All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

Dynamic Microphone

Comparison & Test
Microphone Dynamique Studio

Discover all the dynamic microphone reviews for recording studios or live performance. As opposed to condenser microphones, not all dynamic microphones require external power (phantom power). The most prestigious brands are Shure, AKG, Electro Voice, Beyerdynamic, Sennheiser and Audio-Technica.

Good to know: Dynamic microphones are most commonly used for recording vocals and acoustic instruments in concert (live) but also for studio recording.

What’s a Dynamic Microphone? 🧐

Today, microphones are part of our daily lives. Did you know that a microphone is also called an electroacoustic transducer? Its primary function is to transform an acoustic oscillation into an electrical oscillation. This is precisely the case with the dynamic microphone.

The Working Method of a Dynamic Microphone 🛠

To understand how a microphone works, it’ s important to know the different parts that constitute it (or its anatomy). A dynamic microphone can be divided into three parts:

  • The transducer element characterized by the physical principle involved in the energy transformation
  • The microphone housing plays an important role in one of the qualities of a microphone ( directivity)
  • The AC voltage generator with internal resistor

Microphone Classification ✅

It’s possible to classify microphones according to some characteristics:

  • According to their uses:
    • Service microphones
    • Microphones for sound recording
    • The measuring microphones
  • Depending on the conversion mode of the transducer :
    • Electrodynamics
    • Electrostatic
    • Piezoelectric
    • Carbon microphone
  • Depending on the directivity type:
    • Omnidirectional microphone
    • Bi-directional microphone
    • Unidirectional microphone
  • According to the action mode or the attack mode of the diaphragm by the acoustic wave:
    • Pressure microphones
    • Pressure gradient microphones
    • Mixed microphones

As you can see, the world of microphones is very wide. To be more exact, we will focus on electrodynamic microphones, usually called dynamic microphones.

Description and Working Methods 👍

The dynamic microphone has a very thin diaphragm. It’ s very thin and is attached to the coil. The coil is made with copper wires of a total length of 2 to 4 meters. It must be as lightweight as possible, because it will move in the air gap of a fixed permanent magnet with an induction of about 1 Tesla. The operating principle of a dynamic moving-coil microphone is based on Faraday’s law. In simple terms, the variation of magnetic flux through a closed circuit causes an electric current to appear, called the induced current.

Faced with a sound source, the diaphragm will start to vibrate. The coil which is mechanically attached to it will also move. It is this back and forth movement that will generate an electric current within the coil. The output level is low, but can be amplified up to a certain level without problem. To do this, we can use a pre-amp that can be found in the input circuits of a mixing console for example.

Size of a capsule for an Electrodynamic Microphone 🎤

The uninitiated may think that dynamic microphones generate noise by themselves because of their built-in active circuitry. But, all circuits have an electrical circuit that will produce noise. Higher is the resistor, higher is the noise. In addition, the impact of air molecules on the microphone diaphragm will generate noise.

A large diaphragm is a major advantage, because the sound is generated from the impact of the air molecules. A large diaphragm is a good thing, because the sound is generated from the impact of the air molecules. A large diaphragm will give a better result. Usually, dynamic microphones are available in omnidirectional and cardioid versions. For this type of microphone, it’ s impossible to use more than one diaphragm. Therefore, each model is normally designed to offer only one type of directional response.

Bandwidth to Dynamic Microphone Response Curve 📈

The bandwidth of a microphone is its ability to reproduce the frequencies it picks up. Dynamic microphones have a much smaller bandwidth than condenser microphone. In fact, microphone manufacturers will reduce the bandwidth in order to adapt the microphone to specific types of sound recording. In the example of a dynamic microphone, this bandwidth will be between 80 Hz and 15,000 Hz. This is the frequency range of the voice.

The response curve corresponds to the character of the microphone. In other words, it will show the response of the various frequencies included in its bandwidth. It takes the form of a diagram showing peaks and troughs as a function of the frequencies picked up by the microphone. In general, the response curve of a dynamic microphone is fairly linear over a frequency range from 30 Hz to 10 kHz.

Phantom Power and Dynamic Microphone 👻

Usually a phantom power supply is used to activate the condenser of an electrostatic microphone and to power the small built-in amplifier. Some dynamic microphones have such an amplifier. In this situation, we speak of an active microphone. Passive dynamic microphones don’t need an external power supply. However, if they are supplied with power, they cannot be damaged. There is, however, one condition: you must use the correct cable.

General Specifications of a Dynamic Microphone 🤙

A dynamic microphone is omnidirectional. It has a fairly low sensitivity and will require the use of a microphone preamplifier. It can handle sound pressure levels of up to about 180 dB SPL. Its response curve is more or less linear over a frequency range of 30 Hz to 10 kHz. It is, however, much less accurate than a condenser microphone.

The dynamic microphone is not very sensitive to wind, as opposed to vibrations. This is caused by its high inertia resulting from the mass of the coil. Manual operation may be difficult unless the microphone is equipped with a shock filter. Otherwise, the use of a stand or tripod is recommended. In addition, it’ s a stable and very robust microphone. It is not very sensitive to moisture, which makes it the ultimate weapon for external use.

When should I use a Dynamic Microphone? 🧐

There is no rule concerning the choice of studio microphone. It all depends on the sound you want to achieve. This is the criterion for choosing a microphone.

However, dynamic microphones are able to handle very high sound volumes. This is why they are used for recording a bass drum or a snare drum. They can also be used for recording wind instruments such as saxophone, trumpet or clarinet. They are also the ideal recording equipment to pick up high volume guitar amps. They can be used on stage or in a recording studio.

They can also be used for vocal recording. The sound will not be as detailed as when used on an instrument, but it will still be acceptable. However, if you are recording metal or rock music, the result will surprise you.

However, as with ribbon microphones, the output level of dynamic microphones is quite low. They therefore require the use of a good amplifier. In some cases, the microphone requires a high gain to work properly.

On the market, you can find dynamic microphones that require about 60 dB of gain to achieve optimum results. This is higher than what is usually found on a mixer and on entry-level and mid-range audio interfaces.

In this case, we recommend the use of a Cloudlifter. This is a preamp with a high-performance circuit that can add up to +25 dB to your signal. The result is exceptional sound quality. Of course, it's not essential for all dynamic microphones.

To improve sound quality, you can also use an anti-pop filter, or a windscreen to limit plosives.

The advantages and disadvantages of a Dynamic Microphone 👊

The dynamic microphones have many advantages over its competitors. They have an exceptional quality/price ratio. They are not only very robust microphones, but they are also relatively inexpensive. Their resistance gives them a great deal of versatility. Indeed, this type of microphone will always find a place whether on stage or in the studio. They can also handle high sound pressure levels.

Nevertheless, they also have some disadvantages. One of these is the sensitivity of the microphone. The coil, which has a fairly large mass, is attached to the diaphragm. The movement of the diaphragm is limited by the weight of the coil. This will result in a loss of sensitivity, especially in the high frequencies. Usually, a dynamic microphone is designed to operate effectively up to 16 kHz. Above this frequency, the sensitivity of the microphone will drop considerably.

Technological advances have enabled new materials to be used in the design of dynamic microphones. One example is the use of neodymium for the magnetic structure. It provides a much stronger magnetic field. It also allows the use of a much smaller coil. This allows the diaphragm to move more rapidly in the high frequencies. This is what has enabled some manufacturers to equip their microphones with a frequency response of up to 20 kHz.

The output level of the dynamic microphone is also a weakness. Dynamic microphones require a great deal of amplification. If the sounds being recorded are loud and close to the microphone, this is not a problem. However, if the sounds are weak and/or distant, they will require amplification. The result will be too loud. This is one of the reasons why dynamic microphones are not used for recording instruments such as the acoustic guitar.

The Dynamic Microphone in a few words 📝

The dynamic microphone as the EV RE20 represents the best value for money. In fact, in its category, you can find high-performance, versatile microphones at an unbeatable price. Typically, its frequency response curve is good, giving it good sensitivity and clear, crisp sound. It's a professional microphone for vocals and various types of instruments. Extremely robust, this type of microphone can withstand fairly violent shocks without affecting its performance.

Our selection of Dynamic Microphones ❤️

For reference, we have made a selection of the best microphones on the market. It’ s important to note that before buying a microphone, you should try it out. Remember that each microphone produces a unique sound.

Microphone Dynamique Comparatif et Test

Microphone Dynamique Studio

Découvrez tous les tests de microphone dynamique pour les studios d'enregistrement ou le live. Contrairement aux microphones à condendateur, les micros dynamiques ne demandent pas tous une alimentation externe (alimentation fantôme). Les marques les plus prestigieuses sont Shure, AKG, Electro Voice, Beyerdynamic, Sennheiser et Audio-Technica.

À savoir : les microphones dynamiques sont les plus utilisés dans la prise voix et instruments acoustiques en concert (live) mais aussi pour l'enregistrement en studio.

❤️ Découvrez nos Tests de Microphone Dynamique 👇

C'est quoi un Microphone Dynamique ? 🧐

Actuellement, les microphones font partie de notre vie quotidienne. Saviez-vous qu’un microphone est également appelé transducteur électroacoustique ? En effet, sa première fonction est de transformer une oscillation acoustique en une oscillation électrique. C’est justement le cas du microphone dynamique.

Le Principe de fonctionnement d’un Microphone Dynamique 🛠

Pour connaitre le fonctionnement d’un microphone, il est important de connaître les différentes parties qui le constituent (ou son anatomie). Un microphone dynamique peut être divisé en trois parties : 

  • L’élément transducteur caractérisé par le principe physique mis en jeu pour la transformation d’énergie, 
  • Le boitier du microphone jouant un rôle important sur une des qualités d’un microphone (notamment la directivité),
  • Le générateur de tension alternative possédant une résistance interne. 

La Classification des Microphones ✅

Il est possible de classer les microphones en fonction de certains critères :

  • En fonction de leurs utilisations : 
    • Les microphones de service
    • Les microphones de prise de son
    • les microphones de mesure
  • Selon le mode de conversion du transducteur :
    • Électrodynamique
    • Électrostatique
    • Piézoélectrique
    • Microphone à charbon
  • En fonction de leur type de directivité :
    • Micro omnidirectionnel
    • Micro bidirectionnel
    • Micro unidirectionnel
  • D’après le mode d’action ou le mode d’attaque du diaphragme par l’onde acoustique :
    • Micros à pression
    • Micros à gradient de pression 
    • Micros mixtes

Comme on peut le constater, l’univers des microphones est très large. Pour être beaucoup plus précis, nous allons porter toute notre attention sur les microphones électrodynamiques communément appelés microphones dynamiques. 

Description et principes de Fonctionnement 👍

Le microphone dynamique se compose d’un diagramme très mince appelé membrane. Elle est très légère et solidaire à la bobine. La bobine est quant à elle formée de fils de cuivre d’une longueur totale de 2 à 4 mètres. Elle doit être la plus légère possible, car elle va se déplacer dans l’entrefer d’un aimant permanent fixe dont l’induction vaut environ un tesla. Le principe de fonctionnement d’un microphone dynamique à bobine mobile est basé sur la loi de Faraday. Pour faire simple, la variation du flux magnétique au travers d’un circuit fermé provoque l’apparition d’un courant électrique, appelé courant induit. 

Face à une source sonore, le diaphragme va se mettre à vibrer. La bobine qui lui est mécaniquement solidaire bougera également. C’est ce mouvement de va-et-vient qui va générer un courant électrique au sein du bobinage. Le niveau de sortie est faible, mais pourra sans problème être amplifié jusqu’à un certain niveau. Pour cela, on peut utiliser un pré ampli que l’on retrouvera au niveau des circuits d’entrée d’une table de mixage par exemple. 

Dimensions de la Capsule d’un Microphone Électrodynamique 🎤

Les non-connaisseurs peuvent avoir tendance à penser que les microphones dynamiques génèrent du bruit par eux-mêmes à cause de leur circuit actif intégré. Mais, tous les circuits comportent un circuit électrique qui va produire du bruit. Plus la résistance est élevée, plus le bruit est important. De plus, l’impact des molécules d’air sur le diaphragme du microphone va générer du bruit.

Un grand diaphragme représente alors un atout majeur, car le son est généré à partir des impacts des molécules d’air. Plus le diaphragme est large, plus on aura un meilleur résultat. Généralement, les microphones dynamiques sont disponibles en version omnidirectionnelle et cardioïde. Pour ce type de micro, il est impossible d’utiliser plus d’un diaphragme. De ce fait, chaque modèle est normalement conçu pour n’offrir qu’un seul type de réponse directionnelle. 

La bande passante à la Courbe de Réponse d’un Microphone Dynamique 📈

La bande passante d’un microphone constitue la capacité d’un micro à restituer les fréquences qu’il capte. Celle des microphones dynamiques est beaucoup plus réduite par rapport à celui d’un microphone à condensateur. Dans la pratique, les constructeurs de microphones vont réduire la bande passante pour les adapter à certains types de prises de son. Dans le cas d’un microphone dynamique, cette bande s’étendra entre 80 Hz et 15 000 Hz. Cela représente les fréquences de la voix. 

La courbe de réponse correspondra au caractère du micro. Autrement dit, elle va monter la réponse des différentes fréquences incluses dans sa bande passante. Elle se présente sous la forme d’un diagramme qui permettra de visualiser les pics et les creux en fonction des fréquences captées par le micro. En général, la courbe de réponse d’un microphone dynamique est assez linéaire sur une bande de fréquence comprise entre 30 Hz et 10 kHz.

L’alimentation Fantôme et le Microphone Dynamique 👻

Généralement, pour activer le condensateur d’un micro électrostatique et pour alimenter le petit amplificateur intégré, on utilise une alimentation fantôme. Certains micros dynamiques disposent d’un tel amplificateur. Dans ce cas, on parlera d’un microphone actif. Les microphones dynamiques passifs n’ont pas besoin d’une alimentation externe. Mais, s’ils en reçoivent, cela ne pourra pas les endommager. Il y a cependant une condition : il faut utiliser un câble correct. 

Les Caractéristiques Générales d’un Microphone Dynamique 🤙

Un microphone dynamique est omnidirectionnel. Il présente une sensibilité assez faible et va donc nécessiter l’utilisation d’un pré ampli. Il peut gérer une pression acoustique allant jusqu’à environ 180 dB SPL. Sa courbe de réponse est plus ou moins linéaire sur une bande de fréquence comprise entre 30 Hz et 10 kHz. Il est cependant beaucoup moins précis que le microphone à condensateur. 

Le microphone dynamique est peu sensible au vent, contrairement aux vibrations. Cela s’explique par sa grande inertie du fait de la masse de la bobine. Une utilisation manuelle peut donc être difficile à moins que le microphone soit doté d’un filtre anti choc. Dans le cas contraire, il est recommandé d’utiliser une perche ou un trépied. En outre, c’est un microphone stable et très robuste. Il est peu sensible à l’humidité ce qui fait de lui l’ultime arme pour une utilisation externe. 

Quand utiliser un Microphone Dynamique ? 🧐

En studio, il n’y a pas de règle concernant le choix d’un micro. Tout dépend du son qu’on veut obtenir. C’est en fonction de ce critère que l’on va orienter le choix d’un microphone. Toutefois, les microphones dynamiques sont capables de supporter des volumes sonores très élevés. C’est la raison pour laquelle ils sont utilisés pour enregistrer pour une grosse caisse, ou une caisse claire. Ils peuvent également être appliqués pour la prise de son des instruments à vent tels que le saxophone, la trompette ou la clarinette. C’est aussi le matériel d’enregistrement idéal pour piquer des amplis guitare à haut volume. Ils trouvent facilement leur place que ce soit sur scène ou dans un studio d’enregistrement. 

Ils peuvent aussi servir pour un enregistrement vocal. Le son ne sera pas aussi détaillé que lorsqu’il est utilisé sur un instrument, mais il restera tout de même acceptable. Par contre, si vous enregistrez du métal ou du rock, le résultat vous surprendra. 

Cependant, comme pour les microphones à ruban, le niveau de sortie des microphones dynamiques est assez faible. Ils nécessitent donc l’utilisation d’un bon amplificateur. Dans certains cas de figure, le microphone demande un gain important pour fonctionner correctement. Sur le marché, on peut voir des microphones dynamiques ayant besoin d’environ 60 dB de gain pour obtenir un résultat optimal. C’est une valeur supérieure à ce qu’on retrouve habituellement sur une table de mixage et sur les interfaces audio d’entrée et de milieu de gamme. Dans ce cas, il est recommandé d’utiliser un Cloudlifter. Il s’agit d’un pré ampli doté d’un circuit particulièrement performant permettant d’ajouter jusqu’à +25 dB à votre signal. Grâce à ce matériel, vous obtiendrez une qualité sonore exceptionnelle. Il va de soi que ce n’est pas un matériel indispensable pour tous les microphones dynamiques. 

Pour améliorer la qualité sonore, vous pouvez également utiliser un filtre anti pop ou une bonnette pour limiter les plosives. 

Les avantages et inconvénients d’un Microphone Dynamique 👊

Les micros dynamiques présentent de nombreux avantages par rapport à ses congénères. Ils présentent un rapport qualité/prix exceptionnel. Non seulement ce sont des microphones très robustes, mais en plus ils sont relativement peu chers. Sa résistance lui confère une certaine polyvalence. En effet, ce type de micro trouvera toujours une place que ce soit sur scène ou en studio. Ils peuvent également gérer des niveaux de pression acoustique importante. 

Néanmoins, ils présentent également certains inconvénients. La sensibilité du microphone en fait partie. La bobine, qui a une masse assez conséquente, est attachée au diaphragme. Le mouvement de ce dernier sera alors limité par le poids de la bobine. Cela entraînera une perte de la sensibilité surtout dans les aiguës. Généralement, un microphone dynamique est conçu pour fonctionner efficacement jusqu’à 16 kHz. Au-delà de cette fréquence, la sensibilité du micro va chuter considérablement. 

Grâce aux avancées technologiques, de nouveaux matériaux ont pu servir pour la conception des microphones dynamiques. On peut citer comme exemple l’utilisation du néodyme pour la structure magnétique. Il fournit un champ magnétique beaucoup plus intense. Il permet également l’utilisation d’une bobine beaucoup plus petite. Cela va alors permettre au diaphragme de se déplacer plus rapidement dans les hautes fréquences. C’est ce qui a permis à certains constructeurs de doter leurs microphones d’une réponse en fréquence pouvant aller jusqu’à 20 kHz. 

Le niveau de sortie du microphone dynamique figure également parmi ses faiblesses. En effet, les microphones dynamiques nécessitent une amplification importante. Si les sons qu’on va capter sont forts et proches du micro, cela ne constitue pas un problème. Cependant, s’il s’agit de sons faibles et/ou distants, cela exigera une amplification. Le résultat deviendra alors trop bruyant. C’est l’une des raisons pour lesquelles les micros dynamiques ne sont pas utilisés pour l’enregistrement d’instruments comme la guitare acoustique. 

Le Microphone Dynamique en quelques mots 📝

Le microphone dynamique représente le meilleur rapport qualité/prix. En effet, dans sa catégorie, on peut retrouver des microphones performants et polyvalents à un prix défiant toute concurrence. Habituellement, sa courbe de réponse en fréquence est bonne, ce qui lui confère une bonne sensibilité et un son clair et net. C’est un micro professionnel permettant la prise de voix et la capture de divers types d’instruments. Très robuste, ce type de micro peut très bien encaisser des chocs assez violents sans pour autant affecter sa performance. 

Notre sélection de Microphones Dynamiques ❤️

Pour une prise de référence, nous avons effectué une sélection parmi les meilleurs microphones sur le marché. Il est tout de même important de noter qu’avant d’acheter un microphone, pensez à l’essayer. N’oublions pas que chaque microphone produit un son unique en son genre.

  • Shure SM58 : Le micro chant le plus prisé des chanteurs.
  • Shure SM57 : Un micro polyvalent que l’on retrouve quasiment partout : sur scène ou en studios.
  • Shure SM7B : Le microphone le plus connu du monde.