All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

Superlux R102

Test & Review

Do you want to purchase a ribbon microphone that is intended for recording studios? Why not opt ​​for the Superlux R102? It is an active aluminum ribbon microphone which has a bidirectional directivity with a diagram in figure 8. Discover in this article our test and opinion on this microphone.

Superlux R102

🎤 by Kevin Jung

Summary of the Test 👇

For your recording studio, it is important to have the best equipment . For this, it is not enough to have the best amplifier or a good sufwoofer . Your studio equipment also consists of a microphone. There are several types of microphones on the market. One of them is the Superlux R102. Discover all the details of this product in this article.

Product overview Superlux R102

The Superlux R102 is an active ribbon microphone intended for recording studios. It is a hybrid microphone since it is very sensitive like a condenser microphone, but also has the smooth frequency and very good transition response of a ribbon microphone . The speed of its frequency response is also very fast considering other ribbon microphones of its kind.

The R102 dynamic aluminum microphone is made up of two parts: an electromagnetic transducer and an impedance conversion circuit .

This electromagnetic transducer is responsible for supporting a unique magnetic circuit field with an Nd magnet on the device. The ribbon of this dynamic microphone is made of a very thin aluminum alloy of only 2.5 microns. It is suspended between two poles and vibrates when the sound wave or acoustic energy comes into synchronization.

Superlux R102 microphone
Picture from Musicradar.com

With the extremely low mass material of the ribbon, the transducer of this type of microphone offers a very good quality interval response . In fact, it converts acoustic energy into an electrical signal.

Regardless of the frequency level: high frequencies or low frequencies and the sound pressure level (low or high sound pressure), the Superlux R102 dynamic microphone always offers clear and precise reproduction of the original sound, and even the noise of bottom.

It is important to know before purchasing a Superlux R102 microphone that it requires 48 Volt phantom power to operate.

Focus on Superlux R102 sound quality

One of the greatest advantages of ribbon microphones , especially the Superlux R102, is its sound reproduction. The sound it produces is very soft , clear and natural . If the poor reproduction of frequencies at 10 Hz can be seen as a disadvantage, the sound that emerges is warm, with a vintage effect .

Unlike other ribbon microphones that have a cardioid polar pattern , the Superlux R102 has a bidirectional polar pattern , with a diagram in Figure 8 . These are characteristics that provide good sound quality to the ribbon microphone . If you want to produce a very sensitive sound, with good dynamic and harmonic variations, you can choose this one offered by Superlux.

Superlux-R102-purchase
Superlux R102

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

The ribbon microphone is mainly used for recording acoustic instruments such as guitar. However, you can also use it for vocals, drum overhead, and even as a guitar amplifier .

If you were to use the Superlux R102 for a dynamic instrument, it is best to protect the membrane with a windshield or wind filter.

The windshield and wind filter also serve to protect the tape against high acoustic pressure . If you don't have one, try to move it a little away from the sound source when using it.

The ribbon that makes up the Superlux R102 microphone is very fragile. This is especially why it is preferable to use it in the studio. Also, when you are not using it, try to store it so that the ribbon, however thin it may be, does not become loose. And don't worry about this protection. Your ribbon microphone comes with a protective case . You no longer have to worry about its condition between uses.

But the Superlux R102 microphone does not only have advantages. One of these main disadvantages is above all its low output level. However, you can easily remedy this by adding a preamplifier like the API Audio The Channel Strip or AMS Neve 4081. Of course, the quality of your recording will no longer depend only on the Superlux R102 microphone, but also on the quality of the preamp .

Also remember that the recording result depends on the amplifier. If you have a poor quality amplifier, you need to adjust the microphone and preamp to get a satisfactory recording .

Superlux R102 packaging
Picture from Audiofanzine.com

Superlux R102 technical characteristics

The technical characteristics of the Superlux R102 microphone make it one of the best microphones to use for a mixing desk , recording studios and as a vocal microphone . Here are the technical characteristics of the Superlux R102 ribbon microphone

  • Frequency range: 20 Hz and 18 kHz
  • Nominal impedance: 250 Ohms
  • Sensitivity for an open circuit voltage of 1000 Hz : -40 dBV , or 10 mV/Pa (knowing that one Pascal = 94 dB SPL
  • Polar diagram in figure of 8: capture towards the center
  • Maximum sound pressure level: 138 dB SPL (THD less than or equal to 0.5%) for a load of 1000 Ohms
  • Equivalent noise level: 18 dB A-weighted
  • Maximum load impedance: 1000 Ohms
  • Connector: 3-pin XLR – male
  • Polarity: positive pressure applied to the diaphragm produces a positive voltage on pin 2 relative to pin 3
  • Electric current consumption: 4 mA
  • Diaphragm: 2.5 micron aluminum tape
  • Magnet type: strong Nd
  • Element: active pressure gradient electromagnetic transducer
  • Dynamic range: 120 dB for a 1000 Ohm
  • Environmental conditions: Superlux R102 operates at temperatures between 10° and 50°C or 14°F and 122°F and relative humidity between 0 and 95%.
  • Dimensions: 60 x 196 x 44 mm (L x H x D)
  • Net weight: 500g
  • Gold grille finish
Superlux-R102-purchase
Superlux R102

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

When to use the Superlux R102 microphone?

Despite its fragility, the ribbon microphone can be used for many events. Thus, it can be used for recordings , for broadcasts and for live performances .

It is also equipped with a USB cable. You can plug a Superlux R102 microphone into your computer and start recording at home.

Other types of microphones to know the difference

There are many types of microphones. The major recording companies are equipped with a microphone that they have designed themselves to meet their needs for the sounds they want to produce. There are also microphones built into headsets , phone speakers, and webcams. For smaller recordings, there are also USB microphones that you can use with your computer.

inside the Superlux R102
Picture from Khronscave.blogspot.com

But for your custom studio, it seems a bit difficult to design your own microphone. To remedy this, there are ready-made microphones available for sale at your sound store. There are mainly three types: the dynamic microphone, the condenser microphone and the ribbon microphone like the Superlux R102.

These different types of microphone each have their specificity, but also their common point, especially concerning the basis of the construction. A capsule (also called a deflector ) makes up the microphone. It captures sound and converts it into electrical energy .

Inside the capsule there is a diaphragm , a very thin membrane measured in microns that vibrates when sound waves come into contact with it. And it is this thin membrane that differentiates each of the microphones.

The dynamic microphone

A dynamic microphone is a microphone whose diaphragm inside the capsule is a moving coil ( the Shure SM58 microphone for example). This microphone, like all other microphones, works inversely to the speakers . That is to say, it is the sound wave or acoustic source that exerts pressure on the diaphragm which is wrapped around a magnet.

It is the movement of the moving coil around the magnet which will generate an electric current . This current corresponds to the sound wave produced by your instrument.

Superlux-R102-purchase
Superlux R102

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

This design of the dynamic microphone makes it less precise compared to a condenser microphone. The diaphragm of the dynamic microphone must be more or less thin in thickness so that the coil can move. Thus, the capsule of the condenser microphone is thinner.

But despite this small drawback, a dynamic microphone can be used in several areas. With its robustness, the dynamic microphone requires very little maintenance. It can withstand high acoustic pressures . It is therefore most often used as an external microphone , where there is a lot of handling noise.

The most popular brand of dynamic microphone is undoubtedly sE Electronics ( the SE Electronics DynaCaster for example). In addition to producing dynamic microphones, the brand also produces ribbon microphones like that of the Superlux brand.

Condenser microphone or condenser microphone

Condenser microphones operate in the same way as static electricity, that is to say, with a capacitive effect. The capsule of this microphone has a very thin membrane , made of an easy-to-handle alloy such as gold , mylar or aluminum . This membrane is conductive, mobile and includes a non-removable electrode.

Superlux R102 package
Picture from Audiofanzine.com

Under the action of sound pressure, this thin membrane oscillates , thus transforming the sound wave. The membrane is separated from a polarized plate at different distances. Depending on the variation of this distance, the capacitance of the capsule differs, which will of course have an impact on the voltage and the sound signal.

Also, this electrostatic microphone requires a phantom power supply less than or equal to 48 Volts to function normally. This phantom power mainly allows the polarization of the plate.

Condenser microphones have some characteristics: great sound fidelity , wide bandwidth , unusual precision and it is also a very dynamic microphone.

It is thanks to its characteristics that a condenser microphone can be considered the studio microphone par excellence . On the other hand, this type of microphone is very sensitive to all types of noise.

Among the most popular condenser microphones is the Rode NT USB. This is a USB condenser microphone. In addition to this brand, there are also those from Neumann, AKG, Brauner, Canon microphone and Audio-Technica.

Superlux-R102-purchase
Superlux R102

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Ribbon Microphone

A ribbon microphone , like the Superlux R102 has a dynamic description. That is to say, this microphone picture a dynamic microphone . But instead of having a copper coil, the ribbon microphone has a thin aluminum wire suspended in a magnetic field. It is this aluminum ribbon that moves around the magnet under the pressure of the sound source.

The disadvantage of the ribbon microphone is that it requires very high amplification because of its very low electrical voltage. You may therefore have to buy a preamplifier and an amplifier to use it.

ribbon microphone  Superlux R102
Superlux-R102-purchase
Our Overall Opinion

Overall Sound Quality

4,3 /5
4.3/5

Value for money

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Global mark

4,5 /5
4.5/5

Our opinion on the Superlux R102 microphone

The use of the Superlux R102 ribbon microphone is especially ideal for small recordings in your living room and in a studio. With a full and particularly velvety sound, it produces no extraneous noise or buzzing.

With very precise mids, high sounds are almost imperceptible. Whether for low or high midrange, the R102 ribbon microphone from Superlux offers a very good quality and very fine design that you cannot find in other microphones of the same type.

The Superlux R102 microphone especially responds very well during volume fluctuations. And this, even when it is very sensitive and transmits spatial depth.

It is especially a microphone to be favored for rock or blues music genres. To do this, use it directly with a guitar amplifier and as an auxiliary microphone. On the other hand, to make your Superlux R102 last longer, it is preferable to add wind protection.

When using it, always consider the figure of eight diagram. This characteristic is very clear, so that the sound effects transform as soon as the source is not directed towards the center. In this sense, you must also take into account the opposite side of your sound source. In fact, everything that happens around the microphone is recorded.

With the Superlux R102 microphone, you can make stereo recordings with another microphone, even in live use.

Superlux R102 demo

Special offer at Superlux 🔥

Superlux R102

PRICE COMPARISON 👇

❤️ Discover other Ribbon Microphone Tests:

French

Tous les Microphones aux Meilleurs Prix 🎙

Superlux R102 Test & Avis

Voulez-vous acquérir un microphone à ruban qui est destiné aux studios d’enregistrement ? Pourquoi ne pas opter pour le Superlux R102 ? C’est un microphone à ruban actif en aluminium qui possède une directivité bidirectionnelle avec un diagramme en figure 8. Découvrez sur cet article notre test et avis sur ce microphone.

Superlux R102

🎤 de Kevin Jung

Sommaire du Test 👇

Pour votre studio d’enregistrement, il est important d’avoir les meilleurs matériels. Pour cela, il ne suffit pas d’avoir le meilleur amplificateur ou un bon sufwoofer. Votre matériel de studio se compose aussi de microphone. Il existe plusieurs sortes de micro sur le marché. L’un d’eux est le Superlux R102. Découvrez tous les détails de ce produit dans cet article.

Aperçu du produit Superlux R102

Le Superlux R102 est un microphone à ruban actif en aluminium, destiné aux studios d’enregistrement. C’est un microphone hybride puisqu’il est très sensible comme un microphone à condensateur, mais présente aussi la fréquence douce et la très bonne réponse de transition d’un microphone à ruban. La vitesse de sa réponse en fréquence est aussi très rapide compte tenu des autres microphones à ruban de son genre.

Le microphone dynamique en aluminium R102 est formé de deux parties : un transducteur électromagnétique et un circuit de conversion d’impédance.

Ce transducteur électromagnétique se charge d’appuyer un champ de circuit magnétique unique avec un aimant Nd sur l’appareil. Le ruban de ce micro dynamique est fait d’un alliage d’aluminium très fin de seulement 2,5 microns. Il est suspendu entre deux pôles et vibre lorsque l’onde sonore ou l’énergie acoustique entre en synchronisation.

microphone Superlux R102
Image de Musicradar.com

Avec la matière extrêmement faible en masse du ruban, le transducteur de ce type de micro propose une réponse d’intervalle de très bonne qualité. En effet, il convertit l’énergie acoustique en signal électrique.

Quel que soit le niveau de fréquence : hautes fréquences ou basses fréquences et le niveau de pression acoustique (pression sonore basse ou élevée), le micro dynamique Superlux R102 propose toujours une reproduction claire et précise du son d’origine, et même le bruit de fond.

Il est important de savoir avant d’acheter un microphone Superlux R102 que celui-ci nécessite une alimentation fantôme de 48 Volts pour pouvoir fonctionner.

Zoom sur la qualité sonore Superlux R102

Un des plus grands avantages des microphones à ruban, surtout le Superlux R102 est sa restitution sonore. Le son qu’il produit est très doux, clair et naturel. Si le mal restitution des fréquences à 10 Hz peut être perçu comme un inconvénient, le son qui en ressort est chaleureux, avec un effet vintage.

Contrairement aux autres microphones à ruban qui possèdent une directivité cardioïde, le Superlux R102 possède une directivité bidirectionnelle, avec un diagramme en figure 8. Ce sont des caractéristiques qui procurent une bonne qualité sonore au microphone à ruban. Si vous voulez produire un son très sensible, avec de bonnes variations dynamiques et harmoniques, vous pouvez choisir celui-ci proposé par Superlux.

Superlux-R102-achat
Superlux R102

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Le microphone à ruban Superlux R102 est surtout utilisé pour les enregistrements d’instrument acoustique comme la guitare. Toutefois, vous pouvez aussi l’utiliser pour le chant, l’overhead de batterie et même comme amplificateur de guitare.

Si vous deviez utiliser le Superlux R102 pour un instrument dynamique, il est préférable de protéger la membrane avec une bonnette ou un filtre anti-vent.

La bonnette et le filtre anti-vent servent aussi à protéger le ruban contre une grande pression acoustique. Si vous n’en possédez pas, tâchez de l’éloigner un peu de la source sonore lors de son utilisation.

Le ruban qui compose le microphone Superlux R102 est très fragile. C’est surtout pour cela qu’il est préférable de l’utiliser en studio. Aussi, lorsque vous ne l’utilisez pas, tâchez de le ranger de manière à ce que le ruban, aussi fin soit-il ne se détende pas. Et ne vous inquiétez pas sur cette protection. Votre microphone à ruban Superlux R102 est livré avec un étui protecteur. Vous n’avez plus à vous inquiéter de son état entre deux utilisations.

Mais le microphone Superlux R102 n’a pas que des avantages. L’un de ces principaux inconvénients est surtout son faible niveau de sortie. Cependant, vous pouvez facilement y remédier en ajoutant un préamplificateur comme l’API Audio The Channel Strip ou AMS Neve 4081. Bien sûr, la qualité de votre enregistrement ne dépendra plus seulement du microphone Superlux R102, mais aussi de la qualité du préampli.

N’oubliez pas non plus que le résultat de l’enregistrement dépend de l’amplificateur. Si vous avez un amplificateur de mauvaise qualité, vous devez régler le volume du microphone et celui du préampli pour avoir un enregistrement satisfaisant.

Superlux R102 packaging
Image de Audiofanzine.com

Les caractéristiques techniques Superlux R102

Les caractéristiques techniques du microphone Superlux R102 font de lui l’un des meilleurs microphones à utiliser pour une table de mixage, les studios d’enregistrements et comme micro chant. Voici les caractéristiques techniques du microphone à ruban Superlux R102 :

  • Gamme de fréquences : 20 Hz et 18 kHz
  • Impédance nominale : 250 Ohms
  • Sensibilité pour une tension de circuit ouvert de 1 000 Hz : -40 dBV, soit 10 mV/Pa (sachant qu’un Pascal = 94 dB SPL
  • Diagramme polaire en figure de 8 : captation vers le centre
  • Niveau de pression sonore maximal : 138 dB SPL (THD inférieur ou égal à 0,5 %) pour une charge de 1 000 Ohms
  • Niveau de bruit équivalent : 18 dB en pondéré A
  • Impédance de charge maximale : 1 000 Ohms
  • Connecteur : XLR 3 broches – mâle
  • Polarité : la pression positive effectuée sur le diaphragme produit une tension positive sur la broche 2 par rapport à la broche 3
  • Consommation de courant électrique : 4 mA
  • Diaphragme : ruban d’aluminium de 2,5 microns
  • Type d’aimant : fort Nd
  • Élément : transducteur électromagnétique à gradient de pression actif
  • Plage dynamique : 120 dB pour une charge de 1 000 Ohms
  • Conditions environnementales : le Superlux R102 fonctionne à une température en 10 ° et 50 °C ou 14 °F et 122 °F et pour une humidité relative entre 0 et 95 %.
  • Dimensions : 60 x 196 x 44 mm (L x H x P)
  • Poids net : 500 g
  • Finition en calandre dorée
Superlux-R102-achat
Superlux R102

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Quand utiliser le microphone Superlux R102 ?

Malgré sa fragilité, le microphone à ruban Superlux R102 peut être utilisé pour beaucoup d’événements. Ainsi, il peut s’utiliser pour des enregistrements, pour effectuer des diffusions et pour faire des performances live.

Il est aussi équipé d’un câble USB. Vous pouvez ainsi brancher un microphone Superlux R102 sur votre ordinateur et lancer un enregistrement à la maison.

Les autres types de microphones pour savoir la différence

Il existe de nombreux types de microphones. Les grandes maisons d’enregistrement sont équipées d’un micro qu’elles ont conçu elles-mêmes pour répondre à leurs besoins quant aux sons qu’elles veulent produire. Il y a aussi des microphones intégrés dans les casques, les haut-parleurs de téléphone et les webcams. Pour les petits enregistrements, il y a aussi les microphones USB que vous pouvez utiliser avec votre ordinateur.

à l'intérieur du Superlux R102
Image de Khronscave.blogspot.com

Mais pour votre studio personnalisé, il semble un peu difficile de concevoir son propre microphone. Pour remédier à cela, il existe des microphones tout prêts mis en vente chez votre boutique de sonorisation. Il y en a principalement trois types : le microphone dynamique, le microphone à condensateur et le microphone à ruban comme le Superlux R102.

Ces différents types de microphone ont chacun leur spécificité, mais aussi leur point commun, surtout concernant la base de la construction. Une capsule (aussi appelée déflecteur) compose le microphone. Elle capte le son et le convertit en énergie électrique.

À l’intérieur de la capsule, il existe un diaphragme, une membrane très mince mesurée en micron qui vibre lorsque des ondes sonores entre en contact avec elle. Et c’est cette fine membrane qui différencie chacun des microphones.

Le microphone dynamique

Un microphone dynamique est un microphone dont le diaphragme à l’intérieur de la capsule est une bobine mobile (le micro Shure SM58 par exemple). Ce microphone, comme tous les autres microphones fonctionnent inversement aux haut-parleurs. C’est-à-dire que c’est l’onde sonore ou la source acoustique qui exerce une pression sur le diaphragme qui est enroulé autour d’un aimant.

C’est le mouvement de la bobine mobile autour de l’aimant qui va générer un courant électrique. Ce courant correspond à l’onde sonore produite par votre instrument.

Superlux-R102-achat
Superlux R102

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Cette conception du microphone dynamique le rend moins précis par rapport à un microphone à condensateur. Le diaphragme du microphone dynamique doit avoir une épaisseur plus ou moins mince pour que la bobine puisse se déplacer. Ainsi, la capsule du micro statique est plus fine.

Mais malgré ce petit inconvénient, un microphone dynamique peut s’utiliser dans plusieurs domaines. Avec sa robustesse, le microphone dynamique n’a besoin que de très peu d’entretien. Il peut supporter de grandes pressions acoustiques. Il s’utilise donc le plus souvent comme micro externe, là où il y a beaucoup de bruits de manipulation.

La marque de microphone dynamique le plus populaire est sans nul doute sE Electronics (le SE Electronics DynaCaster par exemple). En plus de produire des microphones dynamiques, la marque produit aussi des microphones à ruban comme celui de la marque Superlux.

Microphone à condensateur ou microphone statique

Les micros statiques ont le même fonctionnement que l’électricité statique, c’est-à-dire à effet capacitif. La capsule de ce microphone comporte une membrane très fine, faite d’un alliage facile à manipuler comme l’or, le mylar ou l’aluminium. Cette membrane est conductrice, mobile et comporte une électrode non amovible.

Superlux R102 package
Image de Audiofanzine.com

Sous l’action de la pression sonore, cette fine membrane oscille, transformant ainsi l’onde sonore. La membrane est séparée d’une plaque polarisée à de différentes distances. Selon la variation de cette distance, la capacité de la capsule diffère, ce qui aura bien sûr un impact sur la tension et le signal sonore.

Aussi, ce micro électrostatique a besoin d’une alimentation phantom inférieure ou égale à 48 Volts pour fonctionner normalement. Cette alimentation fantôme permet surtout la polarisation de la plaque.

Les microphones à condensateur possèdent quelques caractéristiques : une grande fidélité du son, une large bande passante, une précision hors du commune et c’est aussi un microphone très dynamique.

C’est grâce à ses caractéristiques qu’un microphone statique peut être considéré comme le micro studio par excellence. Par contre, ce type de micro est très sensible à tout type de bruit.

Parmi les microphones à condensateur les plus populaires, il y a notamment le Rode NT USB. C’est un microphone USB à condensateur. En plus de cette marque, il y a aussi ceux de Neumann, AKG, Brauner, le micro Canon et Audio-Technica.

Superlux-R102-achat
Superlux R102

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Microphone à ruban

Un microphone à ruban, comme le Superlux R102 a une description dynamique. C’est-à-dire que ce microphone fonctionne à l’image d’un microphone dynamique. Mais au lieu de posséder une bobine en cuivre, le microphone à ruban possède un mince fil d’aluminium suspendu dans un champ magnétique. C’est ce ruban d’aluminium qui se déplace autour de l’aimant sous la pression de la source sonore.

L’inconvénient du microphone à ruban, c’est qu’il demande une très grande amplification à cause de sa tension électrique très faible. Vous pouvez ainsi être amené à acheter un préamplificateur et un amplificateur pour l’utiliser.

microphone à ruban Superlux R102
Superlux-R102-achat
Notre Avis Global

Qualité Sonore Globale

4,3 /5
4.3/5

Rapport Qualité / Prix

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Note Globale

4,5 /5
4.5/5

Notre avis sur le microphone Superlux R102

L’utilisation du microphone à ruban Superlux R102 est surtout idéale lors des petits enregistrements dans votre salon et dans un studio. Avec un son plein et particulièrement velouté, il ne produit ni de bruits parasites ni de bourdonnements.

Avec des médiums très précis, les sons aigus sont presque imperceptibles. Que ce soit pour le bas que pour le haut médium, le microphone à ruban R102 de chez Superlux propose un dessin de très bonne qualité et très fin que vous ne pouvez pas rencontrer chez les autres microphones du même type.

Le microphone Superlux R102 répond surtout très bien lors des fluctuations de volume. Et cela, même lorsqu’il est très sensible et transmet une profondeur spatiale.

C’est surtout un microphone à privilégier pour les genres de musiques rock ou blues. Pour ce faire, utilisez-le directement avec un amplificateur guitare et comme micro d’appoint. Par contre, pour que votre Superlux R102 dure plus longtemps, il est préférable d’ajouter un anti-vent.

Lorsque vous l’utilisez, tenez toujours compte du diagramme en figure de huit. Cette caractéristique est très claire, si bien que les effets sonores se transforment dès que la source n’est pas dirigée vers le centre. Dans ce sens, il faut aussi tenir compte du côté opposé de votre source sonore. En effet, c’est tout ce qui se passe autour du microphone qui est enregistré.

Avec le microphone Superlux R102, vous pouvez faire des enregistrements stéréo avec un autre micro et cela, même en utilisation live.

Démo Superlux R102

Offre spéciale chez Superlux 🔥

Superlux-R102-achat
Superlux R102

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

❤️ Découvrez d'autres Tests de Microphone à Ruban :