All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

Rode NTG1

Test & Review

You want to acquire a high-performance portable microphone for use in the studio and outdoors. Rode NTG1 combines the best between maneuverability, dynamism and clarity of sound capture. This directional microphone is appreciated by videographers and sound engineers due to its compactness, robustness, versatility and the sound quality it provides. What makes the Rode NTG1 studio microphone different from a regular windscreen type of microphone? Let's take a complete look at the advantages and characteristics of this super-cardioid microphone!

Rode NTG1 Test & Review

🎤 by Kevin Jung

Summary of the Test 👇

Rode NTG1 Microphone Overview

The NTG1 is a type of directional condenser mic roughly similar to the Sennheiser MKH 416 . In a recording studio, we are often used to using a condenser microphone or a vocal microphone.

Such a type of microphone provides optimal acoustic clarity for sound capture of voices and high-pitched instruments such as guitars, synthesizers or even violins. Conversely, a dynamic microphone or an omnidirectional microphone is more suitable for outdoor use than in a home studio.

Rode NTG1 Purchase
RODE NTG1

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

This type of microphone remains ideal for recording or bass instruments Combining the best of the two, the NTG1 from Rode offers the advantage of being versatile, being compact and being equally suited to these two purposes of use.

When we refer to a condenser microphone , we can't help but think of an imposing and bulky piece of studio equipment This is not the case with this room microphone with two-level high-pass filter. In addition to being capable of offering sound quality well above average, the Rode NTG1 also remains a versatile studio microphone .

Its lightness and compactness give this stereo microphone the advantage of being suitable for both indoor and outdoor use. Less compact than a lavalier microphone, but small enough to be attached to a camcorder, the Rode NTG1 remains ideal for vocal and instrumental recording .

Rode NTG1 Packaging
Picture from Audiofanzine.fr

The functional side of NTG1

This directional condenser microphone remains as practical to use outdoors as a micro-USB. To do this, you just need to charge it with a phantom power supply . Whether you are a reporter, videographer, studio sound editor or podcast designer, you can use it perfectly to improve the quality of your audio recordings.

Like the Audio-Technica AT2035, the Rode NTG1 is also capable of withstanding fairly high sound pressure . This is why this cardioid microphone can serve as an ideal dynamic instrument for sound recording during film or documentary filming.

Rode NTG1 pro
Picture from Bswusa.com

The ideal pocket microphone for sound recording

Whatever recording technique you adopt when it comes to sound recording, audio quality must always come first. Whether operated at low or high frequency, this acoustic capture must offer sound clarity surpassing that of conventional analog tape capture.

This is why a large number of videographers choose to equip their camcorder with a Rode NTG1, Zoom H1 or H2 type bonnet microphone. The advantage of this approach lies above all in the fact that it easily allows you to isolate the sound and process it separately before editing the video.

You will obtain significantly better sound reproduction than with a Ultra HD camcorder equipped with an internal microphone. With an audio pickup sensitivity of between 36dB and 2dB, the super-cardioid directivity optimal sound pickup quality .

Moreover, this microphone comes with a dedicated anti-whistle windscreen. This has the effect of reducing noise pollution as much as possible during sound recordings that must be carried out outside.

Rode NTG1 Purchase
RODE NTG1

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Shure Motiv MV5 microphone review guide . This guide presents you with a complete test, as well as opinions on this microphone.

A microphone designed for multiple uses

The Rode NTG1 is above all a pocket condenser microphone appreciated for its versatility. The sensitivity of the microphone is surprising even though it is quite capable of withstanding quite powerful acoustic pressure.

As a result, the Rode NTG1 fulfills the role of both a condenser microphone and that of an omnidirectional microphone or a professional dynamic microphone . Concretely, this type of microphone guarantees outdoor recording quality equivalent to that usually achieved in a home studio.

Unlike a classic condenser microphone, however, the NTG1 allows you to capture quite powerful sounds outdoors , without generating the slightest sound saturation.

You now understand the interest for many users in purchasing a Rode NTG1 type microphone for producing their podcasts, their reports or their audio recordings. The NTG1 is also intended to be a Shotgun for professional use with a wide, polar frequency .

Rode NTG1 Professional
Picture from Worthpoint.com

The effect offered by the Rode NTG1 microphone

This directional microphone also offers a remarkable proximity effect to successfully , high-fidelity sound reproduction . In the same way as with a high-performance omnidirectional microphone, you can place yourself in front of Rode NTG1 condenser microphones and capture the sound as clearly as possible, whether outdoors or in a home studio.

This type of microphone is equipped with a phantom transformer powered at 48V to ensure better sound recording quality in a recording or broadcasting studio. Much more efficient than a simple USB microphone, the NTG1 from Rode is equipped with metal shockproof protection that is both light and robust.

As efficient as a condenser microphone with integrated amplifier, the NTG1 provides excellent bandwidth capture without the need to use an external amplifier.

Rode NTG1 Purchase
RODE NTG1

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

For sound recording in a home studio , however, it is recommended to use an acoustic, electric or electro-acoustic guitar amp to complete the recording of live sound from a phantom power source.

This directional condenser microphone also allows you to obtain high-level SPL vibrations without an anti-pop filter. The Rode NTG1 is an excellent choice of microphone to combine the best between the acoustic sensitivity of a condenser microphone and the sonic dynamism of an omnidirectional microphone.

All with the benefit of a lightweight, durable handheld microphone that lets you perfect your vocal and instrumental recording technique wherever you are.

All with the benefit of a lightweight, durable handheld microphone that lets you perfect your vocal and instrumental recording technique wherever you are.

Rode NTG1 Accessories
Picture from Sharegrid.com

A super-cardioid polar pattern microphone

The vast majority of omnidirectional microphones currently available feature a cardioid polar pattern . Although these microphones are efficient, as is the Rode NT1000, the Rode NTG1 offers much better by displaying a super-cardioid directivity in order to filter sound capture in both bass and treble.

The result is that this wireless and portable microphone provides recording quality equivalent to that of sound recording in a home studio. One of the major advantages of the NTG1 microphone from Rode also lies in the design of its coil transformer . This has the effect of improving the quality of sound recording .

All while promoting the response in a cardioid pattern to almost systematically eliminate noise nuisance and allow vocal or instrumental recording free of interference. In principle, classic microphones with cardioid polar pattern capture the sound waves emitted at their input, whether low or high.

Rode NTG1 Purchase
RODE NTG1

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

This directional sound pressure capture makes it possible to record sound more dynamically while minimizing interference. The problem with a simple cardioid microphone lies in the precision of the sounds thus captured.

Among the best studio microphones , the NTG1 directional microphone overcomes this problem by allowing sound pickup that is both dynamic and precise at the level of its diaphragm. The NTG1 focuses on sufficiently specific sound sources to minimize surrounding acoustic pressures while filtering sound capture as much as possible .

Focus on sound quality

The Rode NTG1 is a directional, super-cardioid condenser microphone. It is suitable for both outdoor and studio use. With a frequency response between 20 Hz and 20 Khz acoustic recording instrument in recording studios.

The NTG1 also provides a nominal impedance of 50 Ohms , which makes it possible to capture various sound vibrations . With a sound sensitivity between -36 and 2 decibels , this microphone also displays fairly precise acoustic pickup in stereo mode in both bass and treble.

Note also that the Rode NTG1 is capable of withstanding a maximum sound pressure of 139 dB . Which therefore allows you to record quite powerful sounds and reduce sound saturation very significantly. Be careful, however, because this type of microphone requires the use of a dedicated adapter for its 48 Volt .

Rode NTG1 Review
Picture from Worthpoint.com

Note : You can also check out our guide to ribbon microphones . Discover the best ribbon microphones in this guide if you are looking for a professional microphone for your studio.

The technical characteristics of the Rode NTG1 directional microphone

  • Type: condenser microphone
  • Style: Shotgun
  • Directivity: super-cardioid
  • Frequency response: 20 Hz – 20 kHz
  • Sensitivity: 1V/Pa
  • Load impedance: 1kΩ
  • SPL noise level: 139 dB
  • Power consumption: 2 mA
  • Phantom power: 48 Volts
  • Dimensions: Ø 22 x 219 mm
  • Weight: 105g

Accessories included:

  • WSVM wind shield
  • ZP1 zipped pouch
  • RM5 microphone clip
Rode NTG1 equipment
Picture from Fatllama.com
Rode NTG1 Purchase
Our Overall Opinion

Overall Sound Quality

4,9 /5
4.9/5

Value for money

4,4 /5
4.4/5

Global mark

4,6 /5
4.6/5

Our opinion on the Rode NTG1 microphone

Purchasing a Rode NTG1 type microphone remains ingenious. This is to ensure qualitative sound recording both in studios and outdoors, without the need to use a sound card. In addition, when designing this model, the Rode brand focused more on sound quality than on the dimensions of its recorder, its case and its connector. It is a microphone with lightweight capsules and a shockproof metal membrane that is both thin and resistant. This type of microphone also seems to have a fairly long durability. To this, the manufacturer adds the granting of a 10-year warranty for its Rode NTG1 super-cardioid directivity microphone.

Rode NTG1 Purchase
RODE NTG1

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Rode NTG1 Demo

Special Offer at Rode Microphone 🔥

RODE NTG1

PRICE COMPARISON 👇

❤️ Discover other Condenser Microphone Tests:

French

Tous les Microphones aux Meilleurs Prix 🎙

Rode NTG1 Test & Avis

Vous souhaitez acquérir un microphone portatif performant pour un usage en studio et en plein air. Rode NTG1 allie le meilleur entre maniabilité, dynamisme et netteté de captation sonore. Ce micro directionnel est apprécié des vidéastes et des ingénieurs du son de par sa compacité, sa robustesse, sa polyvalence et la qualité sonore qu’il confère. Qu’est-ce qui différencie le micro studio Rode NTG1 d’un type de micro à bonnette ordinaire ? Dressons un zoom complet sur les atouts et caractéristiques de ce microphone super-cardioïde !

Rode NTG1 Test & Avis

🎤 de Kevin Jung

Sommaire du Test 👇

Aperçu du microphone Rode NTG1

Le NTG1 est un type de micro directionnel à condensateur à peu près similaire au Sennheiser MKH 416. Dans un studio d’enregistrement, on a souvent l’habitude d’utiliser un micro statique ou un micro chant.

Un tel type de micro procure une netteté acoustique optimale pour la captation sonore de la voix et des instruments à tonalité aigüe comme les guitares, les synthétiseurs ou encore les violons. À l’inverse, un microphone dynamique ou un microphone omnidirectionnel répond plus à un usage en extérieur qu’en home-studio.

Rode NTG1 Achat
RODE NTG1

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Ce type de micro reste idéal pour la prise de son des instruments à percussion ou à tonalité grave. Alliant le meilleur entre les deux, le NTG1 de Rode offre à la fois l’avantage d’être polyvalent, d’être compact et de convenir aussi bien à ces deux finalités d’usage.

Lorsqu’on fait référence à un microphone à condensateur, on ne peut s’empêcher de penser à un matériel de studio imposant et volumineux. Ce qui n’est pas le cas de ce micro d’ambiance avec filtre passe-haut à deux niveaux. En plus d’être capable d’offrir une qualité sonore largement supérieure à la moyenne, le Rode NTG1 reste aussi un microphone de studio polyvalent.

Sa légèreté et sa compacité confèrent à ce micro stéréo l’avantage de convenir aussi bien à une utilisation en intérieur qu’en plein air. Moins compact qu’un micro-cravate, mais assez réduit pour être fixé sur un caméscope, le NTG1 de Rode reste idéal pour l’enregistrement vocal et instrumental.

Rode NTG1 Packaging
Image de Audiofanzine.fr

Le côté fonctionnel du NTG1

Ce micro directionnel à condensateur reste aussi pratique à utiliser en extérieur qu’un micro-USB. Il faudra juste, pour ce faire, qu’on le charge à une alimentation phantom. Que vous soyez reporter, vidéaste, monteur de son en studio ou concepteur de podcast, vous pouvez parfaitement en faire usage pour soigner la qualité de vos enregistrements audio.

De même que l’Audio-Technica AT2035, le NTG1 de Rode est aussi capable de supporter une pression acoustique assez élevée. C’est pourquoi ce microphone à directivité cardioïde peut servir d’instrument dynamique idéal pour la prise sonore d’un tournage de film ou de documentaire.

Rode NTG1 pro
Image de Bswusa.com

Le microphone de poche idéal pour la prise sonore

Quelle que soit la technique d’enregistrement que vous allez adopter en matière de prise sonore, la qualité audio doit toujours primer. Qu’elle soit opérée à basse ou à haute fréquence, cette captation acoustique doit offrir une netteté sonore surpassant celle d’une captation analogique conventionnelle à ruban.

C’est d’ailleurs pour cette raison qu’un grand nombre de vidéastes choisissent d’équiper leur caméscope d’un microphone à bonnet de type Rode NTG1, Zoom H1 ou H2. L’avantage avec cette approche réside avant tout dans le fait qu’elle vous permet facilement d’isoler le son et de le traiter à part avant d’effectuer le montage vidéo.

Vous obtiendrez des rendus sonores nettement meilleurs qu’avec un caméscope Ultra HD sophistiqué et équipé d’un micro interne. Avec une sensibilité de captation audio comprise entre 36dB et 2dB, le microphone à directivité super cardioïde Rode NTG1 assure une qualité de prise sonore optimale.

D’ailleurs, ce microphone est livré avec une bonnette anti-sifflement dédiée. Ce qui a pour effet de réduire au maximum la nuisance sonore pendant les prises sonores qu’on doit effectuer à l’extérieur.

Rode NTG1 Achat
RODE NTG1

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

En passant, vous pouvez aussi consulter notre guide de test du microphone Shure Motiv MV5. Ce guide vous présente un test complet, ainsi que les avis sur ce microphone.

Un microphone conçu pour de multiples usages

Le Rode NTG1 est avant tout un micro électrostatique de poche apprécié pour sa polyvalence. La sensibilité du micro est surprenante alors qu’il est tout à fait capable de supporter une pression acoustique assez puissante.

Il en résulte que le NTG1 de Rode remplit à la fois le rôle d’un micro statique et celui d’un micro omnidirectionnel ou d’un microphone dynamique pro. Concrètement, ce type de micro permet de garantir une qualité d’enregistrement en extérieur équivalente à celle qu’on réalise habituellement en home-studio.

À la différence d’un microphone électrostatique classique toutefois, le NTG1 permet de capturer des sons assez puissants en extérieur, sans générer la moindre saturation sonore.

Vous comprenez maintenant l’intérêt pour bon nombre d’utilisateurs d’acheter un micro de type Rode NTG1 pour la réalisation de leurs podcasts, de leurs reportages ou de leurs prises audio. Le NTG1 se veut aussi être un Shotgun à usage professionnel avec une large réponse en fréquence de diagramme polaire hautement contrôlée.

Rode NTG1 Professionnel
Image de Worthpoint.com

L’effet offert du micro NTG1 de Rode

Ce micro directionnel offre aussi un effet de proximité remarquable pour réussir à générer un rendu sonore épuré et de haute fidélité. De la même façon qu’avec un micro omnidirectionnel performant, vous pouvez vous placer devant les micros statiques de type Rode NTG1 et capturer le son le plus nettement possible que ce soit à l’extérieur ou en home-studio.

Ce type de micro est doté d’un transformateur phantom alimenté à 48V pour assurer une meilleure qualité de prise de son dans un studio d’enregistrement ou de radiodiffusion. Bien plus performant qu’un simple microphone USB, le NTG1 de Rode est équipé d’une protection antichoc métallique à la fois légère et robuste.

Aussi performant qu’un micro statique avec ampli intégré, le NTG1 permet de couvrir une excellente captation de bande-passante sans qu’il soit nécessaire d’utiliser un amplificateur externe.

Rode NTG1 Achat
RODE NTG1

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Pour le cas d’une prise sonore en home-studio, il est toutefois recommandé d’employer un ampli de guitare acoustique, électrique ou électro-acoustique pour parfaire l’enregistrement de son en direct depuis une source d’alimentation phantom.

Ce micro directionnel à condensateur permet aussi d’obtenir des vibrations SPL de haut niveau et sans filtre anti pop. Le Rode NTG1 est un excellent choix de microphone pour allier le meilleur entre la sensibilité acoustique d’un micro statique et le dynamisme sonore d’un microphone omnidirectionnel.

Le tout avec l’avantage d’un microphone portatif léger et résistant qui vous permet de perfectionner votre technique d’enregistrement vocal et instrumental où que vous soyez.

Le tout avec l’avantage d’un microphone portatif léger et résistant qui vous permet de perfectionner votre technique d’enregistrement vocal et instrumental où que vous soyez.

Rode NTG1 Accessoires
Image de Sharegrid.com

Un microphone à directivité super-cardioïde

La grande majorité des microphones omnidirectionnels actuellement disponibles affichent une directivité cardioïde. Bien que ces micros soient performants, de même que le Rode NT1000, le Rode NTG1 propose bien mieux en affichant une directivité super-cardioïde afin de filtrer la captation sonore aussi bien dans les graves que dans les aigus.

Il en résulte que ce microphone sans fil et portatif procure une qualité d’enregistrement équivalente à celle d’une prise sonore en home-studio. L’un des avantages majeurs du microphone NTG1 de Rode réside aussi dans la conception de son transformateur à bobine. Ce qui a pour effet d’améliorer la qualité de prise sonore.

Le tout en favorisant la réponse en diagramme cardioïde pour éliminer quasi systématiquement la nuisance de bruit et permettre une prise vocale ou instrumentale dépourvue d’interférences. En principe, les micros classiques à directivité cardioïde captent les ondes sonores qui sont émises à leur entrée, qu’elles soient basses ou aigües.

Rode NTG1 Achat
RODE NTG1

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Cette captation de pression acoustique directionnelle permet d’enregistrer le son de façon plus dynamique tout en réduisant au mieux les interférences. Le souci avec un simple micro cardioïde réside au niveau de la précision de sons ainsi captés.

Parmi les meilleurs microphones studio, le micro directionnel NTG1 permet de pallier ce souci en permettant une prise sonore à la fois dynamique et précise au niveau de son diaphragme. Le NTG1 se focalise sur des sources sonores assez pointues pour minimiser les pressions acoustiques avoisinantes tout en filtrant la captation sonore au maximum.

Zoom sur la qualité sonore

Le Rode NTG1 est un microphone à condensateur à la fois directionnel et super-cardioïde. Il convient aussi bien à une utilisation en extérieur que dans les studios. Avec une réponse en fréquences comprise entre 20 Hz et 20 Khz, ce type de micro peut parfaitement servir d’instrument de prise acoustique dans les studios d’enregistrement.

Le NTG1 confère aussi une impédance nominale de 50 Ohms, ce qui permet largement de capter diverses vibrations sonores. Avec une sensibilité sonore comprise entre -36 et 2 décibels, ce micro affiche aussi une captation acoustique assez précise en mode stéréo aussi bien dans les basses que dans les aigus.

À noter par ailleurs que le NTG1 de Rode est capable de supporter une pression acoustique maximale de 139 dB. Ce qui vous permet donc d’enregistrer des sons assez puissants et de réduire la saturation sonore de façon très significative. Attention toutefois, car ce type de micro requiert l’usage d’un adaptateur dédié pour son alimentation phantom de 48 Volts.

Rode NTG1 Test
Image de Worthpoint.com

Note : Vous pouvez aussi consulter notre guide sur les microphones à ruban. Découvrez sur ce guide les meilleurs micros à ruban si vous êtes à la recherche d’un micro professionnel pour votre studio.

Les caractéristiques techniques du microphone directionnel Rode NTG1

  • Type : micro à condensateur
  • Style : Shotgun
  • Directivité : super-cardioïde
  • Réponse en fréquence : 20 Hz – 20 kHz
  • Sensibilité : 1V/Pa
  • Impédance de charge : 1kΩ
  • Niveau de bruit SPL : 139 dB
  • Consommation électrique : 2 mA
  • Alimentation phantom : 48 Volts
  • Dimensions : Ø 22 x 219 mm
  • Poids : 105 g

Accessoires inclus :

  • Pare-vent WSVM
  • Pochette zippée ZP1
  • Pince micro RM5
Rode NTG1 équipement
Image de Fatllama.com
Rode NTG1 Achat
Notre Avis Global

Qualité Sonore Globale

4,9 /5
4.9/5

Rapport Qualité / Prix

4,4 /5
4.4/5

Note Globale

4,6 /5
4.6/5

Notre avis sur le microphone Rode NTG1

L’achat d’un microphone de type Rode NTG1 reste ingénieux. Cela pour assurer une prise sonore qualitative aussi bien dans les studios qu’en extérieur, sans nécessité d’utiliser une carte-son. De plus, au moment de concevoir ce modèle, la marque Rode s’est focalisée davantage sur la qualité sonore que sur les dimensions de son enregistreur, de son boîtier et de son connecteur. C’est un micro doté de capsules légères et d’une membrane métallique antichoc à la fois fine et résistante. Ce type de micro semble aussi afficher une durabilité assez longue. À cela, le constructeur ajoute l’octroi d’une garantie de 10 ans pour son microphone à directivité super-cardioïde Rode NTG1.

Rode NTG1 Achat
RODE NTG1

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Démo Rode NTG1

Offre Spéciale chez Rode Micro 🔥

Rode NTG1 Achat
RODE NTG1

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

❤️ Découvrez d'autres Tests de Microphone à Condensateur :