball

PRICE COMPARISON 👇

❤️ Discover other Condenser Microphone Tests:

French

Tous les Microphones aux Meilleurs Prix 🎙

Blue Microphones Snowball Test & Avis

Êtes-vous podcaster, streamer, ou gamer qui cherche le meilleur micro pour votre activité ? Optez pour le microphone USB Blue Microphone Snowball. C’est un microphone électrostatique à condensateur à directivité cardioïde. Découvrez sur ce guide le test complet de ce modèle de microphone USB, ainsi que notre avis et quelques échantillons sonores capturer par le micro.

Blue Microphones Snowball Test

🎤 de Kevin Jung

Sommaire du Test 👇

Vous souhaitez vous procurer un microphone pour faire de la visioconférence, créer des podcasts, enregistrer des voix ou des instruments de musique ? Pourquoi ne pas opter pour le Blue Microphones Snowball ? Un micro polyvalent et très facile à utiliser. Et ce n’est pas tout ! Découvrez tout ce que vous devriez savoir avant d’acheter le microphone Snowball : son design, ses fonctionnalités, ses performances techniques, sa qualité sonore… Et enfin, notre avis.

Blue Microphones Snowball USB
Image de Bluemic.com

Aperçu du Blue Microphones Snowball

Le Blue Microphones Snowball est un microphone électrostatique à condensateur. Il s’agit d’un modèle USB entièrement « Plug and Play » à l’instar du micro USB Blue Yeti. Pour utiliser un micro de ce type, il n’y a rien de sorcier.

Vous n’aurez pas besoin d’installer un pilote ou un logiciel tiers. Pour le faire fonctionner, il vous suffit de brancher le câble livré dans la boîte à un port USB disponible sur votre PC ou MAC.

Blue Microphones Snowball test
Blue Microphones Snowball

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Côté design, le Snowball de Blue n’a rien à envier aux microphones à condensateur lambdas. En effet, comme son nom l’indique, ce micro a la forme d’une boule de neige. Son look vintage nous ramène dans les années 60.

Le micro est fixé à un trépied de table réglable en hauteur. Ce dispositif en métal vous permet de le positionner selon vos préférences. Notez par ailleurs que le support à trois pieds est muni de caoutchoucs antidérapants pour stabiliser le microphone. Vous pourrez ainsi réaliser vos enregistrements dans les meilleures conditions.

Tout comme les autres modèles de la marque Blue Microphones, le Snowball bénéficie d’une belle finition. La face avant est ornée d’un logo en métal (« Blue ») au-dessus duquel est placée une lumière LED rouge. Cette dernière vous permet de vérifier si le micro est branché ou non.

Mais son atout majeur se trouve sur sa face arrière. Il y a un port USB, mais pas que. On y retrouve également un bouton vous permettant de modifier la sensibilité du micro selon vos besoins. Il s’agit d’un dispositif qui rend le micro pratique pour de multiples usages.

Blue Microphones Snowball pour streamer et gamer
Image de bax-shop.fr

Découvrez aussi : Test et avis du microphone Sontronics STC-20 Pack. Ce guide vous présente l’aperçu complet de ce microphone à condensateur, ainsi que sa qualité sonore et ses caractéristiques techniques.

Le Blue Microphones Snowball et ses 3 réglages de directivité

Outre son design unique, le Blue Snowball se démarque également par sa polyvalence. À la différence d’un microphone à condensateur classique qui propose une seule directivité, ce modèle en propose trois.

Vous pouvez en effet basculer à tout moment entre 3 modes de fonctionnement :

  • 1re Position : directivité cardioïde
  • 2e Position : directivité cardioïde avec un atténuateur moins de 10 dB
  • 3e Position : directivité omnidirectionnelle.
Blue Microphones Snowball test
Blue Microphones Snowball

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Focus sur ces 3 options

Le mode cardioïde permet de capter uniquement les sons se situant devant le microphone. Cette première option se montre donc la plus intéressante pour un enregistrement en studio.

Quant à la deuxième option, il s’agit d’une variante de la cardioïde. Mais cette fois-ci, la capsule est équipée d’un atténuateur moins de 10 dB. Celui-ci permet de réduire les sons trop bruyants.

Et la troisième option vous permet de basculer vers le mode omnidirectionnel. Ce dernier rend le Blue Snowball sensible aux sons se situant dans une sphère de 360 °C. C’est l’idéal pour une conférence téléphonique ou encore pour chanter ou parler à plusieurs.

Test du Blue Microphones Snowball
Image de Amazon.fr

Blue Microphones Snowball : un modèle conçu pour de multiples applications

Gamer, streamer, chroniqueur de podcast, youtubeur, musicien ou chanteur, vous trouverez certainement votre bonheur en optant pour ce modèle 3 en 1 (découvrez aussi notre guide sur le meilleur micro gaming, streaming et podcasting).

En effet, ce modèle est conçu pour enregistrer la voix (chant, podcast, voix off) grâce à son mode cardioïde unidirectionnel. Il peut également s’adapter aux enregistrements de sources sonores puissantes (guitares, batteries, voix fortes, etc.). Pour ce faire, il vous suffit de sélectionner le mode cardioïde atténué de moins de 10 dB.

Vous pouvez également utiliser ce micro pour les répétitions de groupe en choisissant le mode omnidirectionnel. Ce dernier vous donne la possibilité de capter les sons tout autour du micro. Il s’agit d’un gros avantage que l’on ne peut pas avoir avec le Snowball iCE. En effet, cette autre version de Snowball ne dispose que d’une capsule cardioïde.

Bref, si vous êtes à la recherche d’un microphone polyvalent qui convient à de multiples usages, je vous recommande vivement le Blue Microphones Snowball.

Blue Microphones Snowball test
Blue Microphones Snowball

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

En passant, vous pouvez aussi consulter notre guide de test complet sur le microphone Apogee Mic Plus. C’est un micro USB à condensateur cardioïde. Découvrez sur ce guide le détail complet, ainsi que notre avis sur ce microphone studio.

Zoom sur la qualité sonore du Blue Microphones Snowball

Nul doute que la qualité sonore est un critère d’une importance capitale lors du choix d’un microphone. Il est clair que l’on veut toujours la meilleure qualité possible que ce soit pour le gaming, le podcast ou encore l’enregistrement. Qu’en est-il alors du Blue Snowball ?

Eh bien, sachez qu’à l’instar de tous les modèles de microphones chez Blue en ne citant que le Blue Bluebird SL, Blue Yeti et Blue Spark SL, la qualité est rendez-vous avec le Snowball. Que ce soit en extérieur ou en home studio, celui-ci procure un son d’une excellente qualité.

La réponse en fréquence c’est-à-dire l’intervalle de fréquence qu’il est capable de capter se situe entre 40 Hz et 18 000 Hz.

Blue Microphones Snowball gamer
Image de Studio-microphone.com

Bien évidemment, il ne produira pas le même son qu’un micro de studio professionnel coûtant 20 fois plus cher. Mais il s’en rapproche. Le son est clair, naturel avec peu de bruit de fond. Il capte bien les basses et fonctionne raisonnablement même sans filtre anti-pop. Qui plus est, vous n’avez pas nécessairement besoin de vous tenir trop près du micro pour avoir une bonne qualité de son.

Bref, vous l’aurez compris, il n’y a pas grand-chose à reprocher au Snowball en ce qui concerne la qualité sonore.

Pour quel usage le Blue Microphones Snowball convient-il le mieux ? Sans aucun doute, pour les podcasts et les streamings. C’est dans ces contextes que ce micro USB se montre le plus performant.

Blue Microphones Snowball test
Blue Microphones Snowball

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Les caractéristiques techniques du Blue Microphones Snowball

  • Type : microphone à condensateur avec sortie USB numérique
  • Directivités : cardioïde, cardioïde atténuée de -10 dB, omnidirectionnelle
  • Réponse en fréquence : 40 Hz – 18 kHz
  • Fréquence/résolution d’échantillonnage : 44.1 kHz/16 bits
  • Type d’alimentation : alimentation phantom 48 V
  • Dimensions : 325 mm (circonférence)
  • Poids : 460 g
Blue Microphones Snowball USB gamers
Image de Bluemic.com
Blue Microphones Snowball test
Notre Avis Global

Qualité Sonore Globale

4,5 /5
4.5/5

Rapport Qualité / Prix

4,9 /5
4.9/5

Note Globale

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Notre avis sur le microphone Blue Microphones Snowball

Polyvalent, pratique et abordable. Ces 3 mots me semblent les plus appropriés pour décrire le Blue Microphones Snowball. Bien sûr, ce modèle est loin d’être parfait. Mais il est rare de trouver sur le marché un microphone pas cher disposant toutes ces qualités.

En plus d’être facile à installer et à utiliser, ce microphone me plaît particulièrement de par son design rétro. Son trépied est assez robuste et ajustable, ce qui n’est pas le cas du Snowball iCE. À cela s’ajoute la petite LED qui s’allume lorsque le micro est connecté à un ordinateur.

Pour ce qui est de la qualité sonore, là encore, je suis conquis par le rendu de ce micro. Et que dire de ses 3 réglages de directivité ? C’est une fonctionnalité que je trouve très pratique et surtout économique.

En effet, en vous équipant du Snowball de Blue, vous n’êtes plus obligé d’acheter un microphone omnidirectionnel pour enregistrer l’ambiance dans une pièce. On peut modifier facilement la sensibilité du micro via un simple bouton.

Notez toutefois que la qualité du son est nettement supérieure en mode cardioïde par rapport au mode omnidirectionnel. Ce modèle serait donc idéal pour un enregistrement en solo.

Et pour couronner le tout, le Blue Microphones Snowball offre un rapport qualité-prix très intéressant. Je ne peux que le recommander.

Blue Microphones Snowball test
Blue Microphones Snowball

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Démo du Blue Microphones Snowball

Offre spéciale chez Blue Microphones 🔥

Blue Microphones Snowball test
Blue Microphones Snowball

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

❤️ Découvrez d'autres Tests de Microphone à Condensateur :