All Microphones at the Best Prices 🎙

Rode NTG3

Test & Review

Do you want to acquire a shotgun microphone that you want to use in the world of cinema? A microphone that offers impeccable audio quality, which suppresses background noise or handling noise? Why not opt ​​for the Rode NTG3 microphone? It is a condenser shotgun microphone which displays a supercadioid directivity. Discover in this guide our complete test on this shotgun microphone.

Rode NTG3 test and review

🎤 by Kevin Jung

Summary of the Test 👇

Do you want to get a microphone for your podcasts or YouTube videos ? Why not try the Rode NTG3 condenser microphone Far from being the best-known model from the Rode brand, the NTG3 nevertheless offers excellent sound quality both in the home studio and outdoors. To see more clearly, discover the complete test of this microphone.

Focus on the Rode microphone brand

Before diving into the NTG3 review, let's first focus on this brand. The NTG3 is arguably not Rode's most popular . All microphone enthusiasts have surely heard of the Rode NT USB , a USB microphone with formidable sound quality .

Please note that long before the release of this legendary microphone, Rode has already proven itself in terms of microphone quality . To be more precise, it was in 1960 that this Australian brand began to make itself known in the world of audio recording with the studio microphone .

Rode NTG3 package
Picture from Audiofanzine.com

Since then, many other microphones adorned with the Rode logo have equipped professional recording studios . These include the Rode NT5 , the Rode NTG8, the Rode NT-SF1, the Rode K2, the Rode NTR… The list goes on. But in this article, we will focus on the Rode NTG3.

Rode NTG3 Microphone Overview

Just like the Rode NTG1 microphone or the Sennheiser MKH 416, the Rode NTG3 is a microphone also called a shotgun microphone or shotgun microphone . This type of microphone is so named because of their elongated body forming a cylinder, exactly like the barrel of a hunting rifle.

All microphones of this type belong to the condenser microphone family. They work on the same principle as ribbon microphones . Only, a moving coil acts as a metal ribbon.

Like a lavalier microphone, the NTG3 offers the advantage of being easy to install . You can attach it to the end of a pole or to the upper grille of a box depending on your needs. Furthermore, if you are not yet familiar with this type of microphone, know that it is not at all bulky.

Rode-NTG3-purchase
RODE NTG3

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Entirely made of metal, the body of this condenser microphone is rather robust. In terms of weight, it corresponds perfectly to the usual standards of shotgun microphones. It actually weighs 163 g .

As for accessories, the NTG3 comes in a small zippered storage bag that is very practical when traveling. Added to this is a weather-resistant aluminum cylinder. Enough to allow you to record more peacefully outside without fearing the weather conditions.

And that's not all ! The Rode NTG3 also comes with a foam windscreen which serves as protection when used outdoors . Not to mention, a microphone clip as well as a sturdy stand adapter to stabilize the microphone when recording in the studio.

Since this is a condenser microphone, a stable power source is required to operate it. In particular, you will need 48 V phantom power supplied by a mixer.

Rode NTG3 equipment
Picture from Pitbullaudio.com

The Rode NTG3 and its supercardioid directivity

All shotgun microphones on the market are unidirectional . To be more precise, their directivity is either supercadioid or hypercadioid. The Rode NTG3 is no exception to this rule. Indeed, it displays a supercadioid directivity .

As a reminder, a cardioid microphone is designed to pick up the sound source in front of it (exactly like the AKG Lyra microphone ). As for microphones with supercadioid polar pattern, these are a variation of cardioid microphones . However, they have a narrower lobe. This allows them to focus the capture on one element. The rest of the environment is completely isolated.

Rode-NTG3-purchase
RODE NTG3

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

A good shotgun microphone designed for multiple applications

The Rode NTG3 is suitable for a wide variety of uses. First of all, note that it can be suitable for both studio and outdoor . YouTube videos shot in a room or outside, voice-overs, short films, documentaries, interviews… The list goes on and on.

Due to its supercadioid directivity, the NTG3 is mainly used in the world of cinema and television. Its atypical polar pattern allows it to effectively control ambient noise. Moreover, this is why it is very practical if you want to record only the voice of an actor during a shoot.

Besides recording vocals, you can also rely on this mic to capture the sound of acoustic instruments . We can cite, among others, the acoustic guitar, the piano, the violin, or the harp.

Rode NTG3 shotgun microphone
Picture from Cinemasound.com

standard Telefunken m80 microphone review guide . It is a dynamic microphone which has a supercardioid polar pattern. Discover through the link our complete test, as well as our opinion on this microphone.

Rode NTG3: a microphone with RF-bias polarization

The Rode NTG3 benefits from RF-bias polarization . A device that allows it to be used outdoors without fear of bad weather. Note that condenser microphones come in two categories: classic condenser electret condenser microphones .

The advantage of electret microphones is that they do not consume energy. They can work with both phantom power and an AA battery . This is particularly the case with the Rode NTG2. The only downside: they do not withstand unfavorable environmental conditions. Among other things, they tend to crack in humid environments.

With the NTG3 from Rode, you will not face this kind of problem. Indeed, this microphone is one of the classic condenser microphones just like the MKH 416 from Sennheiser , its main competitor. To polarize, this type of microphone requires an external electrical current supplied by a 48 V . Their main advantage lies in their resistance to humidity .

Rode-NTG3-purchase
RODE NTG3

AT THE LOWEST PRICE 👇

Furthermore, RF technology gives this microphone good stability under extreme temperatures. Also, it is less prone to interference with the audio signal, which is not the case with DC biased microphones.

unfavorable environmental conditions . In particular, you can shoot a documentary in very humid locations while still enjoying good audio quality .

Zoom on the sound quality of the Rode NTG3

The Rode NTG produces natural , soft and precise , whatever the sound source in front of it. It has very nice warmth compared to other shotgun microphones. Additionally, it reproduces high frequencies with clarity.

Already, without the windscreen, this microphone provides impressive performance. Using this device you will benefit from optimal recording quality . You will indeed see that the plosives will be greatly attenuated.

Thanks to its supercadioid directivity, this wireless microphone offers excellent off-axis rejection. This microphone also has radio frequency interference which allow it to eliminate parasitic noise caused by RF sources. These include WiFi networks, radio antennas and even power lines.

Rode NTG3 microphone
Picture from Audiofanzine.com

The Rode NTG3 has the same frequency response as the Sennheiser MKH 416, in this case between 40 Hz and 20,000 Hz . The same goes for the output impedance which is 25 Ohms .

Note that this microphone is sensitive to proximity effect . This means that if you move too close to the mic, the low frequencies will boost.

You will notice that this microphone delivers almost no background noise . In addition, you will certainly not face problems related to handling noise. In short, you will have impeccable audio quality using this microphone.

The technical characteristics of the Rode NTG3

  • Type: Shotgun Condenser Microphone
  • Acoustic principle: pressure gradient transducer
  • Polar pattern: supercardioid
  • Frequency response: 40 Hz – 20 kHz
  • Sensitivity: – 30 Db re 21 Volts/Pascal (31.6 mV @ 94 dB SPL) +/- 2 dB @ 1 kHz
  • Power supply type: 48 V
  • Output impedance: 25 Ohms
  • Maximum SPL: 130 dB (@ 1kHz, 1% THD at 1kOhm load)
  • Signal-to-noise ratio: 81 dB
  • Weight: 163g
  • Diameter: 19mm
  • Length: 255mm
Rode NTG3 test
Picture from Musiclife.ua
Rode-NTG3-purchase
Our Overall Opinion

Overall Sound Quality

4,9 /5
4.9/5

Value for money

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Global mark

4,8 /5
4.8/5

Our opinion on the Rode NTG3 microphone

Fan or not a fan of shotgun microphones, you will certainly be of the same opinion as me: the sound quality of the Rode NTG3 stands out from the rest. The rendering of this microphone has nothing to do with that of ordinary shotgun microphones.

I particularly like this condenser microphone because of the results it provides. Indeed, its ability to eliminate parasitic noise is impressive. What's more, it does a remarkable job of rejecting background noise. Additionally, you can use the foam windshield to reduce plosives. So, there is no longer any need to invest in a pop filter.

Suffice it to say that this shotgun microphone will certainly delight the most demanding producers in terms of sound quality.

And what about its versatility? Whether indoors or outdoors, you will not be disappointed with the performance of this microphone. It is a shotgun microphone that can be used outdoors without problem thanks in particular to its RF polarization. The aluminum cylinder provides additional protection against harsh weather conditions.

Here is a summary of the main advantages of the Rode NTG3 shotgun microphone:

  • Versatility
  • Exceptional sound quality (natural and precise sound, low background noise)
  • Moisture resistance
  • Good design quality
  • Windscreen included

And to all these strong points of the NTG3 is added a very attractive quality-price ratio. It would be ideal for audio engineers who want to acquire a good condenser microphone without breaking the bank.

Rode NTG3 Demo

Special Offer at Rode 🔥

RODE NTG3

PRICE COMPARISON 👇

❤️ Discover other Condenser Microphone Tests:

Tous les Microphones aux Meilleurs Prix 🎙

Rode NTG3 Test & Avis

Voulez-vous acquérir un microphone canon que vous voulez utiliser dans le monde du cinéma ? Un microphone qui offre une qualité audio irréprochable, qui supprime les bruits de fond ou les bruits de manipulations ? Pourquoi ne pas opter pour le microphone Rode NTG3 ? C’est un micro canon à condensateur qui affiche une directivité supercadioïde. Découvrez sur ce guide notre test complet sur ce micro canon.

Test et avis du Rode NTG3

🎤 de Kevin Jung

Sommaire du Test 👇

Vous souhaitez vous procurer d’un micro pour vos podcasts ou vos vidéos YouTube ? Pourquoi ne pas essayer le microphone à condensateur Rode NTG3 ? Loin d’être le modèle le plus connu de la marque Rode, le NTG3 offre pourtant une excellente qualité sonore en home studio comme à l’extérieur. Pour y voir plus clair, découvrez le test complet de ce microphone.

Focus sur la marque de microphone Rode

Avant de plonger dans le test du NTG3, focalisons-nous tout d’abord sur cette marque. Le NTG3 n’est sans doute pas le modèle le plus populaire de Rode. Tous les amateurs de microphones ont sûrement entendu parler du Rode NT USB, un microphone USB doté d’une qualité sonore redoutable.

Sachez que bien avant la sortie de ce microphone légendaire, Rode a déjà fait ses preuves en matière de qualité de microphones. Pour être plus précis, c’était en 1960 que cette marque australienne a commencé à se faire connaître dans le monde de l’enregistrement audio avec le microphone studio Rode NT2.

Rode NTG3 package
Image de Audiofanzine.com

Depuis, bien d’autres microphones ornés du logo Rode ont équipé les studios d’enregistrement professionnels. Citons entre autres le Rode NT5, le Rode NTG8, le Rode NT-SF1, le Rode K2, le Rode NTR… La liste est longue. Mais dans cet article, on va s’intéresser au Rode NTG3.

Aperçu du microphone Rode NTG3

Tout comme le micro Rode NTG1 ou encre le Sennheiser MKH 416, le Rode NTG3 est un micro canon appelé aussi micro de fusil de chasse ou micro shotgun. Ce type de micro est nommé ainsi en raison de leur corps allongé formant un cylindre soit exactement comme le canon d’un fusil de chasse.

Tous les micros de ce genre appartiennent à la famille des microphones à condensateur. Ils fonctionnent selon le même principe que les microphones à ruban. Seulement, une bobine mobile fait office de ruban métallique.

À l’instar d’un micro-cravate, le NTG3 offre l’avantage d’être facile à installer. Vous pouvez notamment le fixer au bout d’une perche ou sur la grille supérieure d’un boitier selon vos besoins. Par ailleurs, si vous n’êtes pas encore familier avec ce genre de micro, sachez qu’il n’est pas du tout encombrant.

Rode-NTG3-achat
RODE NTG3

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Entièrement en métal, le corps de ce microphone à condensateur se montre plutôt robuste. Niveau poids, il correspond parfaitement aux standards habituels des microphones à canon. Il pèse en effet 163 g.

Côté accessoires, le NTG3 est livré dans un petit sac de rangement à fermeture éclair très pratique lors des déplacements. À cela s’ajoute un cylindre en aluminium résistant aux intempéries. De quoi vous permettre d’enregistrer plus sereinement à l’extérieur sans craindre les conditions météorologiques.

Et ce n’est pas tout ! Le Rode NTG3 est également accompagné d’une bonnette anti-vent en mousse qui lui sert de protection lors d’une utilisation en extérieur. Sans oublier, un clip de microphone ainsi qu’un adaptateur de pied solide pour stabiliser le micro lors d’une prise de son en studio.

Étant donné qu’il s’agit d’un microphone à condensateur, une source d’alimentation stable est requise pour le faire fonctionner. Vous aurez besoin notamment d’une alimentation fantôme de 48 V fournie par une table de mixage.

équipement Rode NTG3
Image de Pitbullaudio.com

Le Rode NTG3 et sa directivité supercardioïde

Tous les microphones à canon sur le marché sont unidirectionnels. Pour être plus précis, leur directivité est soit supercadioïde, soit hypercadioide. Le Rode NTG3 ne fait pas exception à cette règle. En effet, il affiche une directivité supercadioïde.

Pour rappel, un micro à directivité cardioïde est conçu pour capter la source sonore située en face de lui (exactement comme le cas du microphone AKG Lyra). Quant aux micros à directivité supercadioïde, ceux-ci sont une variante des micros cardioïdes. Cependant, ils sont munis d’un lobe plus étroit. Ce qui leur permet de focaliser la captation sur un élément. Le reste de l’environnement étant isolé complètement.

Rode-NTG3-achat
RODE NTG3

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Un bon micro canon conçu pour de multiples applications

Le Rode NTG3 s’adapte à des usages très variés. Tout d’abord, notez qu’il peut convenir à la fois à l’utilisation en studio et à l’extérieur. Vidéos YouTube tournées dans une pièce ou à l’extérieur, voix off, court-métrage, documentaire, interview… La liste est encore longue.

En raison de sa directivité supercadioïde, le NTG3 s’utilise principalement dans le monde du cinéma et de la télévision. Son motif polaire atypique lui permet de contrôler efficacement les bruits ambiants. D’ailleurs, c’est pour cela qu’il est très pratique si vous souhaitez enregistrer uniquement la voix d’un acteur lors d’un tournage.

Outre l’enregistrement de la voix, vous pouvez également compter sur ce micro pour capturer le son des instruments acoustiques. On peut en citer entre autres, la guitare acoustique, le piano, le violon, ou encre la harpe.

micro canon Rode NTG3
Image de Cinemasound.com

En passant, vous pouvez aussi consulter notre guide de test du microphone Telefunken m80 standard. C’est un microphone dynamique qui dote d’une directivité supercardioïde. Découvrez à travers le lien notre test complet, ainsi que notre avis sur ce microphone.

Rode NTG3 : un microphone doté d’une polarisation RF-bias

Le Rode NTG3 bénéficie d’une polarisation RF-bias. Un dispositif qui lui permet d’être utilisé en extérieur sans craindre les intempéries. À noter que les microphones à condensateur se déclinent en deux catégories : les microphones à condensateur classiques et les microphones à condensateur à électret.

L’avantage des micros à électrets, c’est qu’ils ne sont pas gourmands en énergie. Ils peuvent fonctionner aussi bien avec une alimentation fantôme qu’avec une pile AA. C’est le cas notamment du Rode NTG2. Seul bémol : ils ne résistent pas à des conditions environnementales défavorables. Entre autres, ils ont tendance à avoir des craquements dans les environnements humides.

Avec le NTG3 de Rode, vous ne serez pas confronté à ce genre de problème. En effet, ce micro fait partie des microphones à condensateur classiques tout comme le MKH 416 de Sennheiser, son principal concurrent. Pour se polariser, ce type de micro requiert un courant électrique externe fourni par une alimentation fantôme de 48 V. Leur principal avantage réside dans leur résistance à l’humidité.

Rode-NTG3-achat
RODE NTG3

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

Par ailleurs, la technologie RF confère à ce micro une bonne stabilité sous des températures extrêmes. Aussi, il est moins sujet aux interférences avec le signal audio, ce qui n’est pas le cas des microphones à polarisation CC.

Vous l’aurez compris : grâce à cette polarisation RF, vous pouvez continuer à travailler en toute sécurité même dans des conditions environnementales défavorables. Vous pouvez notamment tourner un documentaire dans des endroits très humides tout en profitant d’une belle qualité audio.

Zoom sur la qualité sonore du Rode NTG3

Le Rode NTG produit un son naturel, doux et précis, et ce, quelle que soit la source sonore en face de lui. Il a une très belle chaleur par rapport à d’autres microphones à canon. En outre, il restitue les hautes fréquences avec clarté.

Déjà, sans la bonnette anti-vent, ce micro fournit des prestations impressionnantes. L’utilisation de ce dispositif vous fera profiter d’une qualité d’enregistrement optimale. Vous verrez en effet que les plosives seront fortement atténuées.

Grâce à sa directivité supercadioïde, ce microphone sans fil offre un excellent rejet hors axe. Ce micro est également doté de propriétés d’interférences radiofréquences qui lui permettent d’éliminer les bruits parasites occasionnés par les sources RF. On peut en citer notamment les réseaux Wifi, les antennes radio ou encore les lignes électriques.

micro Rode NTG3
Image de Audiofanzine.com

Le Rode NTG3 a la même réponse en fréquence que le Sennheiser MKH 416, en l’occurrence entre 40 Hz et 20 000 Hz. Il en est de même pour l’impédance de sortie qui est de 25 Ohms.

Notez que ce micro est sensible à l’effet de proximité. Cela signifie que si vous vous rapprochez trop près du micro, les basses fréquences vont s’accentuer.

Vous remarquerez que ce micro ne délivre quasiment aucun bruit de fond. En outre, vous ne serez certainement pas confronté aux problèmes liés aux bruits de manipulations. Bref, vous aurez une qualité audio irréprochable en utilisant ce microphone.

Les caractéristiques techniques du Rode NTG3

  • Type : microphone à condensateur canon
  • Principe acoustique : transducteur à gradient de pression
  • Motif polaire : supercardioïde
  • Réponse en fréquence : 40 Hz – 20 kHz
  • Sensibilité : – 30 Db re 21 Volts/Pascal (31,6 mV @ 94 dB SPL) +/- 2 dB @ 1 kHz
  • Type d’alimentation : alimentation phantom 48 V
  • Impédance de sortie : 25 Ohms
  • SPL maximum : 130 dB (@ 1kHz, 1 % THD à charge 1kOhm)
  • Rapport signal/bruit : 81 dB
  • Poids : 163 g
  • Diamètre : 19 mm
  • Longueur : 255 mm
test Rode NTG3
Image de Musiclife.ua
Rode-NTG3-achat
Notre Avis Global

Qualité Sonore Globale

4,9 /5
4.9/5

Rapport Qualité / Prix

4,7 /5
4.7/5

Note Globale

4,8 /5
4.8/5

Notre avis sur le microphone Rode NTG3

Fan ou pas fan des micros canon, vous serez certainement du même avis que moi : la qualité sonore du Rode NTG3 sort du lot. Le rendu de ce micro n’a rien à voir avec celui des microphones shotgun lambdas.

Ce micro à condensateur me plaît particulièrement de par le résultat qu’il procure. En effet, sa faculté à éliminer les bruits parasites est impressionnante. Qui plus est, il fournit un travail remarquable en matière de rejet de bruit de fond. Par ailleurs, vous pouvez utiliser la bonnette en mousse pour réduire les plosives. Ainsi, il n’est plus nécessaire d’investir dans un filtre anti-pop.

Autant vous dire que ce micro canon fera certainement le bonheur des producteurs les plus exigeants en termes de qualité sonore.

Et que dire de sa polyvalence ? Que ce soit à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur, vous ne serez pas déçu du rendu de ce microphone. C’est un micro canon qui peut être utilisé sans problème à l’extérieur grâce notamment à sa polarisation RF. Le cylindre en aluminium offre une protection supplémentaire contre les rudes conditions climatiques.

Voici un récapitulatif des principaux avantages du microphone canon Rode NTG3 :

  • Polyvalence
  • Qualité sonore exceptionnelle (son naturel et précis, faible bruit de fond)
  • Résistance à l’humidité
  • Bonne qualité de conception
  • Bonnette anti-vent incluse

Et à tous ces points forts du NTG3 s’ajoute un rapport qualité-prix très intéressant. Il conviendrait parfaitement aux ingénieurs du son qui souhaitent acquérir un bon microphone à condensateur sans se ruiner.

Démo Rode NTG3

Offre Spéciale chez Rode 🔥

Rode-NTG3-achat
RODE NTG3

AU PRIX LE PLUS BAS 👇

❤️ Découvrez d'autres Tests de Microphone à Condensateur :