All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

Test & Review

Are you looking for a versatile ribbon microphone for your studio recording? Whether for a vocal recording or for a musical instrument? You can choose Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 microphone. It is an active ribbon microphone which uses the same principle as dynamic microphones. Discover in this guide our complete test as well as our opinion on this microphone.

Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

🎤 by Kevin Jung

Summary of the Test 👇

Do you need a microphone for good vocals or for recording acoustic instruments ? Opt for the Golden Age Project R1 active MK3. This is a ribbon microphone known for producing a natural and warm sound. But what is it really worth? Discover in this article the complete test as well as our opinion on the R1 active MK3 from Golden Age Project.

Golden Age Project: is it a reliable brand?

Before we move on to testing the R1 active MK3, let's first focus on the Golden Age Project . This is important since not all microphone brands on the market are created equal. To avoid unpleasant surprises, it is better to choose a reputable brand.

Golden Age Project R1 active MK3
Picture from Ofoghesmsm.com

I reassure you right away, Golden Age Project is a reliable brand that has existed on the market since 2005. This company based in Sweden specializes in the design of high-end studio equipment . It notably produces microphones , preamps , equalizers and other accessories intended for amateurs and studio professionals.

Among their greatest successes, we can note the release of the PRE-73 microphone preamp in 2006. Moreover, the famous British magazine Sound On Sound did not fail to praise this product. This magazine highlighted its performance and construction quality in particular.

What about the Golden Age Project microphones? Please note that the brand offers a wide range of choices: dynamic microphones, ribbon microphones and condenser microphones .

In this article, I will share with you the test results of Golden Age Project R1 active MK3. Let's go !

Golden-Age-Project-R1-active-MK3-purchase
Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Golden Age Project R1 Active MK3 Microphone Overview

The R1 active MK3 is a ribbon microphone like the Coles 4038 and the t.bone RB 500. For information, this type of microphone benefits from the same principle as dynamic microphones. However, the moving coil is replaced by a thin metal ribbon . Hence their name ribbon microphone.

The Golden Active Project R1 active MK3 has a figure-8 directivity . This is also the case for the majority of ribbon microphones.

This type of microphone is designed to pick up sounds that come from the front and back of its diaphragm. And the sound sources on the sides are in a blind spot. This means that if you position yourself on one side of the microphone, you will not be heard.

Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 package
Picture from Amazon.fr

Note that the Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 is an active ribbon microphone . This is why you will need a phantom power supply to make it work. Its advantage is that it fits any preamp (like the SPL Goldmike 9844 mic preamp ) that provides 48V phantom power.

In terms of design, the R1 active MK3 from Golden Age Project combines elegance and modernity. Its body is entirely made of metal just like the MK2 . It is equipped with a 50 mm long aluminum foil strip with a thickness of 2 µ .

It is designed to last a long time, as it has a shockproof support that protects it in case of mishandling.

The R1 active MK3 from Golden Age Project comes with an XLR cable (a bit short, but no problem). On the other hand, it would have been annoying if the microphone was not delivered in its storage bag. Fortunately that is not the case. Golden Age Project microphone models , comes with a padded bag. The latter is used to protect the tape when traveling or during periods without recording.

Golden-Age-Project-R1-active-MK3-purchase
Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

The R1 activates MK3 and its low cut switches and 10 dB pad

The Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 has two very interesting features: the low cut and the 10 dB pad .

First, let's talk about the low-cut switch . As its name suggests, this device cuts low frequencies . So when you're using an instrument that doesn't require bass, you just flip the switch. Enough to easily eliminate parasitic sounds . On the other hand, for an ambient socket, it is better not to use this switch.

What about the 10 bB attenuator ? This is also a very practical feature offered by the R1 active MK3. Indeed, thanks to this switch, you can the microphone output level by 10 dB

This device is useful when recording sources with high sound levels . This is particularly the case for sound recordings from a guitar amp or bass drum . It will also come in handy when someone is singing too loudly.

microphone Golden Age Project R1 active MK3
Picture from Worthpoint.com

Another review guide : Ribbon Microphone SE Electronics X1R . Discover in this guide our complete test of this microphone by presenting its main characteristics, the elements delivered with the microphone, its specificity and its technical specifications, as well as some demos of use of the microphone.

Golden Age Project R1 active MK3: focus on possible applications

Want to know if you can use this microphone to record your voice or musical instruments ? Well, the answer is yes. The Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 is a versatile microphone that can be adapted to multiple uses.

This microphone can be used for voice recording . His performance remains exceptional whether on male or female voices. Moreover, you can perfectly record a duet simultaneously with this microphone. This is possible thanks in particular to its bidirectional directivity . This allows the microphone to pick up sounds coming from the front and back .

In addition to recording vocals, the Golden Age Project active MK3 can also be used for most acoustic instruments. It can be used in particular as an ambient microphone , since it effectively captures the sounds of a drum set.

Golden-Age-Project-R1-active-MK3-purchase
Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

This mic particularly shines on acoustic guitars. Indeed, it is capable of effectively attenuating high-pitched noises . In this context, consider using the integrated low-cut switch to reduce or even eliminate extraneous noise .

Furthermore, it is also effective on electric guitar recordings, since it softens high frequencies .

Aside from instrument recordings, you can also count on this microphone during your podcast sessions .

When it comes to gaming, opt for a USB microphone like the Blue Yeti X. Gamers will not be disappointed with the result as well as the features integrated into this professional condenser microphone.

An excellent ribbon microphone for Blumlein and MS setups

If you are used to recording in stereo , you will certainly be delighted to have the R1 active MK3 in your recording studio. For what ? Because this microphone can be suitable for and Mid-Side sound jacks .

Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 packaging
Picture from Audiofanzine.com

Knowing that the Blumlein technique requires the use of two bidirectional microphones , why not use R1 active MK3? To do this, simply place two R1 active Mk3 microphones 90° apart .

Mid-Side stereo recordings . This technique consists of using two microphones: a cardioid microphone (the Mid) like the dynamic EV RE20 microphone and a bidirectional microphone (the Side). Point the first mic towards the source. Then position the second microphone below the Mid microphone so as to form a 90° angle . In this configuration, the Side mic picks up sounds from the left and right.

For the Mid, you can use a mic with a cardioid polar pattern like the Audio Technica AT4040 . And for the Side, adopt the Golden Age Project R1 active MK3.

Zoom on the sound quality of the Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

Now let's move on to one of the most important criteria to look for in a microphone: sound quality .

Given that it is a ribbon microphone , I expected a and smooth sound . And unsurprisingly, the result perfectly matches my expectations. In addition, it offers exceptional details : the highs are smooth and the bass is extended . Everything is there to record sound that meets the requirements of sound engineers.

Golden-Age-Project-R1-active-MK3-purchase
Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Due to its bidirectional directivity , the R1 active MK3 is particularly sensitive to the proximity effect. Thus, the closer the source is to the microphone, the more pronounced the low frequencies will be. If you have a slightly thin voice , you just need to move closer to the microphone to get a decent sound . On the other hand, if you have a deep voice , consider moving a little away from the microphone.

The R1 active MK3 has the same frequency range as its MK2 counterpart. Its lower end displays 30 Hz and 18,000 Hz for the upper end.

Another advantage of the R1 active MK3 is that it is not sensitive to the impedance of the mic preamp .

70 dB gain . This is surely a result of the fact that it is an active ribbon mic. Furthermore, it is also equipped with an integrated FET amplifier . And this is a big advantage compared to the t.bone RB 500 which is certainly efficient. But you would have to use a super clean preamp to expect a high signal level.

With a maximum sound pressure level of 150 dB , the Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 can handle loud sound sources.

In addition, this microphone benefits from very high sensitivity. Enough to allow you to obtain clear sounds . It can therefore compete with condenser microphones like the Rode NT USB.

Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 ribbon microphone
Picture from Pixelproaudio.com

The technical characteristics of the Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

  • Microphone type: ribbon microphone
  • Polar diagram: bidirectional ( figure 8 )
  • Frequency response: 30 Hz – 18 kHz
  • Sensitivity: 40 dB ( 0 dB = 1 V/Pa ) at 1 kHz
  • Max SPL: 150 dB
  • Output impedance: 200 Ohms
  • Recommended load impedance: over 1000 Ohms
  • Power type: 48V
  • Dimensions: 69 x 185 mm
  • Weight: 800g
ribbon microphone  Golden Age Project R1 active MK3
Picture from Pixelproaudio.com
Golden-Age-Project-R1-active-MK3-purchase
Our Overall Opinion

Overall Sound Quality

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Value for money

4,5 /5
4.5/5

Global mark

4,6 /5
4.6/5

Our opinion on the Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 microphone

Golden Age Project R1 activates MK3? This is the kind of vintage microphone that everyone dreams of having in their home studio. Of course, it's far from perfect. But it does the job expected from an active ribbon mic. In addition, its price remains affordable.

The R1 active MK3 fits a wide range of applications. Male voice, female voice, guitar, bass drum... It's the ultimate versatile microphone.

It is even possible to use it to implement stereo recording techniques. It is particularly effective on Blumlein and MS sound jacks (if used as a side microphone).

The fact that the R1 active MK3 is an active ribbon mic is also good news for those who don't have a super clean preamp. Indeed, it can fit any preamp that provides 48V phantom power.

I also validate the low cut and 10 dB pad switches offered by the Golden Age Project R1 active MK3.

I find the low cut filter to be a boon for users who want to record a source that doesn't require bass. Just press the switch on the back of the mic and you're done. Added to this is the 10 dB pad which is very practical for regulating the microphone volume depending on the sources to be recorded.

And to top it all off, know that the Golden Age Project offers excellent value for money. In short, I recommend this model if you want to acquire a quality microphone without breaking the bank.

Golden Age Project R1 demo active MK3

Special Offer at Golden Age Project 🔥

Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

PRICE COMPARISON 👇

❤️ Discover other Ribbon Microphone Tests:

Tous les Microphones aux Meilleurs Prix 🎙

Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 Test & Avis

Êtes-vous à recherche d’un microphone à ruban polyvalent pour votre prise de son en studio ? Que ce soit pour un enregistrement vocal ou pour instrument de musique ? Vous pouvez choisir le microphone Golden Age Project R1 active MK3. C’est un microphone à ruban actif qui exploite le même principe que les microphones dynamiques. Découvrez sur ce guide notre test complet ainsi que notre avis sur ce microphone.

Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

🎤 de Kevin Jung

Sommaire du Test 👇

Vous avez besoin d’un microphone pour faire de bonnes prises de voix ou pour enregistrer des instruments acoustiques ? Optez pour le Golden Age Project R1 active MK3. Il s’agit d’un microphone à ruban connu pour produire un son naturel et chaud. Mais que vaut-il réellement ? Découvrez dans cet article le test complet ainsi que notre avis sur le R1 active MK3 de Golden Age Project.

Golden Age Project : est-ce une marque fiable ?

Avant de passer au test du R1 active MK3, focalisons-nous tout d’abord sur la marque Golden Age Project. C’est important puisque toutes les marques de microphones sur le marché ne se valent pas. Pour éviter les mauvaises surprises, mieux vaut privilégier une marque de renom.

Golden Age Project R1 active MK3
Image de Ofoghesmsm.com

Je vous rassure tout de suite, Golden Age Project est une marque fiable qui existe sur le marché depuis 2005. Cette entreprise basée en Suède se spécialise dans la conception d’équipements de studio haut de gamme. Elle produit notamment des microphones, des préamplis, des égaliseurs ainsi que d’autres accessoires destinés aux amateurs et professionnels du studio.

Parmi leurs plus grands succès, on peut noter la sortie du préampli micro PRE-73 en 2006. D’ailleurs le célèbre magazine britannique Sound On Sound n’a pas manqué de faire l’éloge de ce produit. Ce magazine a mis en évidence notamment ses performances et sa qualité de construction.

Quid des microphones de Golden Age Project ? Sachez que la marque propose une large gamme de choix : microphones dynamiques, microphones à ruban et micros à condensateur.

Dans cet article, je vais vous partager les résultats du test du Golden Age Project R1 active MK3. C’est parti !

Golden-Age-Project-R1-active-MK3-achat
Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Aperçu du microphone Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

Le R1 active MK3 est un microphone à ruban à l’instar du Coles 4038 et du t.bone RB 500. Pour information, ce type de micro bénéficie du même principe que les microphones dynamiques. Seulement, la bobine mobile est remplacée par un fin ruban métallique. D’où leur appellation micro à ruban.

Le Golden Active Project R1 active MK3 possède une directivité en figure en 8. C’est le cas d’ailleurs de la majorité des microphones à ruban.

Ce genre de micro est conçu pour capter les sons qui proviennent de l’avant et de l’arrière de sa membrane. Et les sources sonores sur les côtés se trouvent dans un angle mort. Cela signifie que si vous vous positionnez sur l’un des côtés du micro, on ne vous entendra pas.

Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 package
Image de Amazon.fr

À noter que le Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 est micro à ruban actif. C’est pourquoi vous aurez besoin d’une alimentation phantom pour le faire fonctionner. Son avantage, c’est qu’il s’adapte à n’importe quel préampli (comme le préampli micro SPL Goldmike 9844) qui fournit une alimentation fantôme de 48 V.

Au niveau du design, le R1 active MK3 de Golden Age Project allie élégance et modernité. Son corps est entièrement en métal tout comme le MK2. Il est équipé d’un ruban de 50 mm de long en feuille d’aluminium dont l’épaisseur est de 2 µ.

Il est conçu pour durer longtemps, car il dispose d’un support antichoc qui le protège en cas de mauvaises manipulations.

Le R1 active MK3 de Golden Age Project est accompagné d’un câble XLR (un peu court, mais cela ne pose aucun problème). En revanche, ça aurait été embêtant si le micro n’a pas été livré dans son sac de rangement. Heureusement que ce n’est pas le cas. Le R1 active MK3, comme tous les modèles de micros de Golden Age Project, est fourni avec un sac rembourré. Ce dernier sert à protéger le ruban lors des déplacements ou encore pendant les périodes sans enregistrement.

Golden-Age-Project-R1-active-MK3-achat
Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Le R1 active MK3 et ses commutateurs coupe-bas et pad 10 dB

Le Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 dispose de deux fonctionnalités très intéressantes : le coupe-bas et le pad 10 dB.

Parlons tout d’abord du commutateur coupe-bas. Comme son nom l’indique, ce dispositif permet de couper les basses fréquences. Ainsi, lorsque vous utilisez un instrument qui ne nécessite pas de basses, il vous suffit d’appuyer sur l’interrupteur. De quoi éliminer facilement les sons parasites. En revanche, pour une prise d’ambiance, il vaut mieux ne pas utiliser ce commutateur.

Qu’en est-il de l’atténuateur de 10 bB ? C’est aussi une fonctionnalité très pratique proposée par le R1 active MK3. En effet, grâce à ce commutateur, vous pouvez atténuer de 10 dB le niveau de sortie du microphone.

Ce dispositif trouve son utilité lorsque vous enregistrez des sources à fort niveau sonore. C’est le cas notamment des prises de son d’un ampli guitare ou d’une grosse caisse. Il vous sera également utile lorsqu’une personne chante trop fort.

microphone Golden Age Project R1 active MK3
Image de Worthpoint.com

Autre guide de test : Microphone à ruban SE Electronics X1R. Découvrez sur ce guide notre test complet de ce microphone en vous présentant ses principales caractéristiques, les éléments livrés avec le micro, sa spécificité et ses spécifications techniques, ainsi que quelques démos d’utilisation du micro.

Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 : focus sur les applications possibles

Vous souhaitez savoir si vous pouvez utiliser ce micro pour enregistrer votre voix ou vos instruments de musique ? Eh bien, la réponse est oui. Le Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 est un micro polyvalent qui peut s’adapter à de multiples usages.

Ce micro peut être utilisé dans le cadre d’un enregistrement vocal. Sa performance reste exceptionnelle que ce soit sur les voix masculines ou les voix féminines. D’ailleurs, vous pouvez parfaitement enregistrer simultanément un duo avec ce micro. Cela est possible grâce notamment à sa directivité bidirectionnelle. Celle-ci permet au micro de capter les sons provenant de l’avant et de l’arrière.

Outre l’enregistrement de la voix, le Golden Age Project active MK3 peut aussi convenir à la plupart des instruments acoustiques. Il peut s’utiliser notamment comme micro d’ambiance, puisqu’il capte efficacement les sons d’une batterie.

Golden-Age-Project-R1-active-MK3-achat
Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Ce micro brille particulièrement sur les guitares acoustiques. En effet, il est capable d’atténuer efficacement les bruits aigus. Dans ce contexte, pensez à utiliser l’interrupteur coupe-bas intégré pour réduire, voire supprimer les bruits parasites.

Par ailleurs, il se montre aussi efficace sur les enregistrements des guitares électriques, puisqu’il adoucit les hautes fréquences.

À part les enregistrements d’instruments, vous pouvez aussi compter sur ce micro lors de vos séances de podcasts.

Pour ce qui est du gaming, optez plutôt pour un micro USB comme le Blue Yeti X. Les gamers ne seront pas déçus du résultat ainsi que des fonctionnalités intégrées dans ce micro professionnel à condensateur.

Un excellent microphone à ruban pour les configurations Blumlein et MS

Si vous avez l’habitude de faire des prises en stéréo, vous serez certainement ravi d’avoir le R1 active MK3 dans votre studio d’enregistrement. Pourquoi ? Parce que ce microphone peut convenir aux prises de son Blumlein et Mid-Side.

Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 packaging
Image de Audiofanzine.com

Sachant que la technique Blumlein nécessite l’utilisation de deux microphones bidirectionnels, pourquoi ne pas utiliser R1 active MK3 ? Pour ce faire, il vous suffit de placer deux microphones R1 active Mk3 à 90° l’un de l’autre.

Ce micro vous sera aussi d’une grande utilité lors des prises stéréo Mid-Side. Cette technique consiste en effet à utiliser deux micros : un micro cardioïde (le Mid) comme le micro dynamique EV RE20 et un micro bidirectionnel (le Side). Dirigez le premier micro vers la source. Positionnez ensuite le second micro en dessous du micro Mid de manière à former un angle de 90°. Dans cette configuration, le micro Side capte les sons à gauche et à droite.

Pour le Mid, vous pouvez utiliser un micro à directivité cardioïde comme l’Audio Technica AT4040. Et pour le Side, adoptez le Golden Age Project R1 active MK3.

Zoom sur la qualité sonore du Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

Passons à présent à l’un des critères les plus importants à rechercher chez un microphone : la qualité sonore.

Étant donné qu’il s’agit d’un microphone à ruban, je m’attendais à un son naturel et doux. Et sans surprise, le résultat correspond parfaitement à mes attentes. En plus, il offre des détails exceptionnels : les aigus sont doux et les graves sont étendus. Tout y est pour enregistrer un son à la hauteur des exigences des ingénieures du son.

Golden-Age-Project-R1-active-MK3-achat
Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

En raison de sa directivité bidirectionnelle, le R1 active MK3 est particulièrement sensible à l’effet de proximité. Ainsi, plus la source est près du micro, plus les basses fréquences seront marquées. Si vous avez une voix un peu fluette, il vous suffit donc de vous rapprocher du micro pour obtenir un son correct. En revanche, si vous avez une voix grave, pensez à vous éloigner un peu du micro.

Le R1 active MK3 possède la même plage de fréquence que son homologue MK2. Son extrémité inférieure affiche 30 Hz et 18 000 Hz pour l’extrémité supérieure.

Un autre atout du R1 active MK3 est qu’il n’est pas sensible à l’impédance du préampli micro.

Notez qu’il n’a pas besoin d’un préampli haut de gamme pour atteindre un gain de 70 dB. Cela résulte sûrement du fait qu’il s’agit d’un micro à ruban actif. Par ailleurs, il est également équipé d’un amplificateur FET intégré. Et c’est un gros avantage par rapport au t.bone RB 500 qui est certes performant. Mais il faudrait utiliser un préampli super propre pour espérer un niveau de signal élevé.

Avec un niveau de pression sonore maximal de 150 dB, le Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 peut gérer des sources sonores fortes.

En outre, ce micro bénéficie d’une sensibilité très élevée. De quoi vous permettre d’obtenir des sons clairs. Il peut ainsi rivaliser avec les micros à condensateur comme le Rode NT USB.

micro à ruban Golden Age Project R1 active MK3
Image de Pixelproaudio.com

Les caractéristiques techniques du Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

  • Type de microphone : microphone à ruban
  • Diagramme polaire : bidirectionnel (figure en 8)
  • Réponse en fréquence : 30 Hz – 18 kHz
  • Sensibilité : 40 dB (0 dB = 1 V/Pa) à 1 kHz
  • SPL max : 150 dB
  • Impédance de sortie : 200 Ohms
  • Impédance de charge recommandée : plus de 1000 Ohms
  • Type d’alimentation : alimentation fantôme 48 V
  • Dimensions : 69 X 185 mm
  • Poids : 800 g
microphone à ruban Golden Age Project R1 active MK3
Image de Pixelproaudio.com
Golden-Age-Project-R1-active-MK3-achat
Notre Avis Global

Qualité Sonore Globale

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Rapport Qualité / Prix

4,5 /5
4.5/5

Note Globale

4,6 /5
4.6/5

Notre avis sur le microphone Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

Le Golden Age Project R1 active MK3 ? C’est le genre de microphone vintage que tout le monde rêve d’avoir dans son home studio. Bien sûr, il est loin d’être parfait. Mais il fait convenablement le travail qu’on attend chez un micro à ruban actif. En plus, son prix reste abordable.

Le R1 active MK3 s’adapte à un large éventail d’applications. Voix masculine, voix féminine, guitare, grosse caisse… C’est le micro polyvalent par excellence.

Il est même possible de l’utiliser pour mettre en place les techniques d’enregistrement stéréo. Il se montre tout particulièrement performant sur les prises de son Blumlein et MS (s’il est utilisé comme micro Side).

Le fait que le R1 active MK3 soit un micro à ruban actif est aussi une bonne nouvelle pour ceux qui ne disposent pas d’un préampli super propre. En effet, il peut convenir à n’importe quel préampli qui fournit une alimentation fantôme de 48 V.

Je valide également les commutateurs coupe-bas et pad 10 dB proposés par le Golden Age Project R1 active MK3.

Je trouve que le filtre coupe-bas est une aubaine pour les utilisateurs qui souhaitent enregistrer une source ne nécessitant pas de basses. Il suffit d’appuyer sur le commutateur à l’arrière du micro et le tour est joué. À cela s’ajoute le pad 10 dB qui est très pratique pour réguler le volume du microphone en fonction des sources à enregistrer.

Et pour couronner le tout, sachez que le Golden Age Project offre un excellent rapport qualité-prix. Bref, je vous recommande ce modèle si vous souhaitez acquérir un micro de qualité sans vous ruiner.

Démo Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

Offre Spéciale chez Golden Age Project 🔥

Golden-Age-Project-R1-active-MK3-achat
Golden Age Project R1 active MK3

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

❤️ Découvrez d'autres Tests de Microphone à Ruban :