All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

Rode M3

Test & Review

Do you want to acquire a professional microphone of a versatile and multi-power model? Why not opt ​​for the Rode M3 microphone? This microphone offers a versatile electret cardioid polar pattern that has dual power supply (phantom and battery). Discover through this guide our complete test of this microphone as well as our opinion on its quality.

Rode M3 microphone test and review

🎤 by Kevin Jung

Summary of the Test 👇

The Rode brand has been on the electronics market since the end of the 1960s. It began offering ranges of microphones in 1998. It is this type of product that has made it successful. What sets Rode apart from other brands is the offering of items with excellent value for money .

Moreover, its Rode M3 microphone is very affordable and is considered to be one of the best microphones on the market . It is a versatile electret cardioid pattern. It's sort of a variation of the NT3 which is hypercardioid.

The Rode M3 has a lot of positive reviews, but is it really a good versatile cardioid microphone ? We tested it and we take stock of it in the following lines.

Rode M3 Microphone
Picture from Rode.com

Introducing the Rode M3 Microphone

The Rode M3 microphone is a versatile, multi-power . You can use it for a live performance or to record vocals or instruments. It can be powered with 48V phantom power or with a 9V battery. The latter is not supplied with the microphone.

The inside of the microphone is made up of a high-pass filter which eliminates parasitic noise and low frequency noise. To this filter is added a variable and selectable pad (2 positions). This pad allows for high quality recording. The microphone is also equipped with an ON/OFF button and an LED indicator light which indicates the battery level.

The price is the element that attracts attention first when talking about the Rode M3. It is very affordable and this sometimes scares sound professionals. This is normal, because a quality microphone is often very expensive. Afterwards, there is also another aspect that scares sound engineers: battery power. A battery-powered microphone often sounds like a low-end gadget.

If we look at user feedback and the features presented by the brand, the Rode M3 is not really low-end. Its reduced price and dual power supply do not really impact its quality. It is a microphone designed to meet the needs of all sound creators ranging from live enthusiasts to studio recorders.

RODE M3 Overview

The Rode M3 comes in a sturdy, complete plastic case. The case includes a foam windshield, holder clip adapter, brass socket, windshield, plastic bag and reducer wire. Added to this is a detailed guide to sound recording .

When we look at the Rode M3 in the photos, we have the impression of seeing a boom microphone with a small diaphragm due to its dimensions which appear compact. Plus, the diameter of the cone is only half an inch. Please note, however, that this is not a boom microphone at all and it is not really compact.

What is most surprising when you unpack the microphone is its length. It is 22.5 cm long and 3.3 cm thick . It is definitely longer compared to most models of the same type, but it is still a little short compared to microphones like the NT3 for example.

In addition to this length, it is massive with a weight that can reach 400 g with the battery. Given these characteristics, the Rode M3 looks more like a large membrane model .

Rode M3-purchase

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Phantom power and battery power

With its fixed cardioid polar pattern , the Rode M3 becomes a versatile model that can handle all studio recordings. It is flexible because it can work with both phantom power and battery power.

  • Phantom Power : You can use any P24 or P48 power supply to power this microphone. It is a common power supply for the majority of synths, sound cards, mixers, etc.
  • Battery powered : the microphone can also be powered with a 9V battery. According to Rode, a battery of this type connected to this microphone can last up to 300 hours. To insert the battery, you must open the microphone by unscrewing the lower part. You will then have access to a clip that keeps the battery in place.

When phantom power is detected, the battery is automatically turned off. The microphone will therefore not draw on this reserve.

Interesting guide : How to build your own studio microphone easily? Through this guide you can discover the essential things to understand before building your own studio microphone, the type and model that best meets your recording needs, as well as the steps to follow to build a microphone with a woofer .

Design and handling of the Rode M3

Regarding the design, the microphone looks nice at first glance. The brand has added a satin gray finish to the body of this model. We also find Rode's gold drop on the upper side of the microphone.

However, this drop does not indicate the axis of the capsule, whereas this is the case for most of the brand's side-addressed microphones. The Rode M3 is actually a traditional final-fire . You have to point it towards the source to hear the sound better.

Below the gold dot, there is a three-position slide switch including ON/OFF, No Low Cut and Low Cut. The latter is the high-pass filter. There is also a red LED light below the gold dot, just above the switch to let you know the battery level.

Rode M3 Packaging
Picture from Andertons.co.uk

Concerning handling, to integrate the battery, you must open the microphone. You also have to open it to access the pad switch with two levels of -10 and -20 dB of attenuation if you want to use the microphone near a loud noise source.

This switch is labeled. To access it, however, you have to use a screwdriver or a pen for example, because its location is quite narrow. The other control elements are outside (ON/OFF button, No Low Cut and Low Cut).

Please note, however, that there is no marking on the microphone. You must follow the user guide to better understand it. You must slide the switch to the lower position to turn off the microphone if you are using the battery.

This position also cuts the microphone output when connected to phantom power. Once the switch changes position, the LED light will flash to indicate battery status. If the voltage is low, this indicator lights up constantly.

Sliding the three-position switch to the center position activates normal mode . If you move to the upper position, the high pass filter (12dB/octave) is activated . The mic then eliminates rumble and handling noise and attenuates heavy bass sources by operating at 80 Hz .

Concerning the capsule, it is protected by a robust and stable basket since the entire microphone is made of metal. At the end of the microphone, there is an XLR jack equipped with gold-plated pins. At its core, the Rode M3 is a sturdy microphone , but it's unstylish compared to other models on the market.

Focus on sound quality + model

The Rode M3 is a small diaphragm microphone considering its is half an inch. It is equipped with a permanently polarized capsule as is the case with most modern microphones. The frequency response of the mic is between 40 and 20,000 Hz with a slight increase of 12,000 Hz for the Air range.

According to the microphone frequency table, there is also a slight drop of 3 dB at 100 Hz and -10 dB at 40 Hz . When the frequency is between 100 Hz and 4 kHz , the sound becomes a little flat and extended unlike moving coil microphones like the SM58 microphone from Shure or models like the C1000S from the AKG brand.

Despite this small point, the Rode M3 achieves a fresh and spatial sound, because certain frequency ranges are not pronounced. The A-weighted noise level of 21 dB makes it possible to record quiet sources, but the microphone is also compatible with loud sources such as wind instruments or drums.

Rode M3-purchase

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Concerning the self-noise, it is 21 dBA. This is also the case for microphones like the AKG C100S and this is normal given that it is the clean noise that is best suited to an electret design of this type. Note that the NT3 displays a higher figure.

As for the sensitivity, it is quite low if we compare the Rode M3 to the condenser models used in the studio. However, it is quite high when compared to the C1000S. As for the maximum SPL, it is 142 dB with 1% distortion. This Rode model can therefore handle close vocals, as well as electric instruments, drums, overheads and amps without distortion.

The Rode M3 with acoustic guitar, drums and percussion

With an acoustic guitar in a recording studio or just at home, the Rode M3 , rich , detailed sound . It picks up percussive strikes well and reproduces the natural, rhythmic sound of the guitar.

We only hear the instrument. It offers the same performance when placed near a drum or percussion. It captures all the details. You can also control the sound with the high-pass filter and attenuator.

Overall, this is an excellent microphone for recording drum overheads , hats , etc. The only downside is the length of the microphone. It is difficult to attach or aim it towards the hi-hats or above the snare drum.

The Rode M3 with an electric guitar amp

You can plug the Rode M3 into an electric guitar amp. It sounds very good and offers clear and crisp sound , even if the source is loud. The mic offers so much detail that you will be able to hear all the sound variations.

You can improve the sound even more by adjusting the microphone (moving it closer, moving it further, or moving it further). Its high-pass filter, however, is not very effective when recording in the studio , but it is still useful for adjusting low frequencies and obtaining a more or less balanced sound.

Rode M3 package
Picture from Ebay.com

Recording vocals with the Rode M3

The Rode M3 is truly a versatile microphone as it also delivers detailed, balanced and clear sound when recording vocals. For vocals on the other hand, it doesn't really compete with the Rode NT1 , NT2 and NT3, because it doesn't capture the atmosphere around it.

The sound therefore seems a little flat. This makes mixing complicated after recording. In any case, if the atmosphere is not vital in the recording (like during podcasting for example), the M3 will be able to amply satisfy you during vocal recordings .

Using the Rode M3 as a Mic for Live Vocals and Instruments

The Rode M3 isn't really intended for live vocals and instruments. Unlike microphones like the Shure SM58 for example, it is not really suitable for stages. In fact, to get a clearer sound with the Rode M3 on stage, you have to bring it as close as possible. It is still suitable for quiet styles and studio vocals and instruments. In this context, it offers a soft, full sound with a little high note.

In short, if you are on a tight budget and looking for a versatile microphone for your studio, the Rode M3 can do the trick. Of course, it is not really suitable for live singing and recording of instruments or even remote recording, but it allows you to record different sources with reasonable sound quality . It could even compete with professional microphones like the Shure SM57, the Neumann KM184 or the Sennheiser MD421.

Rode M3-purchase

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Alternatives to the Rode M3

The Rode M3 is a good studio microphone . It is versatile, in addition, it has a dual power supply and is very robust. As an alternative there is the AKG C1000S. The noise and sensitivity of the latter are almost identical to that of the Rode M3. The difference is that the Rode M3 has a wider and smoother bandwidth .

Afterwards, if you are looking for affordable moving coil alternatives, you can turn to the Shure SM58 or the AKG D3800. Note, however, that these do not offer the recording flexibility that the Rode M3 offers, but they are much better on stage.

There is also the SE Electronics Mini MIC. It's an interesting microphone if you're looking for an alternative in terms of versatility for recordings , but it does not have a dual power supply.

The technical characteristics of the Rode M3

  • Acoustic principle: pressure gradient transducer
  • JFET impedance converter bipolar output buffer
  • Directivity: cardioid
  • Frequency Response: 40 Hz 20,000 Hz
  • Selectable High Pass Filter (HPF) @ 80 HZ 12 dB/octave
  • Output impedance: 200 Ω (ohm)
  • Signal/Noise: 79 dB SPL (A – IEC651 weighted)
  • Noise equivalent: 15 dBA SPL (A – IEC651 weighted)
  • Maximum SPL: 130 dB (@ 1kHz, 1% THD 1Ω load)
  • Mic sensitivity: -44 dB re 1V/Pa (6.3 mV/Pa @ 94 dB SPL) +/- 3 dB @ 1kHz
  • Dynamic: 115 dB SPL (A – IEC651 weighted)
  • Power supply (Voltage): 7 mA , 9 V DC Alkaline battery , (NSI: 1604A or IEC:6LR61)
  • Battery life: 120 hours
  • Phantom Power: 24-48V
  • Output connector: 3-pin XLR , balanced output between Pin 2(+) , Pin 3(-) and Pin 1 (ground) .
  • Weight: (Microphone only-Excluding battery) 360g
  • Packed weight: 480g
Rode M3 microphone review
Picture from Aallegrolokalnie.pl
Rode M3-purchase
Our Overall Opinion

Overall Sound Quality

4,8 /5
4.8/5

Value for money

4,6 /5
4.6/5

Global mark

4,7 /5
4.9/5

Our opinion on the Rode M3 microphone

The Rode M3 is a versatile and affordable cardioid electret microphone. It can handle almost everything, from instrument recordings to vocals, but it is limited in terms of remote recording or even live on stage. The sound it delivers is smooth, clear and detailed, plus its frequency response is extended including smooth extremes. For shots on stage, you have to bring the microphone closer to obtain more or less quality sound. For remote recording, the sound is too noisy.

In terms of design, the Rode M3 convinces with its quality finish and robustness. As for ergonomics, the dual power supply (phantom and battery) is very practical, as is the three-level switch located on the exterior and the LED indicator which indicates the battery status.

However, there are some problems in terms of handling. The switch for the 2-level pad is only accessible by opening the microphone and using something thin like a pen to reach it. The dimensions of the microphone also make setup for miking hi-hats and snare drums difficult. Overall, it's a good microphone that does the job if you're on a budget.

Rode M3S Demo

Special Offer at Rode 🔥

Rode M3-purchase

PRICE COMPARISON 👇

❤️ Discover other Condenser Microphone Tests:

French

Tous les Microphones aux Meilleurs Prix 🎙

Rode M3 Test & Avis

Voulez-vous acquérir un microphone professionnel de modèle polyvalent et procédant de multi-alimentation ? Pourquoi ne pas opter pour le microphone Rode M3 ? Ce microphone offre une directivité cardioïde à électret polyvalent qui possède une double alimentation (fantôme et pile). Découvrez à travers ce guide notre test complet de ce microphone ainsi que notre avis sur sa qualité.

Test et avis du microphone Rode M3

🎤 de Kevin Jung

Sommaire du Test 👇

La marque Rode est sur le marché de l’électronique depuis la fin des années 1960. Elle a commencé à proposer des gammes de microphones en 1998. C’est ce genre de produit qui a fait son succès. Ce qui démarque Rode des autres marques, c’est la proposition d’articles avec un excellent rapport qualité-prix.

D’ailleurs, son microphone Rode M3 est très abordable et est considéré comme étant un des meilleurs micros sur le marché. C’est un modèle cardioïde à électret polyvalent. C’est en quelque sorte une variante du NT3 qui est hypercardioïde.

Le Rode M3 cumule les avis positifs, mais est-ce vraiment un bon micro cardioïde polyvalent ? Nous l’avons testé et nous faisons le point à ce sujet dans les lignes qui suivent.

Microphone Rode M3
Image de Rode.com

Présentation du microphone Rode M3

Le microphone Rode M3 est un modèle polyvalent et multi-alimentation. Vous pouvez l’utiliser pour un live ou pour enregistrer des voix ou des instruments. Il peut être alimenté avec une alimentation fantôme de 48V ou encore avec une pile de 9V. Cette dernière n’est pas fournie avec le micro.

L’intérieur du microphone est composé d’un filtre passe-haut qui permet de faire disparaître les bruits parasitaires et les bruits basses fréquences. À ce filtre s’ajoute un pad variable et sélectionnable (2 positions). Ce pad permet un enregistrement de haute qualité. Le micro est aussi équipé d’un bouton ON/OFF et d’un voyant lumineux LED qui indique le niveau de la batterie.

Le prix est l’élément qui attire l’attention en premier quand on parle du Rode M3. Il est très abordable et cela fait parfois peur aux professionnels du son. C’est normal, car un microphone de qualité coûte souvent très cher. Après, il y a aussi un autre aspect qui fait peur aux ingénieurs du son : l’alimentation par pile. Un micro à pile fait souvent penser à un gadget bas de gamme.

Si on regarde le retour des utilisateurs et les caractéristiques présentés par la marque, le M3 de Rode n’est pas vraiment bas de gamme. Son prix réduit et son double alimentation n’impactent pas vraiment sa qualité. C’est un microphone conçu pour répondre aux besoins de tous les créateurs de sons allant des amateurs de live jusqu’aux enregistreurs en studio.

Aperçu du RODE M3

Le Rode M3 est livré dans un étui en plastique robuste et complet. L’étui comprend un pare-brise en mousse, un adaptateur de clip de support, une douille en laiton, une bonnette, un sac en plastique et un fil de réduction. À cela s’ajoute un guide détaillé pour la prise de son.

Quand on regarde le Rode M3 sur les photos, on a l’impression de voir un micro à tige avec une petite membrane suite à ses dimensions qui ont l’air compactes. En plus, le diamètre du cône ne fait qu’un demi-pouce. À noter toutefois que ce n’est pas du tout un micro à tige et il n’est pas vraiment compact.

Ce qui étonne le plus quand on déballe le micro, c’est sa longueur. Il fait 22,5 cm de long et 3,3 cm d’épaisseur. Il est vraiment plus long comparé à la plupart des modèles du même type, mais il est quand même un peu court comparé à des micros comme le NT3 par exemple.

Outre cette longueur, il est massif avec un poids qui peut atteindre les 400 g avec la pile. Vu ces caractéristiques, le Rode M3 ressemble plus à un modèle à large membrane.

Rode M3-achat

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Alimentation fantôme et alimentation par batterie

Avec sa directivité cardioïde fixe, le Rode M3 devient un modèle polyvalent qui peut supporter tous les enregistrements en studio. Il est flexible, car il peut fonctionner avec une alimentation fantôme et une alimentation par batterie.

  • Alimentation fantôme : vous pouvez utiliser n’importe quelle alimentation P24 ou P48 pour alimenter ce microphone. C’est une alimentation courante pour la majorité des synthés, des cartes son, des mixeurs, etc.
  • Alimentation par batterie : le microphone peut aussi être alimenté avec une pile de 9V. Selon Rode, une pile de ce genre branchée à ce micro peut durer jusqu’à 300 h. Pour insérer la pile, il faut ouvrir le microphone en dévissant la partie inférieure. Vous aurez ensuite accès à un clip qui permet de maintenir la batterie en place.

Quand l’alimentation fantôme est détectée, la batterie est désactivée automatiquement. Le micro ne puisera donc pas dans cette réserve.

Guide intéressant : Comment construire son propre microphone de studio facilement ? Vous pouvez découvrir à travers ce guide l’essentiel à comprendre avant de construire votre propre microphone de studio, le type et le modèle qui répond le plus à vos besoins d’enregistrement, ainsi que les étapes à suivre pour construire un microphone avec un woofer.

Design et prise en main du Rode M3

Concernant le design, le microphone est joli à première vue. La marque a ajouté une finition gris satiné sur le corps de ce modèle. On retrouve aussi la goutte d’or de Rode sur la face supérieure du micro.

Cependant, cette goutte n’indique pas l’axe de la capsule alors que c’est le cas de la plupart des micros à adresse latérale de la marque. Le Rode M3 est en fait un modèle traditionnel à tir final. Il faut le pointer vers la source pour mieux entendre le son.

Sous le point doré, il y a une interrupteur à glissière à trois positions comprenant le bouton ON/OFF, No Low Cut et Low Cut. Ce dernier est le filtre passe-haut. Il y a aussi un voyant LED rouge sous le point doré, juste au-dessus de l’interrupteur pour vous informer du niveau de la pile.

Rode M3 Packaging
Image de Andertons.co.uk

Concernant la prise en main, pour intégrer la batterie, il faut ouvrir le microphone. Il faut aussi l’ouvrir pour accéder à l’interrupteur du pad à deux niveaux de -10 et -20 dB d’atténuation si vous voulez utiliser le micro près d’une source à fort bruit.

Cet interrupteur est étiqueté. Pour y accéder par contre, il faut utiliser un tournevis ou un stylo par exemple, car son emplacement est assez étroit. Les autres éléments de commandes sont à l’extérieur (bouton ON/OFF, No Low Cut et Low Cut).

À noter cependant qu’il n’y a pas de marquage sur le micro. Vous devez suivre le guide d’utilisation pour mieux le cerner. Il faut glisser l’interrupteur sur la position inférieure pour éteindre le micro si vous utilisez la pile.

Cette position coupe aussi la sortie du micro quand il est branché sur une alimentation fantôme. Une fois que l’interrupteur change de position, le voyant LED clignote pour indiquer l’état de la batterie. Si la tension est faible, ce voyant s’allume en permanence.

En glissant l’interrupteur à trois positions sur la position centrale, vous activez le mode normal. Si vous passez à la position supérieure, le filtre passe-haut (12dB/octave) s’active. Le micro élimine ensuite les grondements et les bruits de manipulations et atténue les sources de basses lourdes en fonctionnant à 80 Hz.

Concernant la capsule, elle est protégée par un panier robuste et stable étant donné que le microphone en entier est en métal. Au bout du microphone, il y a une prise XLR équipée de broches plaquées or. Au fond, le Rode M3 est un microphone robuste, mais il est peu élégant comparé aux autres modèles sur le marché.

Zoom sur la qualité sonore + modèle

Le Rode M3 est un microphone à petit diaphragme étant donné que le sien est d’un demi-pouce. Il est équipé d’une capsule polarisée en permanence comme c’est le cas de la plupart des microphones modernes. La réponse en fréquence du micro se situe entre 40 et 20 000 Hz avec une légère augmentation de 12 000 Hz pour la plage Air.

Selon le tableau de fréquence du micro, il y a aussi une légère baisse de 3 dB arrivé à 100 Hz et de -10 dB arrivé à 40 Hz. Quand la fréquence se situe entre 100 Hz et 4 kHz, le son devient un peu plat et étendu contrairement aux micros à bobine mobile comme le microphone SM58 de Shure ou encore à des modèles comme le C1000S de la marque AKG.

Malgré ce petit point, le Rode M3 permet d’obtenir un son frais et spatial, car certaines gammes de fréquences ne sont pas prononcées. Le niveau de bruit de 21 dB pondéré A permet d’enregistrer des sources silencieuses, mais le micro est aussi compatible avec les sources fortes comme les instruments à vent ou encore les batteries.

Rode M3-achat

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Concernant le bruit propre, il est de 21 dBA. C’est aussi le cas de micros comme le C100S d’AKG et c’est normal étant donné que c’est le bruit propre qui convient le mieux à une conception électret de ce genre. À noter que le NT3 affiche un chiffre plus élevé.

Quant à la sensibilité, elle est assez faible si on compare le Rode M3 aux modèles à condensateurs utilisés en studio. Cependant, elle est assez élevée si on le compare au C1000S. En ce qui concerne le SPL maximum, il est de 142 dB avec une distorsion de 1%. Ce modèle de Rode peut donc gérer les voix rapprochées, ainsi que les instruments électriques, les batteries, les overhead et les amplis sans distorsion.

Le Rode M3 avec une guitare acoustique, une batterie et des percussions

Avec une guitare acoustique dans un studio d’enregistrement ou tout simplement à domicile, le Rode M3 offre un son clair, riche et détaillé. Il capte bien les frappes percutantes et reproduit le son naturel et rythmique de la guitare.

On n’entend que l’instrument. Il offre les mêmes performances quand on le place prêt d’une batterie ou des percussions. Il capte tous les détails. Vous pouvez en plus contrôler le son grâce au filtre passe-haut et à l’atténuateur.

En somme, c’est un excellent microphone pour les enregistrements des overheads de batterie, des charleys, etc. Le seul bémol, c’est la longueur du micro. Il est difficile de le fixer ou de l’orienter vers les charleys ou au-dessus de la caisse claire.

Le Rode M3 avec un ampli guitare électrique

Vous pouvez brancher le Rode M3 sur une ampli guitare électrique. Il sonne très bien et offre un son clair et net, et cela, même si la source est forte. Le micro offre tellement de détails que vous pourrez entendre toutes les variations sonores.

Vous pouvez améliorer encore plus le son en ajustant le micro (en le rapprochant, en le déplaçant ou encore en l’éloignant). Son filtre passe-haut n’est cependant pas très efficace lors de l’enregistrement en studio, mais il est quand même pratique pour ajuster les basses fréquences et obtenir un son plus ou moins équilibré.

Package Rode M3
Image de Ebay.com

Enregistrement des voix avec le Rode M3

Le Rode M3 est vraiment un microphone polyvalent étant donné qu’il offre aussi un son détaillé, équilibré et clair lors des enregistrements de voix. Pour les voix par contre, il ne rivalise pas vraiment avec le Rode NT1, NT2 et NT3, car il ne capte pas l’ambiance autour.

Le son semble donc un peu plat. Cela rend le mélange compliqué après l’enregistrement. En tout cas, si l’ambiance n’est pas vitale dans l’enregistrement (comme lors d’un podcasting par exemple), le M3 pourra vous satisfaire amplement lors des enregistrements vocaux.

Utilisation du Rode M3 en tant que micro pour le chant et les instruments en direct

Le Rode M3 n’est pas vraiment destiné aux chants et aux instruments en direct. Contrairement à des micros comme le Shure SM58 par exemple, il ne convient pas vraiment aux scènes. En fait, pour obtenir un son plus clair avec le Rode M3 sur scène, il faut l’approcher au maximum. Il convient quand même aux styles calmes et aux chants et instruments en studio. Dans ce contexte, il offre un son doux et plein avec une petite note aiguë.

En somme, si vous avez un budget serré alors que vous cherchez un microphone polyvalent pour votre studio, le Rode M3 peut faire l’affaire. Certes, il n’est pas vraiment adapté aux chants et prises d’instruments en direct ou encore aux prises à distance, mais il permet d’enregistrer différentes sources avec une qualité sonore raisonnable. Il pourrait même concurrencer des micros professionnels comme le Shure SM57, le Neumann KM184 ou encore le Sennheiser MD421.

Rode M3-achat

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Alternatives au Rode M3

Le Rode M3 est un bon microphone pour studio. Il est polyvalent, en plus, il possède une double alimentation et est très robuste. Comme alternative, il y a l’AKG C1000S. Le bruit et la sensibilité de ce dernier sont presque identiques à celui du Rode M3. La différence, c’est que le Rode M3 a une bande passante plus large et fluide.

Après, si vous cherchez des alternatives abordables à bobine mobile, vous pouvez vous tourner vers le Shure SM58 ou encore l’AKG D3800. À noter par contre que ces derniers n’offrent pas la flexibilité d’enregistrement que propose le Rode M3, mais ils sont bien meilleurs sur scène.

Il y a aussi le SE Electronics Mini MIC. C’est un micro intéressant si vous cherchez une alternative en termes de polyvalence pour les enregistrements, mais il ne possède pas une double alimentation.

Les caractéristiques techniques du Rode M3

  • Principe acoustique : transducteur à gradient de pression
  • Électronique : convertisseur d’impédance JFET avec buffer de sortie bipolaire
  • Directivité : cardioïde
  • Réponse en Fréquence : 40 Hz 20 000 Hz
  • Filtre Passe Haut sélectionnable (HPF) @ 80 HZ 12 dB/octave
  • Impédance de sortie : 200 Ω (ohm)
  • Signal/Bruit : 79 dB SPL (A – pondéré IEC651)
  • Équivalent Bruit : 15 dBA SPL (A – pondéré IEC651)
  • Maximum SPL : 130 dB (@ 1kHz, 1% THD charge 1Ω)
  • Sensibilité du micro : -44 dB re 1V/Pa (6.3 mV/Pa @ 94 dB SPL) +/- 3 dB @ 1kHz
  • Dynamique : 115 dB SPL (A – pondéré IEC651)
  • Alimentation (Voltage) : 7 mA, 9 V DC Pile Alkaline, (NSI : 1604A or IEC:6LR61)
  • Durée de vie Pile : 120 heures
  • Alimentation Fantôme : 24-48V
  • Connecteur de sortie : XLR 3 broches, symétrique sortie entre Broche 2(+), Broche 3(-) et Broche 1 (terre).
  • Poids : (Microphone seul-Hors pile) 360g
  • Poids emballé : 480g
Test du microphone Rode M3
Image de Aallegrolokalnie.pl
Rode M3-achat
Notre Avis Global

Qualité Sonore Globale

4,8 /5
4.8/5

Rapport Qualité / Prix

4,6 /5
4.6/5

Note Globale

4,7 /5
4.9/5

Notre avis sur le microphone Rode M3

Le Rode M3 est un microphone électret cardioïde polyvalent et abordable. Il peut gérer presque tout, allant des enregistrements d’instruments, jusqu’aux voix, mais il est limité en termes de prises à distance ou encore de live sur scène. Le son qu’il offre est doux, clair et détaillé, de plus, sa réponse en fréquence est étendue comprenant des extrêmes lisses. Pour les prises sur scène, il faut rapprocher le micro pour obtenir un son plus ou moins de qualité. Pour les prises à distance, le son est trop bruyant.

Côté design, le Rode M3 convainc par sa finition de qualité et sa robustesse. Quant à l’ergonomie, la double alimentation (fantôme et pile) est très pratique, de même pour l’interrupteur à trois niveaux situé à l’extérieur et le voyant LED qui indique l’état de la batterie.

Il y a toutefois quelques problèmes en termes de prise en main. L’interrupteur pour le pad à 2 niveaux n’est accessible qu’en ouvrant le microphone et en utilisant quelque chose de fin comme un stylo pour l’atteindre. Les dimensions du microphone rendent également l’installation pour la prise du son des charleys et de la caisse claire difficile. En somme, c’est un bon microphone qui fait l’affaire si vous avez un petit budget.

Démo du Rode M3S

Offre Spéciale chez Rode 🔥

Rode M3-achat

COMPARATIF PRIX 👇

❤️ Découvrez d'autres Tests de Microphone à Condensateur :