All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

Rode PodMic

Test & Review

Do you want to choose the best microphone for your gaming session, or for podcasting, or even broadcasting? You can opt for the Rode PodMic Broadcast quality dynamic microphone to successfully record your podcast. This guide gives you a complete review of this omnidirectional microphone.

Rode PodMic

🎤 by Kevin Jung

Summary of the Test 👇

You will like to acquire the perfect microphone for broadcasting , for podcasting , or for gaming , but you are still hesitant in choosing the best dynamic instrument to choose. If so, then why not go for the Rode PodMic dynamic microphone?

Designed for podcasting, this dynamic microphone provides recording quality that is well above average. Many professional users have tested it. Almost all of them are convinced of the hyper-capacity of this omnidirectional microphone to capture medium and low frequency sounds.

They also agree to confirm that the Rode PodMic perfectly records all types of voice-overs , dialogues , speeches and conversations . In the following lines, let's take a complete zoom to discover the true potential of this professional microphone!

Rode PodMic Package
Picture from Amazon.com

Rode PodMic Microphone Overview

The Rode PodMic is an omnidirectional microphone that performs almost the same functions as the Neumann, the Rode NT USB pro microphone , the Yeti and the Blue yeti. The Rode PodMic, however, differs from these types of studio microphones, due to the technology it uses in terms of connectivity .

Indeed, although the Rode PodMic, like the microphones mentioned above (for the most part), does not require the use of phantom power, it does not have a Plug-and-Play function. Indeed, unlike most microphones that can be plugged directly into a computer via USB port or mini-jack, the Rode PodMic has XLR connectivity .

This therefore means that you must use a mixing desk (Rode Caster Pro type) or a preamp (2i2 Second Gen type). This makes it possible in particular to amplify the dynamics of the vocal recording and to ensure impeccable recording sound quality.

Rode podmic review
RODE PODMIC

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Obviously, the Rode PodMic dynamic microphone is superbly equipped to allow qualitative sound recording in a home studio and over a long period of time.

The microphone is equipped with a very robust metal construction and also has a very solid fixing system. It can be installed either on a fixed microphone support (like a simple microphone stand) or on an articulated mounting arm. So you won't have to hold this microphone by hand.

According to the manufacturer, the microphone weighs a total of 937 GR. Which may seem (at first glance) quite heavy compared to other types of microphones such as the Neumann, the Sennheiser MKH 416 or the Rode NT-USB.

On the design side, we can nevertheless say that Rode has thought of everything to offer a very neat appearance to its “PodMic” dynamic microphone model dedicated to podcasters.

Rode PodMic packaging
Picture from shopify.com

Rode PodMic: a professional microphone designed for podcasting

Choosing a good dynamic microphone determines the successful recording of any podcast. The Rode PodMic offers everything to help any podcaster achieve this goal. Specially designed to meet this need for use, this professional microphone effectively allows voice recording for speech , dialogue and voice-over recording .

The same applies to any voice taking and voice recording for rap and hip-hop singing. Equipped with an anti-pop filter, an attachment for a fixed support and an articulated arm, the PodMic will offer all types of vocal timbres an exceptional dimension for expression (or speech).

Rode PodMic: zoom on the technical features

The Rode PodMic is a professional dynamic microphone specifically designed to optimize voice recording quality for broadcasting, podcasts and voice-over recording. It's also the best microphone made for gaming and streaming. Equipped with a high-quality pop filter, this microphone provides incredible sound clarity by reducing occlusive sounds as much as possible.

Rode podmic review
RODE PODMIC

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

The Rode PodMic is also designed to limit vibrations and handling noise . This microphone dedicated to vocal recording in professional recording studios remains versatile enough to adapt to (almost) all types of microphone preamplifier with XLR connectivity.

Its all-metal construction gives it good robustness and also guarantees a sufficiently long service life. Its great compatibility of use with the Rode Caster Pro mixer also makes it a formidable dynamic instrument for studio recording.

This particularly allows this microphone to be used for voice audio capture as well as for the sound recording of acoustic instruments of various types. For Broadcast, the dynamic description of its capsule provides remarkable audio recording quality .

Equipped with an integrated swivel stand, this microphone ensures optimal stability to reduce vibration and handling noise. Remember that it is not necessary to hold this microphone by hand to optimize voice recording quality . You can even easily attach it to a dedicated mic stand.

Use: Rode PodMic
Picture from Rode.com

Focus on the advantages and qualities of the Rode PodMic microphone

When designing its PodMic microphone model for podcasts, the Rode brand thought of everything to make it a powerful and formidable dynamic audio recording instrument.

Robust and reliable design, exceptional quality sound recording, great ease of use , perfect flexibility and more versatility... Here, in a few lines, is an overview of the true potential that this professional microphone contains.

Now let's see in detail what distinguishes this professional dynamic microphone from other types of cardioid microphones.

Rode podmic review
RODE PODMIC

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

In addition, discover our comparison guide between the Audio-Technica AT2035 and the Rode NT1 . This guide offers you a duel on the polar pattern, a duel on the robustness, a duel on the characteristics and functions, and a small verdict on the two microphones.

Design quality and reliability:

Featuring a sturdy structure made entirely of metal, the Rode PodMic has been designed to offer durability well above average. Its articulated microphone arm support offers sufficient strength and also provides great flexibility to adapt to almost all types of supports, whether rotating microphone arms or microphone tripods.

Built-in rotating stand:

As mentioned, the Rode PodMic is equipped with an integrated rotating support which is intended to receive all types of compatible articulated arms which can simply be attached to it. The microphone can be easily positioned at different angles, and according to your convenience.

Likewise, you can freely adjust the microphone to achieve crisp sound reproduction. Particularly in order to eliminate handling or vibration noises that could be annoying.

Rode PodMic dynamic podcasting
Picture of bigcommerce.com

Optimal sound recording clarity for voice recording:

The Rode PodMic also includes a patented dynamic “ End-Fire capsule covered with a robust and lightweight stainless steel protective grille. This protection is reinforced by an internal anti-pop shield.

Just like the Rode Podcaster USB , it allows you to obtain sound clarity of unparalleled quality for different purposes in terms of voice recording: broadcasting, podcasting, voice-over, sound recording for Rap, etc.

Increased sound pickup quality and optimal compatibility with the Rode Caster pro model:

impeccable sound capture results , because it has been designed to optimize sound reinforcement through the use of its dedicated Rode Caster Pro mixer. With just a few finger gestures, you can optimize the audio setting via the touchscreen of the Rode Caster Pro sound balancing console.

To do this, simply select “PodMic” as the microphone type. From then on, the mixer will systematically apply a correct and optimal setting.

Rode podmic review
RODE PODMIC

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Focus on the sound quality of the Rode PodMic microphone

In order to be able to judge the quality and true potential of the Rode PodMic dynamic microphone, we took care to test its audio capture performance at different levels. This is the case regarding:

  • The directivity test
  • Anti-occlusive sound test
  • The anti-vibration test
  • Proximity effect test
  • The effectiveness test to reduce noise pollution as much as possible
  • Sound pickup efficiency test using a preamplifier and using a mixing board
  • The instrumental intake efficiency and performance test

Directivity test:

Since we are dealing here with a dynamic external microphone, and whose polar pattern is cardioid, this microphone clearly perceives the sound coming from the front. The Rode PodMic picks up relatively less voice sound depending on whether you place yourself on one of its two sides or whether you position yourself just behind this same professional and omnidirectional microphone .

Be careful, however, not to place this type of microphone directly in front of a speaker, as you will encounter magnetic field sound interference that could harm your hearing. This is not surprising since the “PodMic” microphone model from Rode has a cardioid polar pattern.

Rode PodMic dynamic Directivity test
Picture from shopee.com

Anti-occlusive sound test:

Although used alone, the Rode PodMic already allows clear sound recording in a recording studio surrounded by specific panels to isolate any background noise , its designer still took care to equip it with a specific pop filter.

The result is a quality sound reproduction which is significantly better. Thus, plosive (or plosive) sounds such as the pronunciations “p, t, k, b, d, g” are significantly reduced, and the same for the whistles “s”.

Anti-vibration test:

Since the Rode PodMic is equipped with a metal structure like that of the Warm Audio WA-47jr microphone which is entirely robust to limit the effects of noise due to vibrations, this microphone (particularly stable) is therefore capable of reducing handling noise .

Test on the proximity effect:

The sensitivity of the Rode PodMic microphone is also astonishing, because this microphone allows you to capture the sound very clearly by taking advantage of a beautiful proximity effect . This microphone is capable of providing a sound gain of approximately 3 decibels when placed in front of this dynamic instrument at less than 5 cm. This gain tends to decrease as you move away from it, without having to raise the tone, but the voice remains clear, audible and (incredibly) intelligible.

Rode podmic review
RODE PODMIC

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Effectiveness test for reducing noise pollution:

We tested the Rode PodMic while typing on the keyboard, near a powerful, whirring CPU motor, but the perception of the voice sound remained perfectly clear and intelligible .

Test on the 2i2 Second Gen preamplifier:

+3 dB of sonic gain bandwidth flow .

Test on the Rode Caster Pro mixer:

From the configuration or dynamic description of the Rode PodMic. We obtain a sound gain of + 8 dB with a much more homogeneous audio rendering, still at a bandwidth flow of around 24 bits.

Rode PodMic Test with Rode Caster Pro
Picture from keymusic.com

Instrumental socket performance test (acoustic and electrical):

The microphone with pop filter “PodMic” from Rode clearly perceives the sound of riffs from an electric guitar connected to a preamp and which is connected to a powerful speaker. And this, even using a simple distortion pedal.

When we tested the microphone against an acoustic guitar, we were also able to obtain a sound reproduction that was rich , harmonious , dynamic and fluid . And this, both at the treble level and in the midrange. Based on this observation, we can presuppose that this powerful dynamic microphone would also be capable of enriching the sound recording experience with other acoustic instruments, to name only the cello, double bass and acoustic bass guitar among many. other acoustic stringed instruments.

Certainly, we did not have the opportunity to test this microphone to know with certainty the sound recording performance of cymbals, snare drums or even the bass drums of a drum kit.

In any case, and from what we have seen with this PodMic, you can expect a powerful dynamic microphone capable of withstanding sound pressure (in SPL ) of up to 94 dB . However, and in truth, such a capacity is (more than) sufficient to support the percussive sound of various instruments and not just basses and electric guitars. With or without distortion pedal.

Rode podmic review
RODE PODMIC

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

By the way, you can also discover our complete review guide on the Shure Beta 58A microphone . An omnidirectional microphone with super-cardioid polar pattern. Discover in this test its technical characteristics, our opinion on this microphone, as well as some test demos of this microphone.

What we can say about the Rode PodMic from all these tests:

The real strength of the Rode PodMic lies in the fact that it perceives midrange in a very nuanced way. This is precisely what makes it an ideal choice of best microphone for broadcasting, podcasting and voice-over audio recording. And likewise, when you want to use it to produce a clear vocal take for use in rap singing or hip-hop.

The Rode PodMic also does its job well in rejecting occlusive sounds and reducing noise pollution due to background noise. In addition, and apart from its effectiveness of use for audio recording of podcasts and voice-overs, this microphone is also very useful for instrumental sound recording , whether it is an acoustic or electric instrument.

Rode PodMic test in the studio
Picture from twitter.com

Note in fact, and even if this microphone is specifically dedicated to the production of podcasts , that we were still able to appreciate the nice sound of riffs from an electric guitar that this microphone allowed us to hear.

For instrumental acoustic guitar picking in particular, the Rode PodMic provides a richly pronounced and perfectly articulated sound reproduction. And this, at a frequency range between 150 Hz and 10 kHz . This microphone for singing can give a nice sound reproduction in isolated vocal recording.

For recording dialogue and voice-overs in particular, we find the Rode PodMic serves as an excellent choice. In addition to providing an intelligible, well-articulated, more pronounced and clear sound, it provides a nice proximity effect gain . This microphone does not require you to raise your voice when approaching it.

Connected to a Rode Caster Pro type mixer, it allows you to preset the high-pass filter which will serve as a microphone volume attenuator for the high-pitched sound and more precisely when it reaches its peak. All this, without showing the slightest distortion or sound saturation when performing the isolated vocal take.

Rode podmic review
RODE PODMIC

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

The technical characteristics of the Rode PodMic microphone

  • Type: dynamic microphone
  • Style: Podcast
  • Directivity: cardioid
  • Frequency response: 20 Hz – 20 kHz
  • Output impedance: 320 Ohms
  • SPL pressure levels: 94 dB
  • Phantom power supply: not required
  • Connectivity: XLR
  • Dimensions: 172 x 109 x 62 mm
  • Weight: 937g

Compatible accessories

  • Mini tripod for table microphone
  • Articulating arm for professional recording studio microphone
Rode PodMic tests voice recording
Picture from reddit.com
Rode podmic review
Our Overall Opinion

Overall Sound Quality

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Value for money

4,3 /5
4.3/5

Global mark

4,5 /5
4.5/5

Our opinion on the Rode PodMic microphone

Honestly, we think that at the start of a project, purchasing this microphone with the best value for money is ideal for producing podcasts. This in particular, as an alternative to purchasing a micro-USB , a lavalier microphone, a condenser microphone or all types of entry-level condenser microphones.

Condenser microphones are more suitable for recording audio of singing than for speech. Additionally, such a type of condenser microphone requires the use of a Phantom power supply to support an amplifier. However, it should be noted that the amplifiers that you can easily acquire at a good price on the market are not all necessarily compatible with these particularly fragile types of microphone.

In the case of the Rode PodMic, it constitutes a wise investment if you plan to have a professional microphone that is efficient, robust and high quality. Moreover, the Rode PodMic is much better than a simple micro-USB like the Shure Motiv MV5, because the latter also requires the use of headphones or in-ear headphones to ensure sound feedback. The sound effect is perfectly symmetrical to its source.

An analog microphone for its part, although effective, would generate significant signal losses and cause the recording to lack a lot of sound clarity, whether vocal or instrumental.

Rode's PodMic microphone provides a sufficiently clear and crisp tone, in (almost) its entire frequency range. Remember that the Rode PodMic displays a response curve between 20 Hz and 20 kHz.

Resorting to the use of a pad or an attenuator could still prove useful to compensate for signal saturation from the capsule. This will have the effect of cutting the (extremely heavy) signal and preventing damage to the microphone's internal amplifier.

Coming back to the performance and sound recording quality of the Rode PodMic, it gives more power, depth, dynamism and detail to the sound of the voice. For anyone who wants to use it for podcasting, broadcasting, voiceover recording and rap speaking, the Rode PodMic is a choice of the best microphone for rap that will take absolutely preferred.

Rode podmic review
RODE PODMIC

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Rode PodMic Demo

Special Offer at Rode 🔥

RODE PODMIC

PRICE COMPARISON 👇

❤️ Discover other Dynamic Microphone Tests:

French

Tous les Microphones aux Meilleurs Prix 🎙

Rode PodMic Test & Avis

Voulez-vous choisir le meilleur microphone pour votre session de gaming, ou pour le podcast, ou encore la radiodiffusion ? Vous pouvez opter pour le micro dynamique de qualité Broadcast Rode PodMic pour réussir l’enregistrement de votre podcast. Ce guide vous offre un test complet de ce microphone omnidirectionnel.

Rode PodMic

🎤 de Kevin Jung

Sommaire du Test 👇

Vous aimerez acquérir le microphone parfait pour la radiodiffusion, pour le podcast, ou pour le gaming, mais vous hésitez encore dans le choix du meilleur instrument dynamique à privilégier. Si c’est le cas, alors pourquoi ne pas opter pour le microphone dynamique Rode PodMic ?

Taillé pour le podcast, ce micro dynamique confère une qualité d’enregistrement largement au-dessus de la moyenne. De nombreux utilisateurs professionnels l’ont testé. La quasi-totalité d’entre eux est persuadée de l’hyper-capacité de ce microphone omnidirectionnel à capter les sons à moyennes et basses fréquences.

Ceux-ci s’accordent aussi à confirmer que le Rode PodMic enregistre à la perfection tous types de voix-off, de dialogues, de speechs et de conversations. Dans les lignes qui vont suivre, dressons donc un zoom complet pour découvrir le véritable potentiel de ce micro professionnel !

Package Rode PodMic
Image de Amazon.com

Aperçu du microphone Rode PodMic

Le Rode PodMic est un micro omnidirectionnel qui répond à peu près aux mêmes fonctions que le Neumann, le micro pro Rode NT USB, le Yéti et le Blue yeti. Le PodMic de Rode diffère toutefois de ces types de micro studio, de par la technologie qu’il embarque au niveau de la connectique.

En effet, bien que le Rode PodMic, tout comme les microphones suscités (pour la plupart), ne requiert pas l’usage d’une alimentation phantom, celui-ci ne dispose pas d’une fonction Plug-and-Play. En effet, contrairement à la plupart des microphones qu’on peut venir directement brancher sur un ordinateur par port USB ou par mini-jack, le Rode PodMic se dote d’une connectivité XLR.

Cela signifie donc qu’on doit se servir d’une table de mixage (de type Rode Caster Pro) ou d’un préampli (de type 2i2 Second Gen). Ceci permet notamment d’amplifier la dynamique de la prise vocale et d’assurer une qualité sonore d’enregistrement impeccable.

Rode podmic avis
RODE PODMIC

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Visiblement, le microphone dynamique Rode PodMic est redoutablement équipé pour permettre un enregistrement sonore qualitatif en home-studio et à longue durée.

Le micro s’équipe d’une construction métallique très robuste et se dote aussi d’un système de fixation très solide. Il peut être ainsi installé, soit sur un support micro fixe (comme un simple pied de micro) soit sur un bras de fixation articulé. Vous n’aurez donc pas à tenir ce micro à la main.

À en croire le fabricant, le micro pèse en tout 937 GR. Ce qui peut nous sembler (à priori) assez pesant comparé à d’autres types de micros comme le Neumann, le Sennheiser MKH 416 ou encore le Rode NT-USB.

Du côté design, nous pouvons néanmoins dire que Rode a pensé à tout pour offrir une apparence très soignée à son modèle de micro dynamique « PodMic » dédié aux podcasteurs.

Rode PodMic packaging
Image de shopify.com

Rode PodMic : un micro professionnel taillé pour le podcast

Le choix d’un bon microphone dynamique conditionne la réussite d’enregistrement de tout podcast. Le Rode PodMic offre tout pour aider tout podcasteur à atteindre cet objectif. Conçu spécialement pour répondre à ce besoin d’utilisation, ce microphone professionnel permet efficacement d’enregistrer la voix pour le speech, le dialogue et la prise de voix-off.

Il en est de même concernant toute réalisation de prise de voix et d’enregistrement de la voix pour le chant de Rap et de Hip-hop. Équipé d’un filtre anti pop, d’une fixation pour support fixe et pour bras articulé, le PodMic saura offrir à tous types de timbres vocaux une dimension exceptionnelle pour l’expression (ou la parole).

Rode PodMic : zoom sur les fonctionnalités techniques

Le Rode PodMic est un microphone dynamique professionnel spécialement conçu pour optimiser la qualité d’enregistrement vocal à des fins de radiodiffusion, de podcasts et de prise de voix-off. C’est aussi le meilleur micro fait pour le gaming et streaming. Équipé d’un filtre anti pop de haute qualité, ce microphone confère une netteté sonore incroyable en réduisant les sonorités occlusives au maximum.

Rode podmic avis
RODE PODMIC

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Le Rode PodMic est aussi conçu pour limiter les vibrations et les bruits de manipulation. Ce microphone dédié à la prise vocale en studio d’enregistrement professionnel reste assez polyvalent pour s’adapter à (presque) tous types de préamplificateur pour microphone à connectivité XLR.

Sa construction entièrement métallique lui confère une bonne robustesse et garantit aussi une durée d’utilisation suffisamment longue. Sa grande compatibilité d’utilisation avec la table de mixage Rode Caster Pro en fait par ailleurs un instrument dynamique redoutable pour l’enregistrement en studio.

Cela permet particulièrement à ce micro de répondre aussi bien à un usage pour la captation audio de la voix qu’à celui de l’enregistrement sonore d’instruments acoustiques de divers types. Pour le Broadcast, la description dynamique de sa capsule confère une qualité audio d’enregistrement remarquable.

Équipé d’un support pivotant intégré, ce micro assure une stabilité optimale pour réduire les vibrations et les bruits de manipulation. Rappelons qu’il n’est pas nécessaire de tenir ce micro à la main pour optimiser la qualité d’enregistrement vocal. Vous pouvez même le fixer facilement sur un pied de micro dédié.

Utilisation : Rode PodMic
Image de Rode.com

Zoom sur les atouts et les qualités du microphone Rode PodMic

Au moment de concevoir son modèle de micro PodMic pour podcasts, la marque Rode a pensé à tout pour en faire un instrument dynamique de prise audio puissant et redoutable.

Conception robuste et fiable, enregistrement sonore de qualité exceptionnelle, grande facilitée d’usage, parfaite flexibilité et plus de polyvalence… Voilà en quelques lignes, l’aperçu du vrai potentiel que ce micro professionnel renferme.

Voyons maintenant en détail ce qui caractérise ce microphone dynamique professionnel des autres types de microphones à directivité cardioïde.

Rode podmic avis
RODE PODMIC

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Par ailleurs, découvrez aussi notre guide de comparaison entre l’Audio-Technica AT2035 et le Rode NT1. Ce guide vous offre un duel au niveau du motif polaire, duel au niveau de la robustesse, duel sur les caractéristiques et fonctions, et un petit verdict sur les deux micros.

Qualité et fiabilité de conception :

Doté d’une structure robuste faite entièrement de métal, le Rode PodMic a été conçu pour offrir une durabilité largement supérieure à la moyenne. Son support pour bras articulé de microphone offre suffisamment de résistance et confère aussi une très grande flexibilité pour s’adapter à presque tous types de supports qu’il s’agisse de bras rotatif pour microphone ou de trépieds de micro.

Support rotatif intégré :

Comme il a été suscité, le Rode PodMic est équipé d’un support rotatif intégré qui est destiné à recevoir tous types de bras articulés compatibles qu’on viendra juste y fixer. Le microphone peut être positionné facilement à différents angles, et selon votre convenance.

De même, vous pouvez ajuster librement le micro pour obtenir un rendu sonore net. Notamment afin de supprimer les bruits de manipulation ou de vibration susceptibles de gêner.

Rode PodMic dynamic podcasting
Image de bigcommerce.com

Une clarté d’enregistrement sonore optimale pour la prise de la voix :

Le Rode PodMic intègre aussi une capsule dynamique brevetée « End-Fire » et couverte d’une grille de protection à la fois robuste et légère en acier inoxydable. Cette protection se voit renforcée par un bouclier anti pop interne.

Tout comme le Rode Podcaster USB, il permet d’obtenir une clarté sonore de qualité hors-paire pour différentes finalités d’usage en matière d’enregistrement vocal : radiodiffusion, Podcasting, voix-off, prise de son pour le Rap, etc.

Une qualité de prise sonore accrue et une compatibilité optimale avec le modèle Rode Caster pro :

Le Rode PodMic garantit des résultats de captation sonore impeccables, car il a été conçu pour optimiser la sonorisation à travers l’usage de sa table de mixage dédiée Rode Caster Pro. En quelques gestes du doigt, vous pouvez optimiser le réglage audio via l’écran tactile de la console d’équilibrage sonore Rode Caster Pro.

Pour ce faire, il suffit de sélectionner « PodMic » comme étant le type de micro. Dès lors, la table de mixage appliquera systématiquement un réglage correct et optimal.

Rode podmic avis
RODE PODMIC

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Zoom sur la qualité sonore du microphone Rode PodMic

Afin de pouvoir juger de la qualité et du vrai potentiel du microphone dynamique Rode PodMic, nous avons pris le soin d’en tester les performances de captation audio à différents niveaux. Il en est ainsi concernant :

  • Le test de directivité
  • Test sonore anti-occlusif
  • Le test anti-vibration
  • Test d’effet de proximité
  • Le test d’efficacité à réduire la nuisance de bruit au maximum
  • Test d’efficacité de prise sonore en usant d’un préamplificateur et en usant d’une table de mixage
  • Le test d’efficacité et de performance de prise instrumentale

Test de directivité :

Puisqu’on a ici affaire à un micro externe dynamique, et dont le motif polaire est cardioïde, ce microphone perçoit nettement le son qui provient de l’avant. Le Rode PodMic capte relativement moins le son de la voix selon qu’on se place sur l’un de ses deux côtés ou qu’on se positionne juste derrière ce même micro professionnel et omnidirectionnel.

Attention toutefois à ne pas placer directement ce type de micro face à un haut-parleur, car vous allez vous heurter à des interférences sonores de champ magnétique susceptibles de nuire à l’ouïe. Cela n’a rien d’étonnant puisque le modèle de microphone « PodMic » de chez Rode affiche une directivité cardioïde.

Rode PodMic dynamic Test de directivité
Image de shopee.com

Test sonore anti-occlusif :

Bien qu’utilisé seul, le Rode PodMic permet déjà d’opérer un enregistrement sonore net dans un studio d’enregistrement entouré de panneaux spécifique pour isoler de tout bruit de fond, son concepteur a quand même pris le soin de l’équiper d’un filtre anti pop spécifique.

Il en résulte un rendu sonore de qualité qui s’avère nettement meilleure. Ainsi, les sonorités occlusives (ou plosives) telles que les prononciations « p, t, k, b, d, g » sont significativement réduits, et de même pour les sifflements « s ».

Test anti-vibration :

Puisque le Rode PodMic s’équipe d’une structure métallique comme celle du microphone Warm Audio WA-47jr qui est entièrement robuste pour limiter les effets de bruits dus aux vibrations, ce micro (particulièrement stable) est donc capable de diminuer les bruits de manipulation.

Test sur l’effet de proximité :

La sensibilité du micro Rode PodMic est aussi étonnante, car ce micro permet de captiver le son très nettement en tirant parti d’un bel effet de proximité. Ce micro est capable de procurer un gain sonore d’environ 3 décibels lorsqu’on se place devant cet instrument dynamique à moins de 5 cm. Ce gain tend à diminuer au fur et à mesure qu’on s’en éloigne, sans devoir élever le ton, mais la voix reste nette, audible et (incroyablement) intelligible.

Rode podmic avis
RODE PODMIC

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Test d’efficacité de diminution de la nuisance sonore :

On a testé le Rode PodMic tout en tapant le clavier, à proximité d’un puissant moteur d’unité central vrombissant, mais la perception du son de la voix reste parfaitement claire et intelligible.

Test sur le préamplificateur 2i2 Second Gen :

Utilisé avec ce préamplificateur, le PodMic de Rode rajoute un gain sonore de + 3 dB à un flux de bande-passante d’environ 24 bits.

Test sur la table de mixage Rode Caster Pro :

À partir de la configuration ou description dynamique du Rode PodMic. On obtient un gain sonore de + 8 dB avec un rendu audio beaucoup plus homogène, toujours à un flux de bande-passante d’environ 24 bits.

Rode PodMic Test avec  Rode Caster Pro
Image de keymusic.com

Test de performance de prise instrumentale (acoustique et électrique) :

Le microphone avec filtre anti-pop « PodMic » de chez Rode perçoit clairement le son des riffs d’une guitare électrique branchée à un préampli et lequel est relié à une puissante enceinte. Et cela, même en usant d’une simple pédale à distorsions.

Lorsqu’on a testé le microphone face à une guitare acoustique, nous avons également pu obtenir un rendu sonore à la fois riche, harmonieux, dynamique et fluide. Et cela, aussi bien au niveau des aigus que dans les médiums. En partant de ce constat, nous pouvons présupposer que ce puissant microphone dynamique serait aussi capable d’enrichir l’expérience de prise sonore avec d’autres instruments acoustiques pour ne citer que le violoncelle, le contrebasse et la guitare basse acoustique parmi tant d’autres instruments acoustiques à cordes.

Certes, nous n’avons pas eu l’occasion de tester ce micro pour connaître avec certitude le rendu d’enregistrement sonore des cymbales, des caisses claires ou encore des grosses caisses d’une batterie.

Quoi qu’il en soit, et d’après ce que nous avons pu constater avec ce PodMic, vous pouvez tout à fait vous attendre à un puissant micro dynamique capable de supporter une pression acoustique (en SPL) pouvant aller jusqu’à 94 dB. Or, et en vérité, une telle capacité suffit (largement) à supporter le son percutant de divers instruments et pas uniquement les basses et les guitares électriques. Avec ou sans pédale à distorsion.

Rode podmic avis
RODE PODMIC

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

En passant, vous pouvez aussi découvrir notre guide de test complet sur le microphone Shure Beta 58A. Un microphone omnidirectionnel à directivité super-cardioïde. Découvrez sur ce test ses caractéristiques techniques, notre avis sur ce micro, ainsi que quelques démos de test de ce micro.

Ce que nous pouvons dire à propos du Rode PodMic d’après tous ces tests :

Le véritable point fort du Rode PodMic réside dans le fait qu’il perçoit les médiums de façon très nuancée. C’est justement ce qui en fait un choix de meilleur microphone idéal pour la radiodiffusion, pour le podcast et pour la prise audio de voix-off. Et de même, lorsqu’on souhaite s’en servir pour réaliser une prise vocale limpide à des fins d’usage pour le chant de rap ou le hip-hop.

Le Rode PodMic fait bien aussi son travail dans le rejet des sons occlusifs et dans la réduction de la nuisance sonore due aux bruits de fond. De plus, et hormis son efficacité d’utilisation pour l’enregistrement audio de podcasts et de voix-off, ce micro trouve aussi une grande utilité pour la prise sonore instrumentale qu’il s’agisse d’un instrument acoustique ou électrique.

Test Rode PodMic en studio
Image de twitter.com

Notons en effet, et même si ce micro est spécifiquement dédié à la réalisation de podcasts, que nous avons quand même pu apprécier le joli son de riffs d’une guitare électrique que ce micro nous a permis d’entendre.

Pour la prise instrumentale de guitare acoustique en particulier, le Rode PodMic procure un rendu sonore richement prononcé et parfaitement articulé. Et ceci, à une plage de fréquences comprise entre 150 Hz et 10 kHz. Ce micro pour chanter peut conférer un joli rendu sonore en prise vocale isolée.

Pour l’enregistrement de dialogue et de voix-off en particulier, nous estimons que le Rode PodMic sert d’excellent choix. En plus de conférer une sonorité intelligible, bien articulée, plus prononcée et nette, il confère un joli gain d’effet de proximité. Ce microphone ne requiert pas qu’on élève la voix lorsqu’on s’en approche.

Branché à une table de mixage de type Rode Caster Pro, il permet de prérégler le filtre passe-haut qui va servir d’atténuateur de volume du microphone pour le son aigu et plus précisément quand celui-ci arrive à son Apogée. Le tout, sans manifester la moindre distorsion ou saturation sonore au moment d’effectuer la prise vocale isolée.

Rode podmic avis
RODE PODMIC

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Les caractéristiques techniques du micro Rode PodMic

  • Type : microphone dynamique
  • Style : Podcast
  • Directivité : cardioïde
  • Réponse en fréquence : 20 Hz – 20 kHz
  • Impédance de sortie : 320 Ohms
  • Niveaux de pression SPL : 94 dB
  • Alimentation Phantom : non requise
  • Connectivité : XLR
  • Dimensions : 172 x 109 x 62 mm
  • Poids : 937 g

Accessoires compatibles

  • Mini trépied pour micro table
  • Bras articulé pour microphone de studio d’enregistrement professionnel
Rode PodMic teste d'enregistrement vocal
Image de reddit.com
Rode podmic avis
Notre Avis Global

Qualité Sonore Globale

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Rapport Qualité / Prix

4,3 /5
4.3/5

Note Globale

4,5 /5
4.5/5

Notre avis sur le microphone Rode PodMic

Honnêtement, nous pensons qu’en début de projet, l’achat de ce micro au meilleur rapport qualité -prix est idéal pour la réalisation de podcasts. Ceci notamment, en alternative à l’achat d’un micro-USB, d’un micro-cravate, à celui d’un micro à condensateur ou de tous types de micros statiques en entrée de gamme.

Les micros statiques conviennent plus particulièrement à la prise audio du chant qu’à celle de la parole. De plus, un tel type de microphone à condensateur requiert l’usage d’une alimentation Phantom à l’appui d’un ampli. Or, il est à noter que les amplificateurs que vous pourrez facilement acquérir à bon prix sur le marché ne sont pas tous forcément compatibles avec ces genres de microphone particulièrement fragiles.

Pour le cas du Rode PodMic, il constitue un investissement judicieux si vous comptez disposer d’un microphone professionnel à la fois performant, robuste et qualitatif. D’ailleurs, le Rode PodMic vaut largement mieux qu’un simple micro-USB comme le Shure Motiv MV5, car ce dernier requiert aussi l’usage d’un casque audio ou d’écouteurs intra-auriculaires pour s’assurer un retour d’effet sonore parfaitement symétrique par rapport à sa source.

Un microphone analogique pour sa part, quoiqu’efficace génèrerait d’importantes pertes de signal et fera manquer beaucoup de clarté sonore à l’enregistrement que celui-ci soit vocal ou instrumental.

Le micro PodMic de Rode procure une tonalité suffisamment claire et nette, dans (presque) toute sa plage de fréquence. Rappelons que le Rode PodMic affiche une courbe de réponse comprise entre 20 Hz et 20 kHz.

Le recours à l’usage d’un pad ou d’un atténuateur pourrait tout de même s’avérer utile pour pallier la saturation de signal depuis la capsule. Cela aura pour effet de couper le signal (extrêmement lourd) et d’éviter d’endommager l’amplificateur interne du micro.

Pour en revenir aux performances et à la qualité d’enregistrement sonore du Rode PodMic, il confère à la fois plus de puissance, de profondeur, de dynamisme et de détail au son de la voix. Pour tous ceux qui souhaitent s’en servir pour la réalisation de podcast, la radiodiffusion, l’enregistrement de voix off et la prise vocale de parole de Rap, le PodMic de Rode est un choix de meilleur microphone pour le rap qu’il faudra absolument privilégier.

Rode podmic avis
RODE PODMIC

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Démo du Rode PodMic

Offre Spéciale chez Rode 🔥

Rode podmic avis
RODE PODMIC

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

❤️ Découvrez d'autres Tests de Microphone Dynamique :