All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

Neumann TLM 103

Test & Review

The Neumann TLM 103 succeeded the U87 in 1997. And since then, this cardioid condenser microphone has become one of the German brand's greatest successes. Many reviews claim that this little gem of technology offers exceptional sound. But I decided to test it to fully assess its effectiveness for all users.

Neumann Tlm 103 Complete Test

🎤 by Kevin Jung

Summary of the Test 👇

The TLM 103, a classic from the Neumann brand

Very popular in studios and recommended for the home studio, the Neumann TLM 103 is a transformerless cardioid condenser microphone. It was released 20 years after its predecessor Neumann U87 Ai (a condenser microphone most used and recommended by professionals since its conception.

Having become a successful classic model of the Neumann brand, it presents itself as a versatile microphone suitable for singers, as well as musicians in studio recording situations, as well as during live performances. Moreover, its use by the musician Jack White, during his live show for the sound reinforcement of the amps, the microphone reinforced its notoriety.

Neumann TLM 103 microphone
Picture from audiosource.ch

It is in some ways an update of the legendary U87, still considered today as the brand's best-known and most used condenser microphone. Its K103 large diaphragm capsule is based on the K67/K87 found in the U67 and U87 microphones. But, so to speak, the Neumann TLM 103 is an improved version of its predecessor.

Neumann TLM 103 Purchase
NEUMANN TLM 103

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

While the U87 features a large dual-diaphragm capsule with three directional patterns: omnidirectional, cardioid, and figure-8, the Neumann TLM 103 is a primarily cardioid condenser microphone with transformerless circuitry . Therefore, compared to dynamic studio microphones, it offers a more direct sound and excellent quality definition.

Neumann TLM 103 Design
Picture from Amazon.fr

A careful design

At a glance, the build quality of the Neumann TLM 103 displays all the design desired in a high-end microphone designed to capture sounds. The device, made entirely of metal, appears meticulously put together.

The head, conical in shape, has a metal mesh grille that is visibly a little thin, but thick enough to effectively protect the capsule from shocks and explosive sounds while preserving ambient noise.

Neumann TLM 103 Purchase
NEUMANN TLM 103

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

And then, this also gives it a reasonable weight of around 450 grams. In addition, its black or metallic dress guarantees unparalleled refinement, with only the Neumann brand in red on the body.

Neumann TLM 103 Frequency Mono Set
Picture from thestyleinspiration.com

The frequency response of the Neumann TLM 103

On the technical side, the Neumann TLM 103 microphone has a bandwidth ranging from 20 Hz to 20 kHz. Indeed, following the response curve, the microphone responds to low frequencies at around 65 or 75 Hz. Then it remains flat over around 3.5 kHz, before climbing by 4dB at around 6 kHz to 15 kHz, up to to reach 6dB at 20 kHz.

Neumann TLM 103 Purchase
NEUMANN TLM 103

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

In other words, it provides a much more modern sound, with wider presence amplification for frequencies above 5 kHz. The sound is more direct, but very refined. It is perfectly suited for vocals or instruments used solo.

The Neumann TLM 103 also has an excellent midrange, characteristic of Neumann brand products, as well as a deep and controlled bass for recording vocals and bass instruments with great sound power.

Neumann Tlm 103 recording
Picture from pourlesmusiciens.com

By the way, also discover our complete test of the Rode Podcaster USB microphone . It is a dynamic front pickup USB microphone. This microphone is for you if you are looking for an easy-to-use, durable, and versatile microphone with great sound.

Cardioid polar pattern for excellent sound quality

The Neumann TLM 103 additionally incorporates a cardioid polar pattern, although slightly omnidirectional, with a fairly wide frequency response of 2 kHz to 4 kHz . But it remains much more sensitive with a sound source coming from the front. Sound sources coming from other directions are rendered naturally. And most of the sound to be recorded is well isolated, without having to adjust the microphone volume.

Although it picks up a large amount of ambient noise, it suppresses feedback significantly and sound waves coming from the rear are well attenuated. Especially, when used in live situations or with playback through a speaker.

Neumann TLM 103 Purchase
NEUMANN TLM 103

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Note that this quality sound is obtained without having to correct the effects of resonance with the mixer. In fact, the Neumann TLM 103 is able to maintain a good impulse response. This, by reproducing every detail of the sound of the music or songs with a minimum of modifications depending on the recording technique.

Also, the self-noise level is very low, and the Neumann TLM 103 reproduces even the least inaudible sounds without ambient noise. The dynamic range is 131 dB (A-weighted). The microphone can withstand sound pressure of up to 138 dB without distortion.

Neumann TLM 103: A reference in microphone
Picture from neumannthailand.com

Neumann's TLM technology, a benchmark in microphones:

The Neumann TLM 103 has defined a new generation of high-end products from the Neumann brand. Indeed, it integrates a technology never used before: a transformerless output circuit . As a result, a simple electrical circuit replaces the usual output transformer

But this, while guaranteeing common mode rejection as well as less interference likely to harm the recording. And since the emergence of this TLM technology, it has set the standard by which microphones used in contemporary studios are considered to be of excellent quality.

Neumann TLM 103 Purchase
NEUMANN TLM 103

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Who is the Neumann TLM 103 intended for?

Given its careful manufacturing and the quality of the sound provided, the Neumann TLM 103 is very popular in studios around the world. It actually delivers unparalleled performance, while remaining a more modern alternative to the U87 studio microphones in your recording equipment.

And as a result, the Neumann TLM 103 turns out to be very versatile. Among other things, you can use it for recording lyrics or songs, music obtained with drums, or as an amplifier for instruments such as acoustic guitars, cymbals or even the piano.

Neumman TLM 103 home studio
Picture from fartlama.com

It is also found as a microphone for classical recordings with stringed instruments such as guitar, cello or double bass. It is in all a universal sensor, perfect for picking up vocals , singing or instruments, and even for use in broadcasting or dubbing.

Although it is very popular in the studio for various recordings, it is also suitable for home studios, particularly due to its cardioid directivity. Sounds coming from the front are captured the most, making it simpler to use and easier to isolate from other sound sources.

Neumann TLM 103 Purchase
NEUMANN TLM 103

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

As the high sensitivity of the microphone allows it to pick up a lot of ambient noise, you will need to arrange the room in such a way as to promote attenuation of ambient noise.

Otherwise, recording or vocal recording may be seriously disrupted by handling noise, vibrations, background noise, interference, etc. take into account the sensitivity of the microphone to pick up sounds.

TLM 103
Picture from en-de.neumann.com

Summary of technical characteristics

  • Sensor: pressure gradient sensor
  • Polar pattern: Cardioid
  • Output circuit: without transformer
  • Bandwidth: 20 Hz – 20 kHz
  • Nominal impedance: 50 ohms
  • Nominal load impedance: 1000 ohms
  • Sensitivity: ~ -33dB, 21 mV/Pa
  • Maximum sound pressure: 138 dB for DHT < 0.5%
  • Signal-to-noise ratio: 87 dB (A-weighted), 76.5 dB (CCIR)
  • Maximum output voltage: 13 dBu
  • Minimum own noise: 7dBA
  • Maximum self-noise: 17.5 dB (CCIR)
  • Current consumption (P48, IEC 61938): 3 mA
  • Connector: XLR-3 F
  • Supply voltage: 48 V +/- 4 V
  • Dimensions: 132 x 60 mm
  • Weight: 450g
  • Color: Black or metallic
Neumann TLM 103 Packaging
Picture from Audiofanzine.fr

List of accessories supplied:

  • A wooden storage box
  • Microphone holder
  • 5/8” to 3/8” foot adapter
  • Instructions for use

What is the Neumann TLM 103 worth?

You will have to remember that its main advantages lie in its different characteristics. In particular, its wide dynamic range of 131 dB, and its optimal noise of only 7dBA. Not to mention its fairly smooth frequency response. And finally, its ability to withstand sound pressure of up to 138 dB without distortion.

Neumann TLM 103 Purchase
NEUMANN TLM 103

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

This best studio microphone also stands out for its versatility. In home studio, it is a perfect choice given its cardioid polar pattern. It is in any case a silent model, offering a very pure and refined sound. This is despite the fact that it picks up a lot of ambient noise. It also offers an advantageous proximity effect, even for beginners wishing to record voice or music. And the absence of a transformer is perfect for limiting interference.

Neumann TLM 103: Professional microphone
Picture from en-de.neumann.com

My verdict

Neumann TLM 103 cardioid condenser studio microphone I particularly remember the pure sound of incredible refinement. The minimum self-noise of only 7dBA and the wide dynamic range of 131 dB. And of course, the great versatility which allows it to rank at the top of the range.

It can be used for recording studio projects as well as in a home studio. Particularly for classic recordings and qualitative sound amplification. While it offers a very soft tone, you also have an excellent proximity effect.

Neumann TLM 103 large diaphragm
Picture from Audiofanzine.com

A detail that you can use to your advantage to strengthen your voice. And compensate for other disadvantageous technical details such as ambient noise. It is durable and can be used for live situations. As a microphone for a guitar amp for example.

Its main drawback is its ability to pick up a lot of ambient noise. For use in a home studio, be sure to work in an acoustically treated room accordingly.

Neumann TLM 103 Purchase
NEUMANN TLM 103

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

The Neumann TLM 103 microphone has everything it takes to impress professionals and amateurs alike. The sound reproduction is very correct. The sound emitted is very pure and faithful. This may also be the sound you are looking for in such a high-quality and expensive microphone. Sounds that are neither shrill, nor too high, nor too fat, but rather soft and pleasant to listen to.

I also appreciate its robustness. It can support live events. It's amazing. Not to mention its very high maximum acoustic sound pressure to save you from distortion.

Neumann TLM 103 Excellent quality
Picture from backstage.com

In summary, if you are an artist or musician , you will recognize it as a concentrate of technology. It can really highlight and record your voice or musical instrument. Whether it's a microphone for singing, a voice recorder, an amplifier for musical instruments, in the end, only the price can make you reluctant.

But given its audio quality, the Neumann TLM 103 is a professional microphone with excellent value for money. Perfect to complete your recording equipment!

Neumann TLM 103 Purchase
Our Overall Opinion

Overall Sound Quality

4.8 /5
4.8/5

Value for money

4,6 /5
4.6/5

Global mark

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Our opinion on the Neumann TLM 103:

The Neumann TLM 103 microphone has everything it takes to impress professionals and amateurs alike. The sound emitted is very pure and very professional, especially given the price of the microphone.

Neumann TLM 103 demo

Special offer at Neumann 🔥

Neumann TLM 103

PRICE COMPARISON 👇

❤️ Discover other Condenser Microphone Tests:

French

Neumann TLM 103 Test & Avis

Le Neumann TLM 103 a succédé à l’U87 en 1997. Et depuis, ce microphone à condensateur cardioïde est devenu un des plus grands succès de la marque allemande. De nombreux avis affirment que ce petit bijou de technologie offre un son exceptionnel. Mais j’ai décidé de le tester pour évaluer pleinement son efficacité pour tous les utilisateurs.

Neumann Tlm 103 Test Complet

🎤 de Kevin Jung

Sommaire du Test 👇

Le TLM 103, un classique de la marque Neumann

Très prisé dans les studios et recommandés pour le home studio, le Neumann TLM 103 est un microphone à condensateur cardioïde sans transformateur. Il a vu le jour 20 ans après son prédécesseur Neumann U87 Ai (un microphone à condensateur le plus utilisé et recommandé par les professionnels depuis sa conception.

Devenu un modèle classique à succès de la marque Neumann, il se présente comme un microphone polyvalent adapté aux chanteurs, comme aux musiciens dans des situations d’enregistrement en studio, comme lors de scène en live. D’ailleurs, son utilisation par le musicien Jack White, lors de son spectacle en live pour la sonorisation des amplis, le micro a renforcé sa notoriété.

Neumann TLM 103 microphone
Image de audiosource.ch

Il s’agit en quelque sorte d’une mise à jour du mythique U87, considéré encore aujourd’hui comme le micro à condensateur le plus connu et le plus utilisé de l’enseigne. Sa capsule à grand diaphragme K103 est basée sur la capsule K67 / K87 retrouvée dans les microphones U67 et U87. Mais, pour ainsi dire, le Neumann TLM 103 est une version améliorée de son prédécesseur.

Neumann TLM 103 Achat
NEUMANN TLM 103

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Si l’U87 est équipé d’une grande capsule à double diaphragme avec trois motifs directionnels : un microphone omnidirectionnel, cardioïde et figure-8, le Neumann TLM 103 est un microphone à condensateur principalement cardioïde doté d’un circuit sans transformateur. Dès lors, par rapport aux microphones dynamiques pour studio, il offre un son plus direct et une définition d’excellente qualité.

Neumann TLM 103 Design
Image de Amazon.fr

Un design soigné

D’un simple coup d’œil, la qualité de fabrication du Neumann TLM 103 affiche tout le design recherché chez un microphone haut de gamme conçu pour capturer les sons. L’appareil, fabriqué entièrement en métal, semble méticuleusement assemblé.

La tête, de forme conique, est dotée d’une calandre en treillis métallique visiblement un peu fine, mais assez épaisse pour protéger efficacement la capsule des chocs et des sons explosifs tout en préservant des bruits ambiants.

Neumann TLM 103 Achat
NEUMANN TLM 103

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Et puis, cela lui confère aussi un poids raisonnable d’environ 450 grammes. En outre, sa robe noire ou métallique garantit un raffinement sans pareil, avec sur le corps, uniquement le logo de la marque Neumann en rouge.

Neumann TLM 103 Frequence Mono Set
Image de thestyleinspiration.com

La réponse en fréquence du Neumann TLM 103

Côté technique, le microphone Neumann TLM 103 dispose d’une bande passante allant de 20 Hz à 20 kHz. En effet, suivant la courbe de réponse, le microphone répond à des basses fréquences à environ 65 ou 75 Hz. Puis il reste plat sur environ 3,5 kHz, avant de grimper de 4dB à environ de 6 kHz à 15 kHz, jusqu’à atteindre 6dB à 20 kHz.

Neumann TLM 103 Achat
NEUMANN TLM 103

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

En d’autres termes, il fournit un son beaucoup plus moderne, avec une amplification de présence plus large pour les fréquences excédant les 5 kHz. Le son est plus direct, mais très raffiné. Il est parfaitement adapté pour les voix ou encore les instruments utilisés en solo.

Le Neumann TLM 103 dispose aussi d’un excellent médium, caractéristique des produits de la marque Neumann, ainsi qu’un grave aussi profond que contrôlé pour un enregistrement des voix et des instruments de basse dotés d’une grande puissance sonore.

Neumann Tlm 103 enregistrement
Image de pourlesmusiciens.com

En passant, découvrez aussi notre test complet du microphone Rode Podcaster USB. C’est un microphone USB dynamique à captation frontale. Ce micro est fait pour vous si vous êtes à la recherche d’un microphone facile à utiliser, résistant, et polyvalent avec un son émérite.

Une directivité cardioïde pour une excellente qualité sonore

Le Neumann TLM 103 intègre en outre une directivité cardioïde, bien que légèrement omnidirectionnelle, avec une réponse en fréquence assez large de 2 kHz à 4 kHz. Mais il reste beaucoup plus sensible avec une source sonore provenant de l’avant. Les sources sonores provenant des autres directions sont rendues naturellement. Et l’essentiel du son à enregistrer est bien isolé, sans devoir ajuster le volume du microphone.

Bien qu’il capte une grande quantité de bruit ambiant, il supprime considérablement le larsen et les ondes sonores venant de l’arrière sont bien atténuées. Surtout, lorsqu’il est utilisé dans des situations en direct ou avec la lecture via un haut-parleur.

Neumann TLM 103 Achat
NEUMANN TLM 103

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Notez que ce son de qualité est obtenu sans devoir corriger les effets de la résonance avec la table de mixage. En fait, le Neumann TLM 103 est capable de maintenir une bonne réponse impulsionnelle. Ce, en reproduisant chaque détail du son de la musique ou des chants avec un minimum de modifications suivant la technique d’enregistrement.

Aussi, le niveau de bruit propre est très bas, et le Neumann TLM 103 reproduit même les sons les moins inaudibles sans le bruit ambiant. La plage dynamique est de 131 dB (pondérée A). Le microphone arrive à supporter une pression acoustique allant jusqu’à 138 dB sans distorsion.

Neumann TLM 103 : Une référence en microphone
Image de neumannthailand.com

La technologie TLM de Neumann, une référence en matière de microphones :

Le Neumann TLM 103 a su définir une nouvelle génération de produits haut de gamme de la marque Neumann. En effet, il intègre une technologie jamais utilisée auparavant : un circuit de sortie sans transformateur. De ce fait, un simple circuit électrique remplace le transformateur de sortie habituel des autres microphones comme l’U87.

Mais ce, tout en garantissant une réjection de mode commun ainsi que moins d’interférences susceptibles de nuire à l’enregistrement. Et depuis l’apparition de cette technologie TLM, celle-ci définit la norme par laquelle les microphones utilisés en studio contemporain sont considérés comme d’excellente qualité.

Neumann TLM 103 Achat
NEUMANN TLM 103

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Pour qui est destiné le Neumann TLM 103 ?

Compte tenu de sa fabrication soignée et de la qualité du son fourni, le Neumann TLM 103 est très apprécié dans les studios à travers le monde. Il affiche effectivement des performances sans pareil, tout en restant une alternative plus moderne aux microphones studio U87 dans votre équipement d’enregistrement.

Et de ce fait, le Neumann TLM 103 s’avère être très polyvalent. Entre autres, vous pouvez l’utiliser pour l’enregistrement de paroles ou de chants, de musiques obtenues avec la batterie, ou comme amplificateur d’instruments comme les guitares acoustiques, les cymbales ou encore le piano.

Neumman TLM 103 home studio
Image de fartlama.com

On le retrouve aussi comme microphone pour les enregistrements classiques avec des instruments à cordes comme la guitare, le violoncelle ou bien la contrebasse. C’est en tout un capteur universel, parfait pour la prise de voix, le chant ou les instruments, et même pour une utilisation en radiodiffusion ou le doublage.

S’il est très prisé en studio pour différents enregistrements, il convient aussi en home-studio, notamment du fait de sa directivité cardioïde. Les sons provenant de l’avant sont les plus captés, rendant son utilisation plus simple et une isolation plus facile par rapport aux autres sources sonores.

Neumann TLM 103 Achat
NEUMANN TLM 103

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Comme la grande sensibilité du microphone lui permet de capter beaucoup de bruits ambiants, il vous faudra aménager la pièce de manière à favoriser une atténuation des bruits ambiants.

Sans quoi, l’enregistrement ou les prises de voix risque d’être fortement perturbé par les bruits de manipulation, les vibrations, les bruits de fond, les parasites, etc. comptent tenue de la sensibilité du micro pour capter les sons.

Tlm 103
Image de en-de.neumann.com

Synthèse des caractéristiques techniques

  • Capteur : capteur à gradient de pression
  • Directivité : Cardioïde
  • Circuit de sortie : sans transformateur
  • Bande passante : 20 Hz – 20 kHz
  • Impédance nominale : 50 ohms
  • Impédance nominale de charge : 1000 ohms
  • Sensibilité : ~ -33dB, 21 mV/Pa
  • Pression acoustique maximum : 138 dB pour DHT < 0,5 %
  • Rapport signal sur bruit : 87 dB (pondération A), 76,5 dB (CCIR)
  • Tension de sortie maximale : 13 dBu
  • Bruit propre minimal : 7dBA
  • Bruit propre maximal : 17, 5 dB (CCIR)
  • Consommation de courant (P48, IEC 61938) : 3 mA
  • Connecteur : XLR-3 F
  • Tension d’alimentation : 48 V +/- 4 V
  • Dimensions : 132 x 60 mm
  • Poids : 450 g
  • Couleur : Noir ou métallique
Neumann TLM 103 Packaging
Image de Audiofanzine.fr

Liste des accessoires fournis :

  • Un boîtier de rangement en bois
  • Support du microphone
  • Adaptateur de pied 5/8 “à 3/8”
  • Notice d’utilisation

Que vaut le Neumann TLM 103 ?

Vous devrez retenir que ses principaux avantages résident dans ses différentes caractéristiques. Notamment, sa large plage dynamique de 131 dB, et son bruit optimal de seulement 7dBA. Sans oublier, sa réponse en fréquence assez douce. Et enfin, sa capacité à supporter une pression acoustique allant jusqu’à 138 dB sans distorsion.

Neumann TLM 103 Achat
NEUMANN TLM 103

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Ce meilleur microphone de studio se démarque aussi par sa polyvalence. En home studio, c’est un choix parfait vu sa directivité cardioïde. C’est en tout cas un modèle silencieux, offrant un son très pur et raffiné. Ce malgré le fait qu’il capte beaucoup de bruit ambiant. Il offre aussi un effet de proximité avantageux, même pour les débutants souhaitant enregistrer la voix ou de la musique. Et l’absence de transformateur est parfaite pour limiter les interférences.

Neumann TLM 103 : Microphone professionnel
Image de en-de.neumann.com

Mon verdict

Le microphone studio à condensateur cardioïde TLM 103 de Neumann est en tout un microphone professionnel. Je retiens notamment le son pur d’un incroyable raffinement. Le bruit propre minimal de seulement 7dBA et la large plage dynamique de 131 dB. Et bien sûr, la grande polyvalence qui lui permet de se classer dans le haut de gamme.

Il est possible de l’utiliser pour des projets en studio d’enregistrement comme en home studio. Notamment pour des enregistrements classiques et une amplification qualitative du son. S’il offre une tonalité très douce, vous avez en outre un excellent effet de proximité.

Neumann TLM 103 à large diaphragme
Image de Audiofanzine.com

Un détail que vous pouvez exploiter à votre avantage afin de renforcer votre voix. Et compenser d’autres détails techniques désavantageux comme le bruit ambiant. Il est résistant et peut-être utilisé pour des situations en live. Comme micro pour ampli guitare par exemple.

Son principal défaut est sa capacité à capter beaucoup de bruit ambiant. Pour une utilisation en home studio, veillez à travailler dans une pièce traitée acoustiquement en conséquence.

Neumann TLM 103 Achat
NEUMANN TLM 103

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Le microphone Neumann TLM 103 a tout ce qu’il faut pour impressionner les professionnels comme les amateurs. La restitution du son est très correcte. Le son émis est très pur et fidèle. C’est peut-être aussi le son que vous recherchez chez un microphone aussi qualitatif et onéreux. Des sons ni stridents, ni trop aigus, ni trop gras, mais plutôt doux et agréables à écouter.

J’apprécie aussi sa robustesse. Il peut supporter des événements en live. C’est étonnant. Sans compter sa pression sonore acoustique maximale très élevée pour vous épargner la distorsion.

Neumann TLM 103 Excellent qualité
Image de backstage.com

En résumé, si vous êtes un artiste ou un musicien, vous reconnaîtrez en lui un concentré de technologie. Il peut réellement mettre en valeur et enregistrer votre voix ou votre instrument de musique. Que ce soit un micro pour chanter, un enregistreur vocal, un ampli pour instrument de musique, au final, seul le prix peut vous rendre réticent.

Mais au vu de sa qualité audio, le Neumann TLM 103 est un micro professionnel d’excellent rapport qualité-prix. Parfait pour compléter votre matériel d’enregistrement !

Neumann TLM 103 Achat
Notre Avis Global

Qualité Sonore Globale

4.8 /5
4.8/5

Rapport Qualité / Prix

4,6 /5
4.6/5

Note Globale

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Notre avis sur le Neumann TLM 103 :

Le microphone TLM 103 de Neumann a tout ce qu’il faut pour impressionner les professionnels comme les amateurs. Le son émis est très pur et très professionnel, surtout vu le prix du microphone.

Démo du Neumann TLM 103

Offre spéciale chez Neumann 🔥

Neumann TLM 103 Achat
NEUMANN TLM 103

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

❤️ Découvrez d'autres Tests de Microphone à Condensateur :