All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

Rode NT2-A

Test & Review

Are you looking for a great versatile mid-range condenser microphone? Turn to the Rode NT2-A. Considered a perfect microphone for studio recording, it offers exceptional sensitivity with minimal noise. Overall, I benefit from significant sound quality in cardioid, omnidirectional and bidirectional microphones with little proximity effect. In terms of design, the studio microphone also has a quality metal shell unlike its predecessors. But what is this professional studio lavalier microphone really worth?

Rode NT2-A Full Review

🎤 by Kevin Jung

Summary of the Test 👇

Rode NT2-A, the first Australian-made Rode condenser microphone

Between dynamic microphone , USB microphone and condenser microphone, I choose the Rode NT2-A . However, it is not always easy to make the right choice. Indeed, we often ask ourselves a lot of questions to find the best omnidirectional or cardioid microphone on the market.

We all want to have a microphone connected to a speaker that offers excellent sound recording.

In order to satisfy you, manufacturers of dynamic and condenser microphones like Rode want to offer excellent ranges of professional microphones while making some savings. They want to stand out from the market with models of recording equipment with unparalleled sound pressure for less money.

Rode NT2-A

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

As a better alternative, Rode has long chosen condenser microphones from China. In this way, the brand was able to meet the needs of many singers, beginner guitarists and voice-over recorders in Europe.

However, despite the growing success of the condenser microphone supplier brand, they are simply not satisfied with the results. Apparently, Rode could no longer be satisfied with single diaphragm models under phantom power (Phantom) with anti-pop filter.

To stand out from the competition, she decided to design a brand new professional microphone model: the Rode NT2-A microphone .

First Australian-made Rode condenser microphone
Picture from thomann.de

Rode NT2-A, a better designed studio microphone

Compared to Rode's other mics, the NT2-A seems to have very different characteristics. Indeed, when comparing the Rode NT1 and the NT2, I notice several important differences. In every case, the shotgun microphone stands out from the others by its Australian origins.

For years, Rode has been satisfied with Chinese standards in the design of microphone booms, micro-USBs and microphone holders.

This time, the brand wants to focus its choice more towards a more professional type of microphone.

Rode NT2-A

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

The Rode NT2-A focuses more on a finer electrical signal and high vibrations . Its handling noises are reduced as much as possible while respecting better controlled and therefore stricter manufacturing quality. The sound and bass waves obtained by dynamic transformation respond to a higher frequency curve.

Also, the condenser microphone stands out from other Rode microphones by its design and finishes. The Rode NT2-A is a hand-held microphone designed with advanced machinery for the benefit of the Chinese workforce. In the end, I benefit from a recording boom microphone better designed to better meet all my requirements.

NT2-A appears to have very different characteristics.
Picture from audiofanzine.com

A remarkable machined metal design

For as long as I can remember, I haven't really appreciated the quality of finish of Rode studio microphones. When I saw the design of the Rode NT2-A, I immediately changed my mind.

A priori, the condenser microphone offers a much more thoughtful visual than its predecessors . This will give you less distortion and higher audio quality.

NT2-A: With a remarkable metal design
Picture from audiofanzine.com

The problem with most home studio microphones is that they vibrate when touched. Indeed, as you get closer to acoustic instruments, you feel static vibrations in your fingertips.

These vibrations come from the sound pressure at the level of the diaphragm at low frequencies under the influence of electronic current. The intensity of the perceived sound source probably depends on the preamp , the impedance of the circuit and the distance between the case and the capsules.

The further the pattern coil moves away from the capsule, the greater the attenuation and the background noise reduced to a minimum. The design of the Rode NT2-A dynamic audio interface microphone meets precisely this expectation.

Rode NT2-A

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Thus, the sensitivity of the mic is reduced to the analog state under a shell of robust metal construction. Minimalist, the acoustic guitar microphone meets design standards established by a sound engineer.

You benefit from a factory-cast solid metal interface, delicately polished to amplify the dynamics of the monitor sounds. A steel grid is added at the level of the capsule to ensure good thermal protection of your studio equipment .

Superior quality nickel plating

A point that I do not forget to specify, just like the Rode NT-USB , the Rode NT2-A benefits from quality nickel plating to best reduce the acoustic and acute resonances of its transformer. In addition to having a highly functional microphone, it also comes with a locking ring and some optimal buttons.

Easy-to-use studio equipment with three polar patterns
Picture from fatllama.com

Rode NT2-A, easy-to-use studio equipment with three polar patterns

Like the Blue Yeti or the Yeti microphone, the Rode NT2-A can condense on three levels of directivity . A priori, it can capture and filter three operating modes in parallel. omnidirectional, bidirectional or cardioid frequency response .

You can therefore play on different ranges of sound sources and electrical signal using its high frequency moving coil. Moreover, the percussions retained are personalized according to the type of recording of the voice.

Rode NT2-A

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

In front of the condenser microphones, I notice the presence of an electrical signal created between the material plate and the membrane. This symmetrical electric field is obtained by phantom type power supply using a microphone cable or a mixing board.

We will mainly talk about external power supply. The Rode NT2-A microphone is no exception to this rule. Indeed, its frequency response depends on a wired connector/connector and can be placed on a microphone stand. So you are free to pick up the microphone and place it on the basic equipment of your recording studio.

In my case, I particularly appreciate it for its ease of use on an Electronics tripod and its level of multi-directional percussion.

the Rode NT2-A meets all sound requirements.
Picture from theseasonedpodcaster.com

Easily adjustable sound pickup

In the sense that powering the dynamics of a studio requires a quality microphone, the Rode NT2-A meets all sound requirements.

In principle, it allows personalized voice recording from the windshield and bandwidth, without an external sound card. I take the microphone, I adjust it as it should and it begins to capture the sounds produced in voice-over or podcast .

Rode NT2-A

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Apparently I can set its high pass filter to three levels: neutral, 40 Hz, 80 Hz. I can also set the PAD to: 0, -5 or -10 dB after I take care to plug the boom under -electrical power supply.

Regarding the electrostatic connection of the condenser microphone, I need a 48 V phantom power supply. So, if you are used to only using a USB cable for your headphones, you are forced to change your habits with this last.

The use of this vocal transformer requires a mixing console available. You can also use an external amplifier connected by Bluetooth.

NT2-A microphone with its remarkable audio quality
picture from Meilleur-Microphone.info

Unparalleled audio quality

Zoom in on the response curve of the Rode NT2-A microphone and its audio quality. Above all, I notice a stereo ribbon of the same quality as that of Neumann microphones .

Indeed, its level of static and acoustic pressure far exceeds the standard of devices on the sound market. In any case, its golden price is well worth it if I refer to the quality of the sounds captured .

Rode NT2-A: for all types of recording
Picture of

To get the Rode NT2-A, I have to spend a little more than buying an NT1 or NT2. However, I have no regrets with what the Australian-made microphone with metal interfaces promises.

With the numerous electrostatic field settings achievable , I benefit from more than 27 stereo customization possibilities. This is all the more appreciable knowing that it can be adjusted using only 3 buttons on its rigid chrome shell.

Rode NT2-A

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Basically, the sound your NT2-A microphone produces remains neutral and even in cardioid mode. Therefore, it can compare well with the best large diaphragm condenser microphones. Behind your headphones, you witness high-quality natural sound recording to obtain optimal results.

As an acoustic guitar voice pickup, the NT2-A delivers professional sound wave performance . Its way of capturing acoustic waves therefore largely meets the expectations of professional guitarists and voice-over artists.

And as for its directivity in directional mode, the tone obtained changes slightly, but basically remains more discreet and more appreciable.

Rode NT2-A: packaging
Picture of musique-et-instruments.com

Rode NT2-A, a discreet, less noisy microphone

In the range of low noise condenser microphones, the Rode NT2-A remains the best recording studio equipment . Apparently, it offers an input noise of 7 dBA, less than 10 dBA compared to other classic microphones. Regarding its Signal/Noise ratio, you benefit from a variable range of 87 dB at 1 kHz maximum, even at max SPL.

And to take stock of its frequency response, it varies from 20 Hz to 20 kHz depending on the sound waves and the sound card.

Rode NT2-A

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Note : You can also check out our full test and review of the Rode Procaster . This guide presents the technical specifications, sound quality, proximity effect, verdict, and reviews of this condenser microphone.

The technical characteristics of the Rode NT2-A

  • Manufacturing: Australian
  • Polar pattern: omnidirectional, cardioid, bidirectional
  • Finish: metal construction
  • XLR connector
  • High pass filter: between 40 and 80 Hz
  • Attenuation: -5 and -10 Db
  • Frequency response: 20 Hz – 20 kHz
  • Sound pressure: 147 – 157 dB
  • Sound sensitivity: -36 dB
  • Impedance: 200 Ohms
  • Weight: 860g
Our Overall Opinion

Overall Sound Quality

4,0 /5
4/5

Value for money

4,8 /5
4.8/5

Global mark

4,5 /5
4.5/5

Our opinion on the Rode NT2-A

The Rode NT2-A condenser microphone remains excellent studio equipment for any profile of voice-over recorders. Offering 3 different levels of directivity allows it to meet all studio recording expectations. You also benefit from an Australian-made chrome finish and optimal reduction of background noise.

Rode NT2-A Demo

Special Offer at Rode🔥

Rode NT2-A

PRICE COMPARISON 👇

❤️ Discover other Condenser Microphone Tests:

Tous les Microphones aux Meilleurs Prix 🎙

Rode NT2-A Test & Avis

Êtes-vous à la recherche d’un excellent microphone à condensateur polyvalent milieu de gamme ? Tournez-vous vers le Rode NT2-A. Considéré comme un parfait microphone pour enregistrement en studio, il propose une sensibilité hors du commun avec le minimum de bruit. En tout, je bénéficie d’une qualité sonore importante en cardioïde, micro omnidirectionnel et bidirectionnel avec peu d’effet de proximité. Côté design, le micro studio présente en plus une coque métallique de qualité contrairement à ses prédécesseurs. Mais que vaut vraiment ce micro-cravate pour studio pro ?

Rode NT2-A Test Complet

🎤 de Kevin Jung

Sommaire du Test 👇

Rode NT2-A, le premier microphone à condensateur Rode d’origine australienne

Entre microphone dynamique, microphone USB et micro à condensateur, je choisis le micro Rode NT2-A. Néanmoins, il n’est pas toujours simple de faire le bon choix. En effet, on se pose souvent des tas de questions pour trouver le meilleur microphone omnidirectionnel ou cardioïde du marché.

On désire tous avoir en main un micro branché sur haut-parleur et qui propose une excellente prise de son.

Afin de vous satisfaire, les constructeurs des microphones dynamiques et à condensateur comme Rode veulent à la fois proposer d’excellentes gammes de micros pros tout en faisant quelques économies. Ils veulent se démarquer du marché avec des modèles d’équipement d’enregistrement avec une pression acoustique hors pair pour moins cher.

Rode NT2-A

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Comme meilleure alternative, Rode a longtemps choisi des microphones à condensateur en provenance de la Chine. De cette façon, la marque a pu répondre aux besoins de nombreux chanteurs, guitaristes débutants et enregistreurs de voix-off en Europe.

Néanmoins, malgré le succès grandissant de la marque fournisseur de micros statiques, elle n’est tout simplement pas satisfaite des résultats. Apparemment, Rode ne pouvait plus se contenter des modèles à diaphragme simple sous alimentation fantôme (Phantom) avec filtre anti pop.

Pour se démarquer de la concurrence, elle décide alors de concevoir un tout nouveau modèle de micro professionnel : le microphone Rode NT2-A.

Premier microphone à condensateur Rode d’origine australienne
Image de thomann.de

Rode NT2-A, un microphone de studio mieux conçu

Par rapport aux autres micros de Rode, le NT2-A semble présenter des caractéristiques très différentes. En effet, en comparant le Rode NT1 et le NT2, je constate plusieurs différences importantes. À tous les coups, le micro canon se distingue des autres par ses origines australiennes.

Depuis des années, Rode s’est contenté des normes chinoises en matière de conception de perche à micro, micro-USB, support-micro.

Cette fois-ci, la marque veut plus axer son choix vers un type de micro plus professionnel.

Rode NT2-A

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Le Rode NT2-A mise davantage sur un signal électrique plus fin et des vibrations élevées. Ses bruits de manipulation se voient réduits au maximum en respectant une qualité de fabrication mieux contrôlée et donc plus stricte. Les ondes sonores et basses obtenues par transformation dynamique répondent à une courbe de fréquence supérieure.

Aussi, le microphone statique se démarque des autres micros Rode par son design et ses finitions. Le Rode NT2-A est un micro à la main conçue avec des machines de pointe au profit de la main d’œuvre chinoise. Au final, je profite donc d’un micro perche d’enregistrement mieux conçu pour mieux répondre à toutes mes exigences.

NT2-A semble présenter des caractéristiques très différentes.
Image de audiofanzine.com

Un design remarquable en métal usiné

Aussi longtemps que je m’en souvienne, je n’apprécie pas vraiment la qualité de finition des micros studio de Rode. En voyant le design du Rode NT2-A, j’ai tout de suite changé d’avis.

A priori, le micro à condensateur propose un visuel bien plus pensé que ses prédécesseurs. Ceci vous fera bénéficier d’une distorsion moins importante et d’une qualité audio supérieure.

NT2-A : Avec un design remarquable en métal
Image de audiofanzine.com

Le problème avec la plupart des microphones de home-studio à condensateur vient du fait qu’ils vibrent au toucher. En effet, en vous rapprochant des instruments acoustiques, vous ressentez des vibrations statiques au bout des doigts.

Ces vibrations proviennent de la pression sonore au niveau du diaphragme en basses fréquences sous l’influence du courant électronique. L’intensité de la source sonore perçue dépend probablement du préampli, de l’impédance du circuit et de la distance entre le boîtier et les capsules.

Plus la bobine pattern s’éloigne de la capsule, plus l’atténuation sera importante et le bruit de fond réduit au maximum. Le design du micro dynamique à interface audio Rode NT2-A répond justement à cette attente.

Rode NT2-A

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Ainsi, la sensibilité du micro est réduite à l’état analogique sous une coque de construction métallique robuste. Minimaliste, le micro pour guitare acoustique répond à des normes de conception mises en place par un ingénieur du son.

Vous bénéficiez d’une interface en métal massif coulé en usine, délicatement poli pour amplifier la dynamique des sons du monitor. Une grille faite d’acier se rajoute au niveau de la capsule pour assurer une bonne protection thermique de votre matériel de studio.

Un nickelage de qualité supérieure

Un point que je n’oublie pas de préciser, de même que le Rode NT-USB, le Rode NT2-A profite d’un nickelage de qualité pour réduire au mieux les résonances acoustiques et aiguës de son transformateur. En plus d’être doté d’un micro hautement fonctionnel, il s’équipe également d’un anneau de verrouillage et de quelques boutons optimaux.

Un matériel de studio simple d’utilisation à trois directivités
Image de fatllama.com

Rode NT2-A, un matériel de studio simple d’utilisation à trois directivités

Au même titre que le Bleu Yeti ou le microphone Yéti, le NT2-A de Rode peut condenser sur trois niveaux de directivité. A priori, il peut capturer et filtrer en parallèle trois modes opératoires au choix. Vous avez largement le choix entre une réponse en fréquences omnidirectionnelles, bidirectionnelles ou en directivité cardioïde.

Vous pouvez donc jouer sur différentes plages de sources sonores et de signal électrique à l’aide de sa bobine mobile de hautes fréquences. D’ailleurs, les percussions retenues se personnalisent en fonction du type d’enregistrement de la voix.

Rode NT2-A

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Devant les micros condensateurs, je constate la présence d’un signal électrique créé entre la plaque du matériel et la membrane. Ce champ électrique, symétrique s’obtient par alimentation de type fantôme à l’aide d’un câble micro ou encore d’une table de mixage.

On parlera surtout d’alimentation externe. Le microphone Rode NT2-A ne fait pas exception à cette règle. En effet, sa réponse en fréquence dépend d’un connecteur filaire/connectique et peut se placer sur un pied de micro. Vous êtes donc libre de prendre le micro et de le poser sur le matériel de base de votre studio d’enregistrement.

Pour mon cas, je l’apprécie particulièrement pour sa simplicité d’utilisation sur trépied Electronics et son niveau de percussion à multidirectiviter.

le Rode NT2-A répond à toutes les exigences sonores.
Image de theseasonedpodcaster.com

Une prise de son facilement réglable

Dans un sens où alimenter la dynamique d’un studio exige un micro de qualité le Rode NT2-A répond à toutes les exigences sonores.

En principe, il permet une prise de voix personnalisée de la bonnette et bande passante, sans carte son externe. Je prends le micro, je le règle comme il se doit et il commence à capter les sons produits en voix-off ou podcast.

Rode NT2-A

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Apparemment, je peux régler son filtre passe-haut sur trois niveaux : neutre, 40 Hz, 80 Hz. Je peux également régler le PAD à : 0, -5 ou -10 dB après que j’ai pris soin de brancher la perche sous-alimentation électrique.

Concernant le branchement électrostatique du microphone à condensateur, j’ai besoin d’une alimentation phantom de 48 V. Ainsi, si vous avez l’habitude d’utiliser seulement un câble USB pour votre casque audio, vous êtes contraint de changer vos habitudes avec ce dernier.

L’utilisation de ce transformateur vocal exige une console de mixage à disposition. Vous pouvez également vous servir d’un ampli extérieur connecté par Bluetooth.

Microphone NT2-A avec sa qualité audio remarquable
image de meilleur-microphone.info

Une qualité audio hors pair

Zoom sur la courbe de réponse du microphone Rode NT2-A de Rode et de sa qualité audio. Je constate surtout un ruban stéréo de même qualité que celui des micros Neumann.

En effet, son niveau de pression statique et acoustique dépasse bien le standard des appareils sur le marché de la sonorisation. En tout cas, son prix d’or en vaut bien la peine si je me réfère à la qualité des sons captés.

Rode NT2-A : pour tout type d'enregistrement
Image de

Pour me procurer du Rode NT2-A, je dois dépenser un peu plus qu’en achetant un NT1 ou NT2. Toutefois, je ne regrette rien avec ce que promet le micro de fabrication australienne à interfaces métalliques.

Avec les nombreux réglages du champ électrostatique réalisable, je bénéficie de plus de 27 possibilités de personnalisation de la stéréo. C’est d’autant plus appréciable en sachant qu’il se règle à l’aide de 3 boutons seulement sur sa coque rigide chromée.

Rode NT2-A

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

À la base, le son que produit votre microphone NT2-A reste sur une tonalité neutre et régulière en mode cardioïde. Par conséquent, il peut bien se comparer aux meilleurs microphones à condensateur à large diaphragme. Derrière votre casque audio, vous assistez à une prise de son naturel de haute qualité pour obtenir un rendu optimal.

En tant que capteur de voix de guitare acoustique, le NT2-A propose des performances professionnelles d’onde sonore. Sa manière de capter les ondes acoustiques répond donc largement aux attentes des guitaristes professionnels et des artistes de voix-off.

Et pour ce qui est de sa directivité en mode directionnel, la tonalité obtenue change légèrement, mais reste à la base plus discrète et plus appréciable.

Rode NT2-A : packaging
Image de musique-et-instruments.com

Rode NT2-A, un microphone discret, moins bruyant

Dans la gamme des microphones à condensateur à faible bruit de fond, le NT2-A de Rode reste le meilleur matériel de studio d’enregistrement. Apparemment, il propose un bruit d’entrée de 7 dBA, soit moins de 10 dBA comparés aux autres micros classiques. Concernant son rapport Signal/bruit, vous bénéficiez d’une plage variable de 87 dB à 1 kHz au maximum, et ce, même en SPL max.

Et pour faire le point sur sa réponse en fréquence, elle varie de 20 Hz à 20 kHz en fonction des ondes sonores et de la carte-son.

Rode NT2-A

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Note : Vous pouvez aussi consulter notre test complet et avis du microphone Rode Procaster. Ce guide vous présente les spécificités techniques, la qualité sonore, l’effet de proximité, le verdict, et les avis de ce microphone à condensateur.

Les caractéristiques techniques du Rode NT2-A

  • Fabrication : Australienne
  • Directivité : omnidirectionnel, cardioïde, bidirectionnel
  • Finition : construction métallique
  • Connecteur XLR
  • Filtre passe-haut : entre 40 et 80 Hz
  • Atténuation : -5 et -10 Db
  • Réponse en fréquence : 20 Hz – 20 kHz
  • Pression sonore : 147 – 157 dB
  • Sensibilité sonore : -36 dB
  • Impédance : 200 Ohms
  • Poids : 860 g
Notre Avis Global

Qualité Sonore Globale

4,0 /5
4/5

Rapport Qualité / Prix

4,8 /5
4.8/5

Note Globale

4,5 /5
4.5/5

Notre avis sur le Rode NT2-A

Le microphone à condensateur Rode NT2-A reste un excellent matériel de studio pour tout profil d’enregistreurs de voix-off. Le fait de proposer 3 différents niveaux de directivité lui permet de répondre à toutes les attentes en matière d’enregistrement en studio. Vous bénéficiez en plus d’une finition chromée sous fabrication australienne et d’une réduction optimale des bruits de fond.

Démo du Rode NT2-A

Offre Spéciale chez Rode🔥

Rode NT2-A

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

❤️ Découvrez d'autres Tests de Microphone à Condensateur :