All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

AMS Neve 4081

Test & Review

Are you looking for a professional transistor preamp to properly equip your recording studio? You can opt for the AMS Neve 4081. It is a transistor preamplifier which has an external power supply. Discover in this guide our complete test as well as our opinion on this preamp.

AMS Neve 4081

🎤 by Kevin Jung

Summary of the Test 👇

The quality of the signal is decisive for the clarity of a recording , whatever its origin. However, it is very common for the signal generated by a source to be too weak to be well reproduced at the output. This is where adding a preamplifier to the signal path becomes essential.

The audio equipment market is also full of preamplifiers. the quality of the signal obtained is not the same from one model to another. It is always wiser to opt for models from a brand with many years of experience in audio equipment. The AMS Neve 4081 preamp does not intend to disappoint in this regard with its array of ingenious features .

Presentation of the AMS Neve 4081 brand

Neve Electronics is a company born in the United Kingdom in the 1960s. It was built on the basis of research carried out by entrepreneur and audio engineer Rupert Neve . Neve has been recognized from its beginnings as a source of innovation in audio recording . Notably, she invented moving cursor automation in the 1970s.

AMS Neve 4081 purchase
AMS Neve 4081

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Such a degree of innovation cannot go unnoticed by other leading companies in the audio sector. The Siemens Group acquired Neve Electronics in 1985. Neve and the Siemens Group then merged with Advanced Music Systems in 1992. This gave birth to the AMS Neve , which won a Technical Grammy Award in 2000.

Neve's reputation in digital audio was not lost after the merger. The new products are based on the concepts that made Neve devices famous. They do, however, include improvements intended to make them more suitable for modern workflow requirements.

The Neve 4081 is a good example of this approach since it was designed based on the 1081 , an improved version of the Neve 1073 DPX model . The latter brought glory to Neve in 1972 in terms of multi-channel mixing console . However, the 4081 cannot compete with the 1081's 12 compact preamp modules

AMS Neve 4081
Picture from Amazona.de

AMS Neve 4081 Preamplifier Overview

The AMS Neve 4081 amplifier has aluminum handles on the front to protect the control interfaces. The 4081 can thus be used as a standalone class D amplifier . The system will rest on four rubber feet placed on the underside.

The AMS Neve 4081 transistor preamp This is because it has an external power supply with a voltage of 100 to 240 V AC . The latter will plug into an eight-pin DIN socket located outside the case. The nominal frequency is 50 to 60 hertz for a current of 1.9 amperes . The 4081 preamp can thus manage a power of 456 watts .

Every function on the four channels can be controlled directly via the front panel or with the Neve remote control. No adapter is required to connect the AMS Neve 4081 amp to a computer since the connection can be made via USB port. The software required for frequency and audio signal monitoring is also available for PC and Mac.

A USB audio interface is however necessary in case several units need to be connected in series. It is then possible to control up to 16 of these units remotely for a maximum upgrade of 64 channels . Each module in a 4081 multi-amp installation can also be clearly identified using a DIP switch on the rear.

AMS Neve 4081 purchase
AMS Neve 4081

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

digital converter role can optionally be added to the box to digitize the four channel outputs. The output signal can then be in Firewire or AES3 . These in turn are distributed in digital form as a return channel.

It is recommended here to use a 24 AWG with a parallel capacitance of 16 pF and a characteristic impedance of 100 ohms . Another option is to use a twisted pair Category 5 cable like you might find in Ethernet cabling . This type of cable has a maximum capacitance of 17 pF/fT and a characteristic impedance of 100 ohms .

D/A converters can also generate a line-level analog signal which will be made available to a 25-pin D-Sub socket . This type of channel is most often used for monitoring returns or direct monitoring mixing. However, it would have been nice to have an RCA connection at the back to optimize the process.

The D-Sub jack also provides access to balanced insert returns for each channel. The idea is to be able to route an AC input signal to the D/A converters. The rear of the case also includes 8 XLR inputs/outputs for condenser microphones with 4 corresponding mic/line inputs and outputs.

AMS Neve 4081 microphone preamp
Picture from Amazona.de

Features of the AMS Neve 4081 preamplifier

It is reasonable to assume that 4 1081R preamps were installed in the 4081 case. The functions available on the front of the case are very similar. A large rotary knob is placed above the channel to adjust the preamp gain . A push button also allows you to manage the settings of the mixing console when the 4081 is used with a Neve 88 R console .

Six backlit pushbuttons below the digital display LCD window provide the usual switching functions of a preamplifier. For everything useful for ribbon mics , it includes phantom power , a 20 dB pad , and a low impedance mode .

Added to this is mic/line input switching and buttons to reverse polarity and activate an insert circuit. The idea is to pass the input of a D/A converter from the preamplifier output to an external input. This feature is useful for placing an external compressor between a channel's analog output and the corresponding balanced insert return to a converter. The compressor can be activated or deactivated via the front button of the 4081.

AMS Neve 4081 purchase
AMS Neve 4081

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

The start/stop button is located at the top of the control panel, near the 4 preamplifier control zones. The two buttons below allow you to configure the sample rate and clock source for an optional digital card.

8 yellow LEDs indicate the current sample rate with standard modes from 44.1 to 192 kHz . Indicators for 384 kHz and DXD sampling rate are also present. 4 green LEDs below indicate the current clock source in Wordclock, AES3, Internal and Firewire formats.

Build quality of the AMS Neve 4081 preamplifier

The AMS Neve 4081 preamp seems fragile and light in comparison with older Neve models, and especially the 1081 Classic. This impression is reinforced by the design of the gain controls. The 4081 is, however, better built overall than its appearance might suggest.

AMS Neve 4081 microphone preamplifier
Picture from Audiofanzine.com

The AMS Neve 4081 is a priori only a preamp and does not have an equalization section like the standard 1081. However, such a function is useful for manipulating the tone of the signal for treble and bass. The AMS Neve 4081 can still amplify the power of the tuner for a DJ mixer, a vinyl turntable or a UHD home cinema in surround sound. A ground loop hum can indeed be heard when the phono preamp is plugged in.

However, this can be advantageous in terms of cost. Many users prefer to make flat recordings. The signal is then processed with plug-ins like Logic-Pro X , a digital mixing board , or an analog mixing console .

The remote control software is easy to install and configure. It features an intuitive interface that matches the front panel controls of the AMS Neve 4081. Settings can also be saved for added convenience. It is also possible to directly control the 4081 via a MIDI processor using Pro Tools .

The AMS Neve 4081 preamp can also be presented as equipment from another era with its classic and purely analog design. modern audiophile 's workflow .

AMS Neve 4081 purchase
AMS Neve 4081

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

By the way, also check out our complete review guide for the Manley Voxbox channel strip . Discover in this guide our test and opinion on this channel strip, its four different sections (equalizer, de-esser/limiter, microphone preamplifier, and compressor), its sound quality, as well as its technical characteristics.

Focus on the sound quality of the AMS Neve 4081

It is difficult to define activities acoustically once the AMS Neve 4081 is added to a signal path. The difference in sound reproduction is nevertheless very noticeable. Each injected signal gains in density , whatever the style or frequency spectrum.

It seems that the 4081 added its own channel to the electrical signal after discreetly adjusting the stereo input with an equalizer and compressor. However, it was initially designed as a simple preamp and not a home cinema amplifier or headphone amplifier. The signal is so rich and natural at first listen that there is no need to process it with other tools. The noise level is insignificant and does not affect the signal even if the preamplification is full.

AMS Neve 4081 preamp review
Picture from Audiofanzine.com

Preamps were never designed for transparent sound reinforcement and AMS Neve's 4081 is no exception. The sound can only gain character due to the transformers at the input and output of the signal. The 4081 still delivers clean sound for the average user.

The bass tends to be full-bodied, regardless of the subwoofer, but the result remains very natural. The high frequencies are open and extended. Transient ranges appear smoother than on modern, transformerless preamps. However, this does not seem very problematic in the digital age. The subtle crushing effect imposed by the transformers also inspires an analog ambiance worthy of a moving coil with an active filter , just like the Dbx 286s (a Channel Strip preamp).

The technical characteristics of the AMS Neve 4081

The AMS Neve 4081 preamp still has some headroom to process the signal given its 70 dB of available gain. This is true even when low output microphones are used and placed far apart. It is certainly inappropriate to speak of excellence with an EIN figure of -123 dBu at 60 dB of gain. The proportion of noise in the system nevertheless remains quite innocuous.

AMS Neve 4081 purchase
AMS Neve 4081

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

The distortion rate of the 4081 is less than 0.07% for over 20 dBu of output. This is a good result for this device although the figures are better on other Dsp units. The nature of the distortion is also more important than the rate, and that of the 4081 is very subtle.

A preamplifier such as the GML 8304 can certainly deliver a and quieter signal in comparison. However, all it takes is a touch of extra color, like that provided by the AMS Neve 4081 preamp, to bring life to a sound source.

The preamp gain range expands from 20 dB to 70 dB 5 dB increments in microphone mode. It is then reduced by 0 to 20 dB in line mode. Gain settings are displayed respectively in a large two-digit LED window below the regulator. Two LEDs indicate signal present and stereo audio overload. The green light corresponds to signals greater than 30 dBu . Red is associated with signals above 24 dBu with 2 dB below analog clipping.

AMS Neve 4081 in studio
Picture from Cheapbest.com

Another interesting guide : Audient ASP 880 preamplifier . Discover in this guide our test and review, the sound quality, the technical characteristics, as well as some test demos of the Audient ASP 880.

Operation of the AMS Neve 4081 with the optional digital card

The AMS Neve 4081 preamp can be accompanied by a digital card to expand its functions to those of an audio interface. The card offered here is equipped with AES input/output connectors for converting 4 analog microphone into AES format. The sampling rate can, if necessary, be selected using a dedicated control at a maximum of 192 kHz .

AMS Neve 4081 purchase
AMS Neve 4081

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Two AES ports with stereo configuration are also added to the design of the card for signal conversion to D/A . These connectors attach to the 25-pin D Sub interface on the card. The Firewire setting allows in this case to directly connect a computer to the 4081. The idea is to have 4 ADC Mono/Firewire and DAC mono from the computer. The signal can then be examined using an ins/line to a D Sub.

This configuration is particularly highlighted with Pro Tools V9 software or its later versions. The AMS Neve 4081 preamp will be selected as an I/O device in the playback interface using the audio processing root driver. If necessary, the latter must be installed.

It is then possible to route four preamp signals into Pro Tools using the Firewire connection. These signals can then be monitored using the line/ins outputs. This is the best setup for recording on the move with a laptop. Such an approach could also be applied to a VHF or GSM even if this emerges from the remit of the AMS Neve 4081.

AMS Neve 4081 packaging
Picture from Fatllama.com
AMS Neve 4081 purchase
Our Overall Opinion

Overall Sound Quality

4,8 /5
4.8/5

Value for money

4,6 /5
4.6/5

Global mark

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Our opinion on the AMS Neve 4081 amplifier

The AMS Neve 4081 preamp is the perfect example of an amalgam of modernity and tradition in audio equipment design. Those accustomed to the classic interface of a model like the SSB Electronics SP-2000 will find a certain familiarity in its concept. It is nevertheless innovative enough to compete with an Electro-Harmonix or other modern preamps.

It is almost unnecessary to submit the AMS Neve 4081 preamp, as it is capable of satisfying expectations in delivering a clean and rich sound. The quality-price ratio is more than attractive knowing that it offers technology close to a 1081R for half the price of this device.

The possibility of adding a digital card to the preamp is also a point on which other preamps can hardly compete. This is all the more true considering the AMS Neve 4081 preamp can be connected directly to a computer using a Fireware connection. Add to that remote control functions and you have equipment that is close to perfection.

The AMS Neve 4081 preamp, however, can only come close to perfection since it is not exempt from defects. The most notable problem in this respect is the rudimentary side of its design, and especially for the gain control. The latter gives the impression of being very fragile to the touch.

However, the quality of a preamplifier is often not measured by its appearance, but by its components. The 4081 aligns with this philosophy by offering more efficient technology than its design may suggest. AMS Neve has always been a sure value when it comes to audio equipment and the 4081 reinforces the reputation of this brand.

AMS Neve 4081 purchase
AMS Neve 4081

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Demo + Template

Special offer at AMS Neve 🔥

AMS Neve 4081

PRICE COMPARISON 👇

Tous les Microphones aux Meilleurs Prix 🎙

AMS Neve 4081 Test & Avis

Êtes-vous à la recherche d’un préampli à transistor pro pour bien équiper votre studio d’enregistrement ? Vous pouvez opter pour l’AMS Neve 4081. C’est un préamplificateur à transistor qui dispose d’un bloc d’alimentation externe. Découvrez sur ce guide notre test complet ainsi que notre avis sur ce préampli.

AMS Neve 4081

🎤 de Kevin Jung

Sommaire du Test 👇

La qualité du signal est déterminante pour la clarté d’un enregistrement, quelle que soit son origine. Il est cependant très courant que le signal généré par une source soit trop faible pour être bien reproduit à la sortie. C’est là que l’ajout d’un préamplificateur au trajet du signal se révèle essentiel.

Le marché des équipements audio est d’ailleurs rempli de préamplificateurs. La qualité du signal obtenu n’est pas cependant le même d’un modèle à un autre. Il est toujours plus avisé d’opter pour des modèles d’une marque avec de longues années d’expérience en équipements audio. Le préampli AMS Neve 4081 n’entend pas décevoir à ce titre avec sa panoplie de fonctionnalités ingénieuses.

Présentation de la marque AMS Neve 4081

Neve Electronics est une entreprise née au Royaume-Unis dans les années 60. Elle a été bâtie sur la base des recherches menées par l’entrepreneur et ingénieur audio Rupert Neve. Neve est reconnue dès ses débuts comme une source d’innovation dans l’enregistrement audio. Elle a notamment inventé l’automatisation des curseurs mobiles contrôlée par ordinateur dans les années 70.

AMS Neve 4081 achat
AMS Neve 4081

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Un tel degré d’innovation ne peut pas passer inaperçu pour d’autres entreprises leader du secteur de l’audio. Le groupe Siemens a ainsi acquis Neve Electronics en 1985. Neve et le groupe Siemens ont ensuite fusionné avec la société Advanced Music Systems en 1992. Cela a donné naissance à la marque AMS Neve, laquelle a remporté un Technical Grammy Award en 2000.

La réputation de Neve en audio numérique ne s’est pas perdu après la fusion. Les nouveaux produits sont basés sur les concepts qui ont rendu les appareils de Neve célèbres. Ils incluent néanmoins des améliorations destinées à les rendre plus adaptés aux exigences modernes du flux de travail.

Le 4081 de Neve est un bon exemple de cette approche puisqu’il a été conçu sur la base du 1081, une version améliorer du modèle 1073 DPX de Neve. Ce dernier avait fait la gloire de Neve en 1972 en matière de console de mixage multicanal. Le 4081 ne peut pas néanmoins rivaliser avec les 12 modules de préamplis compacts du 1081.

AMS Neve 4081
Image de Amazona.de

Aperçu du préamplificateur AMS Neve 4081

L’amplificateur AMS Neve 4081 est muni de poignées en aluminium sur la façade pour protéger les interfaces de commande. Le 4081 peut ainsi être utilisé comme un amplificateur de classe D autonome. Le système va reposer sur quatre pieds en caoutchouc placé sur la face inférieure.

Le préampli à transistor AMS Neve 4081 est plutôt léger malgré son aspect encombrant avec un poids de 3 kg. Cela tient au fait qu’il dispose d’un bloc d’alimentation externe avec un voltage de 100 à 240 V AC. Ce dernier va se brancher à une prise DIN à huit broches situées à l’extérieur du boîtier. La fréquence nominale est de 50 à 60 hertz pour un courant de 1.9 ampère. Le préampli 4081 peut ainsi gérer une puissance de 456 watts.

Chaque fonction sur les quatre canaux est commandable directement via le panneau avant ou avec la télécommande de Neve. Aucun adaptateur n’est requis pour relier l’ampli AMS Neve 4081 à un ordinateur puisque la connexion peut se faire par port USB. Le logiciel nécessaire au monitoring des fréquences et du signal audio est en outre disponible pour PC et Mac.

Une interface audio USB est cependant nécessaire dans le cas où plusieurs unités doivent être connectées en série. Il est alors possible de commander jusqu’à 16 de ces unités à distance pour une mise à niveau maximale de 64 canaux. Chaque module dans une installation à plusieurs amplis 4081 peut aussi être identifié clairement à l’aide d’un commutateur DIP à quatre voies à l’arrière.

AMS Neve 4081 achat
AMS Neve 4081

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Une carte avec un rôle de convertisseur numérique peut éventuellement être ajoutée au boîtier pour numériser les quatre sorties de canaux. Le signal de sortie peut ensuite être au format Firewire ou AES3. Ces derniers sont à leur tour distribués sous forme numérique comme canal de retour.

Il est recommandé ici d’utiliser un câble tressé et blindé de 24 AWG avec une capacité parallèle de 16 pF et une impédance caractéristique de 100 ohms. Une autre option est d’utiliser un câble de catégorie 5 à paire torsadée comme on peut trouver dans un câblage Ethernet. Ce type de câble a une capacité maximale de 17 pF/fT et une impédance caractéristique de 100 ohms.

Des convertisseurs N/A peuvent aussi générer un signal analogique de niveau ligne qui sera mis à la disposition d’une prise D-Sub à 25 broches. Ce type de canal est le plus souvent utilisé pour des retours de monitoring ou le mixage de monitoring direct. Il aurait néanmoins été appréciable d’avoir une connectique Rca à l’arrière pour optimiser le processus.

La prise D-Sub permet aussi d’accéder à des retours d’insertion symétrique pour chaque canal. L’idée est de pouvoir acheminer un signal d’entrée alternatif vers les convertisseurs N/A. L’arrière du boîtier inclut d’ailleurs 8 entrées/sorties XLR pour les microphones à condensateur avec 4 entrées micro/ligne et sorties correspondantes.

préampli micro AMS Neve 4081
Image de Amazona.de

Fonctionnalités du préamplificateur AMS Neve 4081

Il est légitime de penser que 4 préamplis 1081R ont été installés dans le boîtier du 4081. Les fonctions disponibles à l’avant du boîtier sont d’ailleurs très similaires. Un grand bouton rotatif est placé au-dessus du canal pour régler le gain de préampli. Un bouton-poussoir permet aussi de gérer les réglages de la console de mixage lorsque le 4081 est utilisé avec une console Neve 88 R.

Six boutons-poussoirs à rétroéclairage sous la fenêtre LCD d’affichage numérique fournissent les fonctions de commutation habituelles d’un préamplificateur. Pour tout ce qui peut être utile pour les micros à ruban, il inclut une alimentation fantôme, un pad de 20 dB et un mode de basse impédance.

À cela s’ajoute une commutation de l’entrée micro/ligne et des boutons pour inverser la polarité et activer un circuit d’insertion. L’idée est de faire passer l’entrée d’un convertisseur N/A de la sortie du préamplificateur à une entrée externe. Cette fonction est utile pour placer un compresseur externe entre la sortie analogique d’un canal et le retour d’insertion symétrique correspondant vers un convertisseur. Le compresseur peut être activé ou désactivé via la touche frontale du 4081.

AMS Neve 4081 achat
AMS Neve 4081

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Le bouton de démarrage/arrêt est placé en haut du panneau de commande, près des 4 zones de commande du préamplificateur. Les deux boutons placés en dessous permettent de configurer la fréquence d’échantillonnage et la source d’horloge pour une carte numérique optionnelle.

8 LED jaunes indiquent le taux d’échantillonnage actuel avec les modes standard de 44,1 à 192 kHz. Des indicateurs pour 384 kHz et le taux d’échantillonnage DXD sont aussi présents. 4 LED verts en dessous indiquent la source d’horloge actuelle en formats Wordclock, AES3, Internal et Firewire.

Qualité de construction du préamplificateur AMS Neve 4081

Le préampli AMS Neve 4081 parait fragile et léger en comparaison avec d’anciens modèles de Neve, et surtout le 1081 Classic. Cette impression est confortée par la conception des contrôles de gain. Le 4081 est pourtant mieux construit dans sa globalité que son allure peut le suggérer.

préamplificateur micro AMS Neve 4081
Image de Audiofanzine.com

Le 4081 d’AMS Neve n’est a priori qu’un préampli et n’a pas de section d’égalisation comme le 1081 standard. Une telle fonction est pourtant utile pour manipuler la tonalité du signal pour les aigus et les basses. L’AMS Neve 4081 peut malgré tout amplifier la puissance du tuner pour une table de mixage DJ, une platine vinyle ou un home cinéma uhd en son surround. Un bourdonnement de boucle de masse peut en effet être entendu quand le préampli phono est branché.

Cela peut néanmoins être avantageux en termes de coût. Bon nombre d’utilisateurs préfèrent en effet réaliser des enregistrements à plat. Le signal est ensuite traité avec des plug-ins comme Logic-Pro X, une table de mixage numérique ou une console de mixage analogique.

Le logiciel de commande à distance est facile à installer et à configurer. Il propose une interface intuitive qui s’accorde avec les commandes du panneau avant du 4081 d’AMS Neve. Les réglages peuvent aussi être sauvegardés pour plus de commodité. Il est également possible de contrôler directement le 4081 via un processeur MIDI en utilisant le logiciel Pro Tools.

Le préampli AMS Neve 4081 peut en outre se présenter comme un équipement d’une autre époque avec son design classique et purement analogique. La connectivité numérique à l’arrière montre cependant que ce produit a sa place dans le flux de travail d’un audiophile moderne.

AMS Neve 4081 achat
AMS Neve 4081

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

En passant, consultez aussi notre guide de test complet de la tranche de console Manley Voxbox. Découvrez sur ce guide notre test et avis sur cette tranche de console, ses quatre différentes sections (égaliseur, Dé-esser/Limiteur, préamplificateur de microphone, et compresseur), sa qualité sonore, ainsi que ses caractéristiques techniques.

Zoom sur la qualité sonore de l’AMS Neve 4081

Il est difficile de définir les activités au niveau acoustique une fois que le AMS Neve 4081 est ajouté au trajet d’un signal. La différence dans le rendu sonore est néanmoins très perceptible. Chaque signal injecté gagne en densité, quel que soit le style ou le spectre de fréquences.

C’est à croire que le 4081 a ajouté son propre canal au signal électrique après un réglage discret de l’entrée stéréo avec un égaliseur et un compresseur. Il est pourtant conçu initialement comme un simple préampli et non un ampli home cinema ou un amplificateur casque. Le signal est si riche et naturel à la première écoute qu’il est inutile de le traiter avec d’autres outils. Le niveau de bruit est insignifiant et n’affecte pas le signal même si la préamplification est intégrale.

test du préampli AMS Neve 4081
Image de Audiofanzine.com

Les préamplis n’ont jamais été conçus pour une sonorisation transparente et 4081 d’AMS Neve n’y font pas exception. Le son ne peut que gagner du caractère en raison des transformateurs à l’entrée et à la sortie du signal. Le 4081 délivre malgré tout un son propre pour l’utilisateur moyen.

Les basses tendent à être corsées, indifféremment du caisson, mais le résultat reste très naturel. Les hautes fréquences sont quant à elles ouvertes et étendues. Les gammes transitoires paraissent plus douces que sur des préamplis modernes et sans transformateur. Cela ne semble pas cependant très problématique à l’ère du numérique. Le subtil effet d’écrasement imposé par les transformateurs inspire d’ailleurs une ambiance analogique digne d’une bobine mobile à filtre actif, tout comme le Dbx 286s (un préampli Channel Strip).

Les caractéristiques techniques de l’AMS Neve 4081

Le préampli AMS Neve 4081 a toujours une marge de manœuvre pour traiter le signal eu égard à ses 70 dB de gain disponible. Cela est vrai, même lorsque des microphones à faible sortie sont utilisés et placés de manière éloignée. Il est certes inopportun de parler d’excellence avec un chiffre EIN de -123 dBu à 60 dB de gain. La proportion de bruit dans le système reste néanmoins assez anodine.

AMS Neve 4081 achat
AMS Neve 4081

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Le taux de distorsion du 4081 est inférieur à 0,07 % pour plus 20 dBu de sortie. C’est un bon résultat pour cet appareil bien que les chiffres soient meilleurs sur d’autres unités Dsp. La nature de la distorsion est aussi plus importante que le taux, et celle du 4081 est très subtile.

Un préamplificateur tel que le GML 8304 peut certes délivrer un signal propre et plus silencieux en comparaison. Il suffit néanmoins d’une touche de couleur en plus, comme celle qui est fournie par le préampli AMS Neve 4081, pour apporter de la vie à une source sonore.

La plage de gain du préampli s’élargit de 20 dB à 70 dB par incréments de 5 dB en mode microphone. Elle se réduit ensuite de 0 à 20 dB en mode ligne. Les réglages de gain sont affichés respectivement dans une grande fenêtre LED à deux chiffres sous le régulateur. Deux LED indiquent le signal présent et la surcharge de l’audio stéréo. Le voyant vert correspond aux signaux supérieurs à 30 dBu. Le rouge est associé aux signaux supérieurs à 24 dBu avec 2 dB sous l’écrêtage analogique.

AMS Neve 4081 en studio
Image de Cheapbest.com

Autre guide intéressant : Préamplificateur Audient ASP 880. Découvrez sur ce guide notre test et avis, la qualité sonore, les caractéristiques techniques, ainsi que quelques démos de test du Audient ASP 880.

Fonctionnement du AMS Neve 4081 avec la carte numérique optionnelle

Le préampli AMS Neve 4081 peut s’accompagner d’une carte numérique pour élargir ses fonctions à celles d’une interface audio. La carte proposée ici est munie d’une connectique d’entrée/sortie AES pour la conversion de 4 signaux de micros analogiques en format AES. Le taux d’échantillonnage peut le cas échéant être sélectionné à l’aide d’une commande dédiée à un maximum de 192 kHz.

AMS Neve 4081 achat
AMS Neve 4081

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Deux ports AES à configuration stéréo viennent aussi s’ajouter à la conception de la carte pour la conversion du signal en D/A. Ces connectiques se rattachent à l’interface D Sub à 25 pins de la carte. Le réglage en Firewire permet dans ce cas de relier directement un ordinateur au 4081. L’idée est d’avoir 4 interfaces ADC Mono/Firewire et DAC mono à partir de l’ordinateur. Le signal peut alors être examiné en utilisant une connexion ins/line vers un D Sub.

Cette configuration est particulièrement mise en avant avec le logiciel Pro Tools V9 ou ses versions ultérieures. Le préampli AMS Neve 4081 va être sélectionné comme un appareil I/O dans l’interface de lecture à l’aide du pilote racine de traitement audio. Ce dernier devra le cas échéant être installé.

Il est alors possible d’acheminer quatre signaux de préamplis dans Pro Tools en utilisant la connexion Firewire. Ces signaux peuvent ensuite être surveillés en utilisant les sorties line/ins. C’est la meilleure installation pour des enregistrements en mouvement avec un laptop. Une telle approche pourrait en outre s’appliquer à un ampli VHF ou GSM même si cela ressort des attributions du AMS Neve 4081.

AMS Neve 4081 packaging
Image de Fatllama.com
AMS Neve 4081 achat
Notre Avis Global

Qualité Sonore Globale

4,8 /5
4.8/5

Rapport Qualité / Prix

4,6 /5
4.6/5

Note Globale

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Notre avis sur l’amplificateur AMS Neve 4081

Le préampli AMS Neve 4081 est le parfait exemple d’un amalgame de modernité et de tradition dans la conception des équipements audio. Ceux qui sont habitués à l’interface classique d’un modèle comme le SSB Electronics SP-2000 vont trouver une certaine familiarité dans son concept. Il est néanmoins assez innovant pour rivaliser avec un Électro-Harmonix ou d’autres préamplis modernes.

Il est presque inutile de soumettre le préampli AMS Neve 4081, tant il est capable de satisfaire les attentes dans la délivrance d’un son propre et riche. Le rapport qualité-prix est plus qu’attrayant sachant qu’il propose une technologie proche d’un 1081R pour la moitié du prix de cet appareil.

La possibilité d’ajouter une carte numérique au préampli est aussi un point sur lesquels d’autres préamplis peuvent difficilement rivaliser. C’est d’autant plus vrai en considérant le préampli AMS Neve 4081 peut-être relié directement à un ordinateur à l’aide d’une connexion Fireware. Ajoutez à cela des fonctions de commande à distance et vous avez un équipement proche de la perfection.

Le préampli AMS Neve 4081 ne peut cependant que se rapproche de la perfection puisqu’il n’est pas exempté de défaut. Le problème le plus notable à ce titre est le côté rudimentaire de son design, et surtout pour la commande de gain. Ce dernier donne l’impression d’être très fragile au toucher.

La qualité d’un préamplificateur ne se lit pas cependant dans bien des cas à son apparence, mais à ces composants. Le 4081 s’aligne avec cette philosophie en proposant une technologie plus performante que son design peut laisser paraître. AMS Neve a toujours été une valeur sûre en matière d’équipements audio et le 4081 renforce la réputation de cette marque.

AMS Neve 4081 achat
AMS Neve 4081

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Démo + Modèle

Offre spéciale chez AMS Neve 🔥

AMS Neve 4081

COMPARATIF PRIX 👇

❤️ Découvrez d'autres Tests de Préampli Micro :